answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

U have to wait until the ball is caught to "tag up".

That is incorrect. Runners trying to advance on a fly ball may "tag up" and advance when the fielder first touches the ball. If that were no so, fielders could intentionally juggle the ball and attempt to pick the runner off who ran too early.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-05-27 19:56:06
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does runner have to tag after the catch or upon first contact of the ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What happens if the pitcher drops the ball while in contact with the runner?

If the pitcher is in contact with the runner, the runner is safe if the pitcher drops the ball. If the pitcher is in contact with the rubber, it is a balk if he drops the ball.


In baseball does the fielder have to actually catch the fly ball or just have contact with it before the runner tags up?

He needs to catch it, and if he drops it the runner doesn't need to tag up.


Is a runner on first out if he makes contact with the 2nd baseman while running to 2nd base on a popup before the 2nd baseman catches the ball with contact occurring after runner reaches 2nd base?

No. A runner is out anytime while running to a base if he makes contact with the ball or the glove that the ball is in. On a pop-fly, a player with the ball only needs to touch the base the runner left from if the runner did not tag-up to the bag after the ball was caught.


Is the ball dead or live when a batter ball hits a runner?

It is a dead ball and the runner is out. If the ball hits two runners, only the first runner is out, because the ball is immediately dead when it hits the first runner.


If a batted ball hits a base runner is the batter safe or out?

When a batted ball hits a runner, A) the runner is out for interference, unless B) the ball first touches a defensive player or an umpire, then the runner is not out and the ball is live, unless C) the umpire judges the runner deliberately made contact with the ball, whereupon the umpire may call the runner out for interference and may also call the batter out for the runner's interference.


If you catch a fly ball but the runner is on base is he out?

yes he is out yes he is out


Is the runner out if the runner and fielder incidentally collide?

if the fielder is a) in the baseline, and b) doesn't have the ball, then no. If the runner goes out of the baseline to strike the fielder, he is out for leaving the baseline. If the fielder has the ball, and as a result of the collision he tags the runner, then runner is out. If the fielder has the ball and is trying to tag the runner, but the collision knocks the ball loose, then the runner is out if the umpire felt the contact was intentional, but it is a loose/live ball if the contact was accidental or otherwise part of the game.


Can a base coach make contact with a runner when the ball is live?

No.


A play at the plate catcher drops the ball on the base runner not the ground and put it back in their glove is it a catch or a dropped ball?

its a catch


If a infielder boots the ball from out of the base path into the base path and the runner runs in to him while he is trying to field the ball is the runner out?

No, once the fielder comes in contact with the batted ball a runner cannot be called for runner interference unless he intentionally goes out of his way (basepath) to make contact with the fielder


Runner on first pop up to shortstop he catches the ball and then throws the ball out of play with runner on first Where does the runner go?

He stays at first, the shortstop caught the ball and so the batter is out, therefore no one can run. The runner can run from first once he/she has 'tagged up'. Tagged up means that the runner touched first base after the defensive player has caught the ball.


Does a runner have to leave first base on a ball hit in play?

No. The runner can stay on first base (if the ball is hit in the air and might be caught, for example). However, if the batter passes the runner at first, that runner is called out.


What happens if in baseball the ball gets stuck in a runners jersey?

If it was a hit ball and the ball was stuck in the runners jersey then the runner is out assuming he had the first contact with the ball. If a fielder has the ball stuck in the jersey then the ball is dead and the hitter would be safe at first.


Is the base runner out if the Baseball is kicked by the base runner during play?

If the runner kicks a batted ball, the runner is out. If the ball had been touched by a fielder first, the runner is not out and can continue.


Pitcher fields ball on the 1st baseline runner runs into pitcher - pitcher throws ball to first is the runner safe or out?

The runner is probably out for interference by running into a fielder, if not, he is out if the throw to first beat the runner and the first baseman, or whom ever is covering first, had his foot on the bag when he received the ball.


Runner on base advance after a fly ball catch in foul territory?

yes, but runner must not advance to next base until ball is caught by defensive player.


Is a runner out if he gets hit by a line drive?

If a runner is hit by ANY kind of batted ball, before a fielder has a chance to catch it, the runner is out and play is halted.


Where does the ball need to be hit in order for a runner to have tag-up in basebal?

Any time a ball is caught by a fielder prior to the ball hitting the ground, with that catch not being the third out, any base runner can IN THEORY advance to the next base after the catch is made. However, if the fielder throws the ball to the base the runner is trying to get to, and the runner is tagged before reaching that base, that runner is also out. Thus, in a practical sense, the ball needs to be hit sufficiently far that the fielder, after catching the ball, could not throw the ball to the base, the runner would try to advance to, before the runner actually got to that base. That distance depends on how well the fielder can throw the ball and how fast the runner can get to the next base.


If the runner rounds first base and then wants to go back and the person with the ball tags the base is he out?

No, in that situation the person with the ball would have to tag the runner for the runner to be out.


Can a first baseman go in the base line of the batter running to first?

If the first baseman is making a play on a batted ball it is the responsibility of the runner to yield. If there is contact the runner may be declared out. If the first baseman is fielding a thrown ball and there is contact the umpire will usually call the play as it happens and consider the contact incidental. If the first baseman is standing in the baseline while making no play on the ball, he can be legally knocked down and the umpire can rule that the contact prevented the runner from advancing and award as many bases as he determines. That will generally just be one extra base unless the runner gets up and reaches second safely and is thrown out at third. When the contact occurs the umpire should have his hand out in a fist signifying that there has been obstruction and then make his ruling after the play is over. No base will be awarded if there is a runner on first when the batter hits the ball and said runner cannot reach third safely. In this case the contact becomes moot as the runner on second may not be awarded an extra base for obstruction on a player behind him. Many teams put a big kid at first to stand in the way and delay the runners. If an appeal to the coaches and umpires does not get him to move then your players will have to run him over or take the contact get up and try for the next base. If the first baseman is just plain "purposely" blocking the bag as the runner has arrived and the ball is on its way but not there yet the batter should be awarded first base.


With a runner on first base the pitcher overthrows ball to first where should the runner be awarded?

The runner isn't awarded anything. If the fielder can get the ball in time, the runner can still be thrown out at second. The runner is only awarded if the ball is thrown out of the playing field, such as the dugout or the stands. It is then declared a dead ball and is treated like a ground-rule double; The runner receives his extra base.


When in baseball do the fielders need to tag the runner out?

Not always. If a fielder is in possession of the ball AND in physical contact to a base that a base runner must run, then that base runner is out.


What do you do if you play base1 in softball?

you catch the ball and if the runner has passed a base throw it to the next one.


Do runners have to advance on a ground ball?

That depends on whether a runner is forced to vacate a base when a ground ball is hit. If there is a runner on first base and a ground ball is hit, the runner is forced to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. If there is also a runner on second base, that runner is forced to run to third because the runner from first is running to second. If a runner is not forced to run, they do not have to. If there are runners on first base and third base and a ground ball is hit, the runner at first is forced to run to second because the batter is running to first. But the runner on third is not forced to run because no runner is running to third base from second base.


In baseball can the first basemen get in the way of the runner?

Only if he is intending to tag the runner instead of stepping on the first base bag.Answer:It depends on the situation. A defender cannot block a runners path just to be doing it, however if a defender is making a play on a batted ball then the defender has the right to field the ball and if the runner makes contact with him even if he is in the baseline the runner can be called out (more then likely will be called out for runner interference). If the defender is making a play on a thrown ball or a tag then if the 1 basemen "gets in the way" of the runner there is nothing illegal there either.