answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

no.Unless the first baseman is touching first base.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2007-06-24 05:10:23
This answer is:
๐Ÿฆƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is a batter out if the first-baseman controls the ball on the ground before the batter reaches first?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Runners are on 3rd and 1st. The ball is hit to the 2nd baseman. The shortstop covers the bag and the batter reaches 1st before the throw reaches 1st base. The runner at 3rd scores. Is it an at bat?

Yes. The batter would be credited with an at bat and an RBI.


Rules of rounders?

1- Teams can be a minimum of 6 players and a maximum of 15 players. 9 players are on the field for each team at any one time. 2- One team bats while the other team fields and bowls. 3-The bowler bowls the ball to the batter who hits the ball anywhere on the Rounders pitch. The batter then runs to as many posts as possible before the fielders return the ball to touch the post the batter is heading for. 4-If the batter reaches the 2nd or 3rd post in one hit, the batting team scores ½ Rounder. If the batter reaches 4th post in one hit, the batting team scores a Rounder. 5-A batter can be out if the fielding team catch the ball hit by the batter before it touches the ground or by touching the post the batter is heading to with the ball before the batter reaches it.


Can a runner from third base score if the batter is tagged out for the third out?

If the batter is tagged out before he reaches first base it is still considered a force out and the runner cannot score, however if the batter crosses first base safely and then is tagged out, the run counts if the third base runner crosses home plate before the batter is tagged out.


If a ball is hit over third base and the third baseman reaches across the line and catches the ball is the batter out?

If the ball never touches the ground before the 3rd baseman catches the ball the batter is out.


When does a batter need to be tagged after dropping strike 3?

Anytime a third strike is dropped the runner can advance to first unless he is tagged or the ball is thrown to first before he reaches.


If the pitcher throws ball four and the catcher throws to 2nd before the runner reaches is he out?

No, it is simply ball four and the runner is safe and the batter is awarded first base on a base on balls.


Before lava reaches the surface the molten material is called?

Before lava reaches the surface it is called magma.


In baseball after the third out why is a ball thrown to the first baseman as he returns to the dugout?

That's the ball used by the firstbaseman to warm up the infielders the next time the team takes the field. It is an old tradition and has been used for years, ever since players stopped leaving their gloves on the field between innings in the 1950s. It saves the firstbaseman from searching for a warm up ball before going out to the field, as he already has a ball in his mit.


What is lava called before it reaches the earths surface?

its magma before it reaches earths surface. lava is when its at earths surface


What is the same between cricket and baseball?

There are several similarities; they are both bat and ball games, both games have innings. Most of the differences stem from, in cricket, the ball bounces before it reaches the batter.


Do he know when he precums?

Typically, a male does not know if there is any seepage before and if he reaches full ejaculation.Typically, a male does not know if there is any seepage before and if he reaches full ejaculation.Typically, a male does not know if there is any seepage before and if he reaches full ejaculation.Typically, a male does not know if there is any seepage before and if he reaches full ejaculation.Typically, a male does not know if there is any seepage before and if he reaches full ejaculation.Typically, a male does not know if there is any seepage before and if he reaches full ejaculation.


What would the name of a developing tornado be before it reaches the ground?

Before it reaches the ground a developing tornado is known as a funnel cloud.


What would the name of a developing tornado be before it reaches to the ground?

Before it reaches the ground a developing tornado is known as a funnel cloud.


What is the most steals a team can get in an inning without scoring a run?

Ten - First batter reaches steals two bases tagged out at plate. Second batter does the same. Third batter steals two bases and fourth batter steals one. Ten is the answer but alternatively, first batter gets on and steals two bases (2). Next batter reaches first and steals second (3). Third batter reaches first and now with three runners on each base a triple steal could be executed with the 3rd base runner being tagged out (5). Repeat last sentence, (7). Then the fifth batter gets walked, and a triple steal is attempted. The runner from third gets caught in a rundown. The runner from second steals third (8). The runner from first steals second and third (10). Then one of the three runners now between third and home gets tagged out before the lead runner can score.


What is the name when magma reaches the surface?

Magma is liquid rock before it reaches the surface magma which reaches the surface is called lava.


On a dropped third strike with 2 outs runner on 3rd is stealing home and crosses home plate before the batter is put out does the run count?

That depends on how the batter is put out. If the batter is put out by throwing to the first baseman who touches first base before the batter does, the run will not count because the play is considered a force out. No run can score when the batter or another runner is put out by a force for the third out of an inning. However, if the batter is tagged out and the runner from third scores before the batter is tagged out, the run does count because the runner was not forced but instead tagged. Only if the batter runner is tagged out after he reaches first base (in attempt to get to 2nd base for example) does the run count. If the first baseman was pulled off the bag on the throw and was able to tag the batter runner before he reached first base, the run would not count. It is still considered a force play (NFHS Rule 2-24-1). The above answer is incorrect. MLB rule 4.09(a) states: One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning. EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases. Note the exception. No run scores when the third out is made by the batter-runner before he reaches first. Doesn't matter if it's a force or a tag on the batter-runner.


Is it possible to strike out but still get to first base?

In Major League Baseball, yes. There is a rule called the 'Uncaught Third Strike' rule. This rule states that if the catcher does not cleanly catch the pitched ball that results in a third strike, the batter may run to first base as if the ball were hit. If the batter reaches first base before the ball, the batter is awarded the base.


Can you get four outs in an inning?

No, that is not possible. That thought comes from the fact that, in certain situations, a batter can strikeout but get on base if the catcher does not catch the ball on strike three and cannot get the ball to the first baseman before the batter reaches first base. This is called the 'Dropped Third Strike Rule' and there is a link to its description on this page. There have been many occasions, I don't know the exact number, where a pitcher has struckout four batters in an inning. This can only occur when the catcher does not catch strike three on a strikeout and the batter reaches first base safely.


Some precipitation never reaches the earth because?

it evapourates again before it reaches the ground


How could Tim Wakefield strike out 4 batters in one inning?

runner swings and misses a wild pitch or passed ball and reaches first before tagged or forced out....counts as a K though batter is at first


Runner on 1st balk is called on pitcher before the batter hits the ball?

In Major League Baseball a Balk is a delayed dead ball. That means that if the pitcher pitches the ball after the Balk is called, the umpire waits to see what happens before calling time and enforcing the Balk. If the batter hits the ball, and reaches base safely, and all runners advance at least one base, the Balk is ignored.


How does a player hit a home run in baseball?

The most common way a home run is hit is when a batter hits a ball over the fence in fair territory. The other way a home run can be hit is called an inside-the-park home run, which is when a batter hits a fair ball that does not leave playable territory and the batter reaches home plate before the defensive team puts him out and there are no errors on the play.


How far does cocoa have to be transported before it reaches the UK?

how far does cocoa beans have to travel till it reaches the UK


Why should you cream your cake batter before baking?

You should cream your cake batter before mixing because it makes the batter creamier and tastier for most people anyway!


What is lava called before it reaches the surface?

Magma