Best Answer

Sacrifice bunts and sacrifice flies are not officially counted as "at bats".

User Avatar

Wiki User

2016-05-10 07:16:47
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a batter hit a fly ball that was caught out but scored a RBI does it count as an at bat?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Does a caught fly ball count as a hit in baseball?

no because the batter failed to get on base

What should the batter when a fly ball is caught?

When a fly ball is caught, the batter doesn't do anything but go back to the dugout.

Can a batter that reaches base due to error get an RBI?

yes . man on 3rd scores when outfielder drops easy fly ball. runner would have scored even if the ball was caught.

Does a caught fly ball count as a hit in softball?


What is it when a pitched ball bounces and the batter swings and hits it in fair territory and it is caught on a fly by a defensive player . Does it count as a fly ball or a ball that already bounced?

The bounce took place before the ball was hit so the ball is a fly ball.

Does a foul ball count as a ball if the batter already has 2 strikes?

A foul ball never counts as a ball. In Major League Baseball, a foul ball only counts as the third strike if it's a foul tip that was caught by the catcher.

When a batted ball hits a runner for the third out how is the batter scored?

the batter is awarded a base hit.

What is the ruling if a fielder throws his mitt up into the air and the ball falls into the mitt and he catches the mitt with the ball in it?

It is scored as a triple Really, no he caught the ball so obviously he got him out First answer is correct, batter is awarded three bases.

What happens when a batter hits a ball misses first base and two runs score on the hit and there are two out prior to the hit?

Then the 2 runs that scored wouldn't count!

If a foul hit is caught then the batter is out?

Yes. If a foul ball is caught by a defensive player before it hits the ground the batter is out.

Does the batter get an RBI for runs scored due to a fielding error on a ball the batter put in to play?

No. Runs scored directly from a fielding error do not have RBIs.

What is a sacrifice fly in baseball?

A type of batted ball where a run is scored on the play while the batter is put out by a caught ball by the defense. The batter is credited with a Sacrifice Fly (SF) and a Run Batted In (RBI) but does not receive an At Bat (AB). Also referred to as a "Sac Fly."

People also asked