answersLogoWhite

0

yes, but runner must not advance to next base until ball is caught by defensive player.

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago

What else can I help you with?

Related Questions

Old mlb rules hitting runner with ball?

If a runner is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder, the runner is out. The ball is dead and no runner may score. And no runner can advance, except runners forced to advance. [Rule 7.08(f)]


What happens when a baseball hits a base runner and goes into the dugout?

According to MLB rule 7.08(f) "A runner is out when ... He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance." Since the ball is dead the instant it touches the runner, where it goes afterwards is irrelevant.


What happens to a runner when theres batter interference?

If the runner is in fair territory then the runner is out. But if the ball hits the runner in foul territory, then it would just be a foul ball. If the ball hits the runner in fair territory, the runner is out but if the batter is safe to 1st then they would be safe.


Is runner out if fielder does not field the ball and the runner is then hit by the ball?

If a runner in fair territory is struck by a batted ball prior to the ball having been fielded, the runner is out.


Is a base runner out if he touches a ground ball that is in foul territory before the other team?

If the ball is in foul territory and hits a base runner in foul territory then it is a foul ball, so no he would not be out


A batter is touched by a fair ball and is declared out with a runner on first can the runner on first advance to second or must he stay at first?

If a runner is touched by a fair batted ball, in fair territory, before passing a fielder, it's interference, the ball is dead, the runner is Out, and all other runners must return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch, unless forced to advance due to the batter being awarded 1B on the play.


Does runner have to tag after the catch or upon first contact of the ball?

U have to wait until the ball is caught to "tag up". That is incorrect. Runners trying to advance on a fly ball may "tag up" and advance when the fielder first touches the ball. If that were no so, fielders could intentionally juggle the ball and attempt to pick the runner off who ran too early.


If a batted ball hits a runner on third base but the ball hits the runner on the foot which is in foul territory is he still out?

No


What are the baseball tag out rules for a runner trying to advance to a base?

In baseball, a runner can be tagged out while trying to advance to a base if the fielder with the ball touches the runner with the ball or glove before the runner reaches the base. The runner must also be tagged out if they are not on a base when a fielder touches the base with the ball in their possession.


Can he advance after he is hit by a thrown ball if it goes out of bounds?

NO... anyball landing foul is a foul ball and is a dead ball ...Clarification:the way i read this question is "if a thrown ball hits a runner and goes out of play can the runner advance?" -- If this is the question you are asking, then, yes, a runner can advance on a thrown ball that goes out of play. Runner will be allowed to advance 1 base after the ball goes out of play. The only time this wouldn't be the case is if the runner was running to 1st and the ball hits him and it is deemed interference, he would then be called out.The question is a bit unclear, so it really depends on what you are asking


When must a base runner tag up to advance to the next base?

When the batter hits a fly ball and there are less than 2 out the runners have to stay where they are until either the ball is caught or until they know for a fact that the ball won't be caught. If the ball is caught, they have to tag up, otherwise they can just keep on running.


Can a runner going from 1st to 2nd advance on a 4th ball even though the pitch was not called yet and the runner was out?

In baseball, a runner can advance on a fourth ball (a ball that would be the fourth ball in the count) if they have not been called out or if the play is not dead. However, if the runner is tagged out while attempting to advance and the pitch has not been officially called a ball, the out stands, as the play still counts as live. The outcome hinges on whether the runner's advance was legal at the time of the pitch and if the out was made before any official call was made.