If a runner in fair territory is struck by a batted ball prior to the ball having been fielded, the runner is out.
No. A runner is out if hit by a batted ball but not out if hit by a thrown ball.
If the fielder has fielded a ball and has it in his possesion yes. If the fielder is in the path of the base and does not have the ball, the answer is no New answer: The fielder may enter the base path to field a BATTED ball and the runner must avoid contact whether the fielder has possession or not. The above answer is correct for a thrown ball only. (ie. the third baseman cannot position himself on the basepath while waiting for a throw from left field while the runner is advancing from 1st to 3rd on a hit.
It depends. Is the ball being thrown or is it hit. If it's hit off the bat and hits a base runner it's a dead ball and the runner is out if the ball has not passed a fielder. If the ball has already passed a fielder then the ball is live and the runner is not out. It is as if it never happened. If it hits the runner when it is thrown it is perceived as if it never hit the runner.
yes unless he is standing on the base It is also interference. Y-THINK-Y These answers assume we are talking about a batted ball (not clear from the question). A runner hit by a ball thrown by a fielder is not out, unless his interference with the throw was intentional. It is NOT interference if the ball first passes a fielder other than the pitcher. EXAMPLE: If the runner were to be running behind the fielder, and the ball went through the fielder's legs and hit the runner, the ball is live and there is no interference. A runner hit by a fair batted ball while standing on the base is out.
The runner would be safe if the ball passes by a fielder other than the pitcher, out if hit before the ball has past a fielder.
The batter is out unless a fielder touched the ball
If a batted ball that a fielder has no chance to field hits a runner, the runner is called out and the batter is credited with a single.
Yes if it hits him before passing a fielder. If it passes a fielder, then no, he is safe.
No. Runner is part of the field, therefor the ball is in play and the runner is out.
there are a lot of variables to this question ... If the out fielder has a cannon for a arm then NO .. If the ball is hit shallow to the out field then NO ... If your on 1st base then NO ... If the fly ball cought is the 2nd out then NO * ... if coach tells you not to the NO ... Now if the runner is on 3rb base then YES... if coach tells you to then YES ... If the ball is hit to the right feilder and your on 2nd base and you have some speed the YES ... *runner not on 3rd ...
If a runner is hit by ANY kind of batted ball, before a fielder has a chance to catch it, the runner is out and play is halted.
No, the batter is not out. The runner could be out though. For example in Little League if the runner touches the ball before it goes by a fielder, the runner is out. (The pitcher does not count as a fielder for the purpose of the rule) The runner is not out if he/she is touching a base.