answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Should a batted ball hit any base, the ball is considered fair and live and the play continues. It is still up to the defense to field the ball and touch first base before the batter does to record an out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-06-30 23:00:32
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What happens if a batter hits a ball that hits first base before the batter gets there?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If the third strike is not caught in the air by the catcher what happens?

if that happens then the batter tries to make it to first base before the catcher throwes it to the first baseman and if he beat es the ball he is safe


When a pitch hits the ground before it hits a batter does the batter get first base?

No, in that case it is a ball.


What happens when the pitcher catches a ball from the batter?

the batter is out


What happens when a batter gets hit by a ball when at bat?

The batter goes to first base. It's called a walk.


If a batter hits a foul ball that is caught by the first base coach in front of first base just before the first baseman can catch the ball is the batter out on interference?

yes


Is a batter out if the first-baseman controls the ball on the ground before the batter reaches first?

no.Unless the first baseman is touching first base.


What if your hit in the hands while at bat?

If the ball hits the batter's hand before it hits their bat, it is a hit by pitch and the batter takes first base. If the ball hits the bat first it is a foul ball.


What happens if a pitched ball bounces and the batter hits it?

It is considered a legally batted ball subject to being a fair or foul ball. Also, if a pitched ball bounces in the dirt and strikes the batter, the ball is dead and the batter receives first base as he was legally hit by a pitched ball.


Is the runner out if he leaves the base before batter hits the ball?

Absolutely not -- a runner can (and invariable does) leave the base even before the pitcher throws the ball to the batter! That's called leading off. A batter can attempt to run to the next base without the batter hitting it -- ie, stealing a base. PERHAPS what you're asking about is what happens if the runner leaves the base before the ball is hit AND the batter hits the ball AND the ball is caught by a fielder before it hits the ground AND the ball is then thrown to the base where the runner was AND the ball is held there before the runner returns to that base. If ALL of those things happen, then the runner is out.


After hitting a fly ball the batter assuming it will be caught for an out jogs toward and almost to the dugout the outfielder drops the ball and the batter runs to first Is he safe?

if the ball doesnt get to the first baseman before the batter does than yes, the batter would be safe and then benched(hence jimmy rollins)


How is it scored when the batter strikes out but the catcher drops the ball and the batter advances to first?

In the event of a batter striking out but the Catcher dropping the ball and the batter advancing to first base, it will be ruled as a strike out however it will also be ruled as a passed ball for allowing the batter to reach base. Generally speaking, in most cases the catcher will throw the ball to first base before the batter gets there. In that situation, the put out is given to the first baseman & the catcher receives an assist.


What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before it hits the batter in softball?

If it hit the batter the batter gets first and it's scored as a hit by pitch.

People also asked