answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

In regular Baseball rules, the ball is still live, even if it hits the ground first, until it hits the batter, then it becomes a "dead ball". If it never hits the batter, its still a live ball.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-06-02 01:49:20
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: In kids' pitch is it a dead ball if it hits the ground before it hits the batter?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

When a pitch hits the ground before it hits a batter does the batter get first base?

No, in that case it is a ball.


Can the batter hit a pitched ball that hits the ground before crossing home plate?

Yes, but if he doesn't swing at the pitch, it would be a Ball.


Pitched ball hits ground then batter?

If the ball hits the ground in play then it hits the batter it is call a hit by pitch and the batter will take first base ... You can also hit the ball as it bounces off the ground ...


Can a pitched ball hit the ground before it crosses home plate?

A pitched ball can hit the ground before crossing home-plate. In most cases the batter would not swing and the pitch would be called a ball. But, if the batter decides the swing, the ball is still in play after hitting the ground and the batter may not hit the ball and receive a strike, or he may foul the ball, or hit a base-hit.


What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before it hits the batter - slide1?

When a pitch is made, at any time the pitch hits the batter, it is considered a base on balls (walk) unlessthe ball is in the strike zone (and hasn't touched the ground)the batter makes no attempt to move out of the wayIf the batter makes no attempt to move out of the way the pitch is just ruled a ball. But if it is ball 4, then the batter is awarded the walk.


Does the batter get to advance to first base if the ball hits the ground and then the batter?

Yes, as long as the batter makes an attempt to get out of the way of the pitch they are awarded first base on a pitched ball that touches the ground and then the batter.


Is it a dead ball if the ball hits the ground before the batter hits it?

No, the ball is not dead and the batter may attempt to hit it.


What is the ruling when a pitch ball hits the ground first then is hit by the batter?

Foul


Is there a legal pitch where the ball bounces off the ground before it goes over the home plate?

Well No, but remember if he swings its a strike The pitch is legal but it cannot be called a strike unless the batter swings and misses or hits the ball foul. The batter may swing at a ball that hits the ground before home plate and if he hits it fair play goes on. In other words, if a batter were to hit a home run on a pitched ball that hit the ground before home plate, it would be ruled a home run.


Softball rules can batter hit ball after it hits the ground?

no absolutely not it is an automatic strike If the ball is pitched and hits the ground before it gets to the batter and the batter then hits the ball it is a legal hit.


If the ball hits the ground and then the batter is it still a dead ball?

According to http://www.baseballresource.com/ask_ump/: "The ball is still live after it hits the ground and the uniform is considered part of the body. If a batter is hit in the pant leg after the ball hits the ground award the batter first due to being hit by pitch."


Is a batter awarded first base if the ball hits the ground first in womens fast pitch softball?

If it hits the ground then hits the batter then yes. If it just hits the ground then no.

People also asked