answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

no, the runner that was passed is declared out

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-04-14 22:23:26
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When a base runner passes another is play dead?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What happens to the batter runner and other base runners if a batted ball hits a runner before passing an infielder?

If a runner is touched by a batted ball while off base before the ball passes an infielder (other than the pitcher), it's dead ball, runner is out. If the runner is on base when touched by a batted ball, it's live ball and play continues.


What happens if a runner touches or interferes with a active ball?

If the runner is standing on a base, nothing happens; the ball is live. If the runner is not standing on a base, the ball is declared dead and the runner is out.


If a base runner is hit by the ball is it a dead ball?

No. Runner is part of the field, therefor the ball is in play and the runner is out.


How do you score the batter if a base runner is hit by the ball?

The batter is credited with a single. The runner is out and play is dead.


How is a base runner hit by batted ball scored?

The play is ruled dead. And the runner that was hit automatically is called out.


Can other runners advance when another runner is hit with a batted ball?

One answer:No - the runners may not advance beyond where they were - or more specifically, where they were about to go - at the time. A batted ball that hits a runner is a "dead ball."Another answer:If, however, the batted ball first touched a defensive player or umpire prior to being touched by the runner, the runner is not out and the ball is live. If the umpire calls interference on the runner, the ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base, and all runners return to the base they last occupied at the beginning of the play (not to the base they were about to go to at the time).


What if a fielder takes out a runner who is on the base path - not involved with a play?

You would have obstruction on the player that interfered with the runner, the play however is not dead. The fielder could be ejected for unnecessary excessive contact. The runner will be awarded the base he was going to but anything after that base is runner discretion meaning if the runner advances to any other base it is at their own risk.


What happens to a runner when theres batter interference?

The ball is dead and all runner go back there base the batter is called out ...


If a Batter is hit by pitch with runner on second base as runner steals third is this legal?

Nope, when the batter is hit it is a dead ball.


In a squeeze play if a team pitches out and the batter steps across the plate in an attempt to make contact with the ball the batter is out. Dead ball is called. The runner is tagged. is he out?

The runner would not be called out ... The ball is dead after the play the base runner would just walk back it 3rd base ...


Is the batter out if the ball bounces off another player and it is caught before hitting the ground?

Depends. If the ball bounces of a defensive player, and is caught, the batter is out. If it hits a runner, the ball is dead and the runner is out but the hitter is awarded first base.


If a batted ball hits a base runner is the play dead?

If a batted ball hits a base runner in fair territory before the ball has been touched by a defensive player or an umpire, the ball is dead, the runner is called out for interference, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners advance one base if forced. If, however, the ball has been touched by a defensive player or an umpire before hitting the base runner, the ball is live and play proceeds as usual (unless the runner is judged by the umpire to have deliberately made contact with the ball, then the runner can be called out for interference, the ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners advance one base if forced, or, if flagrant, the batter can also be called out and no runners advance).

People also asked