answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

if the ball doesnt get to the first baseman before the batter does than yes, the batter would be safe and then benched(hence jimmy rollins)

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-07-28 20:35:48
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides

Heart Rate

20 cards

What were the cities and years of the Olympic Games which had terrorist disturbances

What is the correct definition for recovery heart rate

When is the ideal time to take a resting heart rate

What is another name for non-traditional sports

โžก๏ธ
See all cards

Sports

21 cards

What is another name for non-traditional sports

How can you show good sportsmanship in a difficult situation

What is an example of conflict management

Which of the following is a benefit of participating in team sports

โžก๏ธ
See all cards

Sports

20 cards

What is the correct definition of ecology

Which of the following bodies of water may be cold

What is the opposite of warm up

Which of the following sports is almost always illegal

โžก๏ธ
See all cards

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: After hitting a fly ball the batter assuming it will be caught for an out jogs toward and almost to the dugout the outfielder drops the ball and the batter runs to first Is he safe?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Does a batter get credit for a triple if the outfielder falls down?

He does as long as he ends up at thirdbase after hitting the ball and no defensive player is charged with an error that allowed the hitter to advance one or more of the 3 bases.


Bases are loaded 2 outsand batter hits fly ball to outfield outfielder catches ball in his hat is the batter out?

Yes


How many players can be on a softball field?

9, not including the batter. BATTER CATCHER PITCHER 1ST BASE 2ND BASE 3RD BASE SHORTSTOP OUTFIELDER: LEFT OUTFIELDER: CENTER OUTFIELDER: RIGHT


How do you use glove and Homer in a sentence?

After robbing the batter of his homer, the outfielder tossed his glove into the air.


What position did Babe Ruth play on the Boston Braves?

He was a batter/ first base/ shot put/ outfielder.


What are two ways that the batter can be out in baseball?

three strikes and fielder or outfielder catches ball without dropping it.


When a batter is hitting foul after foul after foul. Is the batter doing this on purpose to work the pitcher?

A Baseball player hitting foul after foul is done more so to stay alive (not strike out) then to work the pitcher ... You have to keep in mind that the batter him self is using up energy to hit the ball foul ... The batter would rather get a hit then repetitively hitting the ball foul ...


Ball hit under outfielders legs a hit?

If a batter gets a base hit to the outfield that would normally be a single but the ball goes through the legs of an outfielder and the batter winds up on third base, the play would be scored as a single and an error on the outfielder. Depends on the determination of the "official scorer". If the ball goes under the outfielder's legs and, in the official scorer's opinion, it could have been fielded with ordinary effort, and the batter or runners advance an additional base or bases, it would be an error allowing the runners, and/or hitter to advance. If, however, the ball goes under the outfielder's legs and, in the scorers opinion, could not have been fielded by ordinary effort, an error is not necessarily scored on the play.


What part of speech is the word Catch?

"Catch" can be either a noun or a verb. Example as a noun: "That suitcase has a broken catch." Example as a verb, "If an outfielder catches a fly ball in baseball, the batter is out."


Runner on third and less than two outs. The batter hits a foul fly ball that is caught. The runner tags up and scores. Does the batter get an RBI?

By rule, there are four criteria for a sacrifice fly. 1) The ball is hit to the outfield, 2) The batter is out because an outfielder made the catch or an infielder made the catch in the outfield, 3) There are less than two outs, 4) A runner already on base scores after the catch. The official scorer has the option of giving a batter a sacrifice fly in instances when all four rules are not met. For example, if the outfielder drops what appeared to be an easy fly ball, the scorer could charge the outfielder with an error and award the batter a sacrifice fly. The answer to this question is yes, the batter would be awarded an RBI.


If a batter steps on home plate after hitting a ball is he out?

In Major League Baseball, there is no rule prohibiting a batter from stepping on home plate after he hits the ball. Often, a right handed batter will step on home plate on his way to 1st base after hitting the ball, especially when he bunts.


If a batter steps on home plate after hitting a fair ball is he out?

No.


How many rbi does a batter get for hitting 1 grandslam?

4


If you have bases loaded and 2 outs and the batter hits the ball to the outfield and the man on 3 scores but the outfielder forces a runner out does the run count?

no


What is the time a batter has to react to hitting a baseball?

when it comes out the pitchers hand


What does hitting in the hole mean in baseball?

it means the next batter after the on deck man(on deck man is the next batter after the man who is batting)


In MLB does the batter have to run around the bases after hitting a home run?

yes


Name some characteristics of a baseball?

There are many characteristics in baseball. The main characteristics are pitching the ball to the batter and then the batter running after hitting the ball.


If the a line drive strikes the pitchers rubber and the catcher catches it is he out?

No he is not out. Hitting the rubber is like hitting the ground. He would have to throw out the batter, runner at first base.


What makes an out in baseball?

1. If you catch the ball hit by the batter, the batter is out 2. You miss a ball 3 times while hitting


Does a dropped Ball by the Outfielder with the Bases Loaded count as an RBI?

No, because a dropped ball would constitute an error, and the batter is not credited with an RBI on an error. However, the official scorer has the option of ruling that the runner on third WOULD have scored on a sacrifice fly, even if the error had not occurred. In that case, an RBI would be awarded. Note, however, that this would require fewer than two outs. If there are two outs and an outfielder commits an error, then the batter is not given an RBI -- the runs are not due to the skill of the batter but due to the mistake of the fielder.


What if a batter doesn't run out a batted ball to first base because he thought the outfielder was going to catch it and the ump calls it a trap?

If the batter leaves the field of play he is considered out, otherwise, the fielder can throw to first, or relay it to first base for the force out.


What is the official scoring for the batter if he is hit in fair territory by his own batted ball?

That batter would be called out. If the ball goes directly from his bat to hitting the batter when they are not in the batters box, the batter is out. If a defensive player deflects the ball before it touches the batter then play continues as normal.


How can a batter advance without hitting the ball?

droped third strick a walk or hit by pitch


Is a batter out after hitting a foul ball then steps on home plate using high school rules?

No