answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The play is dead, the runner that was hit is out, and the batter reaches first base and is credited with a single.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-05-21 00:53:27
This answer is:
๐Ÿฆƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a batter hits a pitch and the ball hits a runner how is it scored?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

If the ball hits a runner is it a hit or a fielders choice?

If a ball hits the runner, the runner is out and the play is scored a hit for the batter.


When a batted ball hits a runner for the third out how is the batter scored?

the batter is awarded a base hit.


When a batter is hit by a pitch and the ball goes past the catcher can a runner on second advance to home?

When a batter is hit by a pitch, the ball is dead.


Is a passed ball from a catcher considered an error?

If the play is scored as a passed ball it is an error. It should only be scored a passed ball/wild pitch if a runner advances, or on the third strike the batter reaches first base safely. The scoring is sometimes a judgment call. Some statisticians are more strict on calling it a passed ball or wild pitch.


When can a player be hit by a pitch and an out be recorded but a run is scored?

If the batter is struck by the pitch in the strike zone, the ball remains live so if it was the third strike it would be an out. The runner could score from third base.


If a ground ball to the infield scores a runner when they throw to first to get the batter is it a sac for the batter?

No, it is scored as a ground out and the batter is credited with an RBI.


If a Batter is hit by pitch with runner on second base as runner steals third is this legal?

Nope, when the batter is hit it is a dead ball.


Does the batter get credited with an RBI when a runner on third scores on a wild pitch or passed ball?

no


What is the penalty for an illegal pitch in little league fast pitch softball?

If no one is on base then a ball is awarded to the batter. If a runner or runners are on base then they will be moved up one base and a ball is awarded to the batter.


Can the runner advance on a bounced pitch that hits the batter?

As long as the pitcher is the last person to touch the ball before the batter is hit, the ball becomes dead and is counted as a hit by pitch. The runners can only advance if they are forced over by the hit batter.


What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before it hits the batter in softball?

If it hit the batter the batter gets first and it's scored as a hit by pitch.


If the ball hits home plate then hits batter are you out?

No, on a throw the runner can't just be hit by the ball and be out. Even if it hits the plate. The catcher would have to tag the runner with the ball, or with his glove while the ball is in his glove. The only time a runner can be out like that is when they are running the bases and hit by a ball hit by the batter(The runner must be in fair territory). Wrong. If you are a right handed batter, it is possible to hit the plate then hit you. You are out. If you are out of the box. If you are in the box, the ball will called dead. Scored as a foul.


Runner on first batter hits between first and second runner is hit by ball running to second how is the batter scored?

The batter is awarded a single. MLB Rule 10.05(5) states that a batter is credited with a base hit when: "A fair ball that has not been touched by a fielder touches a runner or an umpire, unless a runner is called out for having been touched by an Infield Fly, in which case the official scorer shall not score a hit".


Does the batter get a sacrifice if the runner on first tags and goes to second?

Yes as long as the runner advances Assuming you mean the runner tags up on a fly ball and advances to second, it is not scored as a sacrifice, but, simply as a fly out and the batter is charged with a time at bat. If the batter bunt a ground ball, the runner would not be required to "tag up" to advance and the batter would be credited with a sacrifice. If the batter is attempting a sacrifice bunt and pops up and the runner, tags up and somehow advances to second the batter is not credited with a sacrifice.


What happens to the batter when the ball hits the runner?

If the runner is in fair territory then the runner is out. But if the ball hits the runner in foul territory, then it would just be a foul ball. If the ball hits the runner in fair territory, the runner is out but if the batter is safe to 1st then they would be safe.


If a batter is hit by a pitch and he did not try to avoid getting hit what is the call?

it is scored a ball and the at bat continues


What happens to the batter?

The "batter" becomes a "runner" if he is walked, hit by a pitch or puts the ball in play. He becomes dejected if he strikes out, fouls out or is ejected from the game.


Does a dropped third strike scoring a runner from third give the batter an RBI?

The batter would not be given an RBI, it would be scored a run on a passed ball. If it was a passed ball it would be an unearned run, if it was a wild pitch then it would be an earned run. However, neither pitchers or catchers are given errors on wild pitches or passed balls


When Pitch hits you after you swing and miss?

Batter is charged with a strike, ball is dead (like a time out). No runner can advance.


With a runner on third batter swings and misses on the third strike and the ball hits the batter the runner on third crosses homeplate when the ball bounces away from the catcher Does the run score?

Batter is out, the ball is dead when it hits the batter. Runner at third returns to third.


What is the ruling on a ball hit to a fielder and a runner runs into the fielder?

If a runner runs into a fielder making a play on a batted ball, it is interference, and the runner is out; the ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners return to their last legally occupied base at the time of the pitch, unless forced by the batter. If in the umpire's judgment the interference is flagrant, the batter may also be called out.


Can a batter that reaches base due to error get an RBI?

yes . man on 3rd scores when outfielder drops easy fly ball. runner would have scored even if the ball was caught.


In softball if a Batter is hit by a pitch as the runner on second is trying to steal third base is the runner allowed third or must they go back to second base?

they must go back,dead ball after hitting batter


Bases loaded two outs the batter hits the ball into the outfield all three runners touch homeplate but the batter runner is tagged out trying to get to 3rd base do the runs count?

All runners who touched home plate before the batter/runner was tagged out are considered to have scored runs.


A batter is touched by a fair ball and is declared out with a runner on first can the runner on first advance to second or must he stay at first?

If a runner is touched by a fair batted ball, in fair territory, before passing a fielder, it's interference, the ball is dead, the runner is Out, and all other runners must return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch, unless forced to advance due to the batter being awarded 1B on the play.