answersLogoWhite

0

If a runner in fair territory is struck by a batted ball prior to the ball having been fielded, the runner is out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

What else can I help you with?

Related Questions

Is the ball alive or dead when hitting a runner in fair territory?

It depends. Is the ball being thrown or is it hit. If it's hit off the bat and hits a base runner it's a dead ball and the runner is out if the ball has not passed a fielder. If the ball has already passed a fielder then the ball is live and the runner is not out. It is as if it never happened. If it hits the runner when it is thrown it is perceived as if it never hit the runner.


Is the runner out if the runner and fielder incidentally collide?

if the fielder is a) in the baseline, and b) doesn't have the ball, then no. If the runner goes out of the baseline to strike the fielder, he is out for leaving the baseline. If the fielder has the ball, and as a result of the collision he tags the runner, then runner is out. If the fielder has the ball and is trying to tag the runner, but the collision knocks the ball loose, then the runner is out if the umpire felt the contact was intentional, but it is a loose/live ball if the contact was accidental or otherwise part of the game.


If a player is in the line of the runner and the runner runs into the player are they out?

If the fielder has fielded a ball and has it in his possesion yes. If the fielder is in the path of the base and does not have the ball, the answer is no New answer: The fielder may enter the base path to field a BATTED ball and the runner must avoid contact whether the fielder has possession or not. The above answer is correct for a thrown ball only. (ie. the third baseman cannot position himself on the basepath while waiting for a throw from left field while the runner is advancing from 1st to 3rd on a hit.


Is the batter out or safe if a base runner gets hit by a ball?

No. If a fielder has a legitimate opportunity to make an attempt at the ball, but the ball passes the fielder and then touches the runner, he is not out. The rules state a runner is out when a batted ball touches him before it passes a fielder.


Does the batter get a hit when the baseball he hits then hits the runner moving from 1st base to 2nd?

If a batted ball that a fielder has no chance to field hits a runner, the runner is called out and the batter is credited with a single.


What happens when an advancing runner is hit with a batted ball?

The batter is out unless a fielder touched the ball


DO you run when a out fielder catches a ball?

there are a lot of variables to this question ... If the out fielder has a cannon for a arm then NO .. If the ball is hit shallow to the out field then NO ... If your on 1st base then NO ... If the fly ball cought is the 2nd out then NO * ... if coach tells you not to the NO ... Now if the runner is on 3rb base then YES... if coach tells you to then YES ... If the ball is hit to the right feilder and your on 2nd base and you have some speed the YES ... *runner not on 3rd ...


What is the process for executing a baseball force out on the field?

To execute a baseball force out, a fielder must touch the base before the runner reaches it. This can happen when a runner is forced to advance to the next base because the batter has hit the ball. The fielder must catch the ball and then touch the base before the runner gets there to record the out.


Is the batter out when he hits his own player with a hit ball?

No, the batter is not out. The runner could be out though. For example in Little League if the runner touches the ball before it goes by a fielder, the runner is out. (The pitcher does not count as a fielder for the purpose of the rule) The runner is not out if he/she is touching a base.


If a base runner is hit by the ball is it a dead ball?

No. Runner is part of the field, therefor the ball is in play and the runner is out.


Is it considered a fielder's choice or a hit when the ball is fielded but no throw is made?

Generally speaking, it would be a hit unless the fielder clearly had enough time to throw out the runner and did some other action instead (such as an attempt to tag a base runner, but not throw the ball).


Why is a ground ball not counted as a hit even if the runner is safe at first base?

A ground ball is not counted as a hit if the fielder has a chance to make a play on the ball and the runner is safe at first base because it is considered a routine play that the fielder should have made. The official scoring rules in baseball do not award a hit for plays that are deemed to be routine outs.