Best Answer

It is scored as a triple

Really, no he caught the ball so obviously he got him out

First answer is correct, batter is awarded three bases.

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the ruling if a fielder throws his mitt up into the air and the ball falls into the mitt and he catches the mitt with the ball in it?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

If a fielder catches a fly ball and falls over the center field fence can the runners advance?

If he catches the ball, the fielder's position doesn't matter.

When a fielder catches a ball and falls into the stands is it a foul ball or an out?

If a fielder catches a ball and falls into the stands, it is a dead ball and all runners advance one base. Rule 704(c) The fielder made a legal catch. At that point the batter was out. The fielder then took the ball out of play. At that point the runners were allowed to advance one base.

What if a fielder catches a ball but loses his glove and the ball stays in the glove?

If the glove or mitt falls off in the process of catching the ball, it is not a legal catch. The fielder must have control of the ball in the glove and then remove it himself.

If a baseball player catches a ball and then falls out of play is it an out?

It depends on how he leaves the playing field. If the fielder catches the ball in flight, and falls out of the playing field between homeplate and the yellow line on the wall (foul territory), the batter-runner is out as long as the player maintains full, controlled posession of the baseball. However, if a player catches a ball and falls out of play over the yellow line signifying a homerun, the play should be ruled a homerun, but specific ground rules may be in effect to rule the batter out.

What happens to base runners when a defensive player catches a ball in foul territory and his momentum carries him to out of bounds?

If the fielder falls into the stands or the dugout after catching the foul, the ball is dead and runners are awarded base from the base they occupied at the time of the pitch.

Is it a home run if ball is caught and the fielder falls into stands?

If he drops it yes

Is it a home run if a fielder touches the ball over the fence but it falls in the field of play?


If a fielder catches a fly ball and falls over the center field fence is it an out or a home run?

If the player holds on to the ball and it is determined that it did not touch the ground, it is an out. If the player drops the ball while falling over the fence, it is a home run. Added: To get more technical, I think as long as the fielder has his feet inside the area of the field of play, it would be an out. If the entire body (including feet) are over the fence when the catch is made, then it would be a home run. The above answer is wrong. If a fielder leaps and catches the ball before he touches dead ball territory the catch is good and the batter is out. It doesn't matter where he is in relation to the fence. He could be ten feet into dead ball territory and as long as he hasn't touched the ground, the catch is valid.

When a player steals and the fielder tags runner and his glove falls off and ball stays in glove is he safe or out?

The runner would be safe. This is the same as if the ball were dislodged and falls out of the glove.

Is brighouse in huddersfield?

Yes it is but its not near the centre its on the outskirts