MLB rules state the ball must beat the runner to the base on a force play. If the ball and the runner reach the base at the same time the runner would be considered safe. However, there are no ties in Baseball. The runner either gets there before the ball or after...Ties are only a myth.....
If a baserunner is in foul ground and is hit by a batted ball, the ball is declared foul and all runners return to their previously occupied base, regardless of whether or not the runner that was hit was standing on the base.
If a runner is touched by a batted ball while off base before the ball passes an infielder (other than the pitcher), it's dead ball, runner is out. If the runner is on base when touched by a batted ball, it's live ball and play continues.
No
If a base runner is hit by a batted ball before the ball contacts, or passed an infielder they are out... once the ball passes, or is contacted by an opposing player there is no penalty for being hit.
No, when a ball is hit on the ground, the runners must try and advance to the next base.
One answer:No - the runners may not advance beyond where they were - or more specifically, where they were about to go - at the time. A batted ball that hits a runner is a "dead ball."Another answer:If, however, the batted ball first touched a defensive player or umpire prior to being touched by the runner, the runner is not out and the ball is live. If the umpire calls interference on the runner, the ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base, and all runners return to the base they last occupied at the beginning of the play (not to the base they were about to go to at the time).
If the ball is in foul territory and hits a base runner in foul territory then it is a foul ball, so no he would not be out
No. If a fielder has a legitimate opportunity to make an attempt at the ball, but the ball passes the fielder and then touches the runner, he is not out. The rules state a runner is out when a batted ball touches him before it passes a fielder.
No, it is simply a ground ball and is in play.
Its a live ball
It depends. If a runner is in foul territory, and is hit with a batted ball, before the batted ball reaches 1B or 3B, then it's foul. But if a batted ball hits a runner in fair territory, before passing an infielder other than the pitcher, time is called, the ball is dead, and the runner is declared out for interference. The batter is awarded 1B, but all other runners must return to the base they previously occupied.
A fly ball that is caught is an out. For a ground ball, the fielder must field the ball and then make a throw to a base or tag a runner who is off his base to try and get the out.