answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If the runner is standing on a base, nothing happens; the ball is live. If the runner is not standing on a base, the ball is declared dead and the runner is out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2009-07-23 05:40:24
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What happens if a runner touches or interferes with a active ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What happens when a base runner to second base interferes with a double play?

he is out


What happens if a base runner intentionally interferes with a thrown ball?

Runner is out. Other runners must return to the base they occupied at the instant of the interference. If the runner was trying to break up a double play, the other runner is also out.


A runner not touching the base and a fielder touches him with a glove and ball is?

The runner is out as long as the fielder you touches has the ball in his glove


If the runner is tagged out then the fielder drops the ball and the runner touches the base is he out?

No


Is the batter out if the base runner touches the ball?

no, but the base runner is out if he is struck by a BATTED ball (but he isn't out if he touches a ball thrown by a fielder)


Runner from 2nd base runs into the shortstop fielding the ball is the runner out?

the fielder has the right to field the ball... the runner is OUT if he interferes in ANY way.


If a runner hits and touches base with another runner on base is out?

yes yes


In softball how can a runner be out?

The batter is out, if they hit a ball in the air and a defensive player catches the ball before it touches the ground, in fair or foul territory. If a defensive player has the ball in control and touches a base before the runner, the runner is out. If a defensive player has the ball in control and touches the runner with the ball in their hand or glove, the runner is out.


Can a second baseman go in the base line of second when runner is coming from first?

if he interferes with the runner that would be called obstruction


Is runner out or safe if base coach touches runner when ball in play?

Runner is out. No. The rule reads the runner is out if physically assisted by the coach. Simply touching the runner is nothing.


Is it a dead ball if the ball is thrown to first base and hits the base coach?

MLB Rule 5.08 is pretty clear: If a thrown ball accidentally touches a base coach, or a pitched or thrown ball touches an umpire, the ball is alive and in play. However, if the coach interferes with a thrown ball, the runner is out.


Is a runner down if the football touches the ground?

No, unless his knee also touches the ground at the same time.

People also asked