answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No. Runner is part of the field, therefor the ball is in play and the runner is out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-17 00:14:39
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a base runner is hit by the ball is it a dead ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

How is a base runner hit by batted ball scored?

The play is ruled dead. And the runner that was hit automatically is called out.


How do you score the batter if a base runner is hit by the ball?

The batter is credited with a single. The runner is out and play is dead.


Is the ball alive or dead when hitting a runner in fair territory?

It depends. Is the ball being thrown or is it hit. If it's hit off the bat and hits a base runner it's a dead ball and the runner is out if the ball has not passed a fielder. If the ball has already passed a fielder then the ball is live and the runner is not out. It is as if it never happened. If it hits the runner when it is thrown it is perceived as if it never hit the runner.


If a Batter is hit by pitch with runner on second base as runner steals third is this legal?

Nope, when the batter is hit it is a dead ball.


If the base runner gets hit with the grounded ball do the remaining base runners remain where they are?

The base runner is out that got hit with the ball as long as he is in fair territory. At this point the ball is considered dead and the runners would go to the base they should be at. Example: Runners at 1st and 2nd. Guy on 2nd running toward 3rd after ball is hit, he is hit. He is out. Runner at 1st is awarded 2nd, batter is awarded 1st and the ball is dead.


Is a base runner out when hit by a thrown ball?

No, but he would be out if he were hit with a batted ball.


Base runner hit by batted ball?

The runner is out if he is in fair territory.


If a batter hits a pitch and the ball hits a runner how is it scored?

The play is dead, the runner that was hit is out, and the batter reaches first base and is credited with a single.


Does a runner have to leave first base on a ball hit in play?

No. The runner can stay on first base (if the ball is hit in the air and might be caught, for example). However, if the batter passes the runner at first, that runner is called out.


What happens in softball when a fly ball is hit and the base runner is not on a base?

Baserunner is out. Can't leave base til ball is hit.


Is the ball still alive when an advancing runner is hit with a batted ball?

No it is a dead ball


What is the official score when a base runner is hit by a batted ball?

If a base runner is hit by a batted ball before the ball contacts, or passed an infielder they are out... once the ball passes, or is contacted by an opposing player there is no penalty for being hit.

People also asked