No, in that case it is a ball.
no
If it hits the ground then hits the batter then yes. If it just hits the ground then no.
In regular baseball rules, the ball is still live, even if it hits the ground first, until it hits the batter, then it becomes a "dead ball". If it never hits the batter, its still a live ball.
A pitched ball can hit the ground before crossing home-plate. In most cases the batter would not swing and the pitch would be called a ball. But, if the batter decides the swing, the ball is still in play after hitting the ground and the batter may not hit the ball and receive a strike, or he may foul the ball, or hit a base-hit.
In softball, if the batter is hit by a pitched ball after it has hit the ground, they are not awarded first base. The ball is considered a dead ball once it hits the ground, and the batter must avoid being hit by the ball. They are only awarded first base if the pitch is a strike and hits them directly without bouncing.
Well No, but remember if he swings its a strike The pitch is legal but it cannot be called a strike unless the batter swings and misses or hits the ball foul. The batter may swing at a ball that hits the ground before home plate and if he hits it fair play goes on. In other words, if a batter were to hit a home run on a pitched ball that hit the ground before home plate, it would be ruled a home run.
The batter and each runner is awarded 2 bases from where they were at the time of the pitch.
If a batter is hit by a pitch, that batter automatically advances to first base.
Yes. Taken from the official MLB rules (available in various locations on the internet): "If the pitch touches the ground and ... the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight."
Yes, a bounced pitch can result in a hit by pitch if the ball strikes the batter after bouncing off the ground. According to MLB rules, if a pitch bounces and then hits the batter, it is considered a hit by pitch, provided the batter does not make an attempt to avoid it. However, if the batter actively tries to avoid the ball or if the pitch is deemed out of the strike zone, the ruling may vary.
The answer is listed under 2.00 - "Definitions of Terms" official baseball rules. It states that: If a pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball". If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight. Yes. MLB Rule 6.08(b) makes no distinction as to whether the ball does or does not hit the ground prior to hitting the batter. MLB Rule 6.08(b) is below: " He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball; If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempt to avoid being touched. APPROVED RULING: When the batter is touched by a pitched ball which does not entitle him to first base, the ball is dead and no runner may advance. "
I don't think so. Rule 6.05 (f) states the batter is out if he attempts to hit a 3rd strike then the ball touches him.According to MLB Rule 6.08(b), the batter is entitled to first base when:"He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless(1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or(2) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball;If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempt to avoid being touched.When the batter is touched by a pitched ball which does not entitle him to first base, the ball is dead and no runner may advance."If the batter attempts to hit the pitch and the ball strikes him, according to rule he is NOT entitled to first base and the ball is ruled dead.