answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If a runner is touched by a fair batted ball, in fair territory, before passing a fielder, it's interference, the ball is dead, the runner is Out, and all other runners must return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch, unless forced to advance due to the batter being awarded 1B on the play.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-12-06 03:02:45
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: A batter is touched by a fair ball and is declared out with a runner on first can the runner on first advance to second or must he stay at first?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can a runner advance if a batter bunts foul on his 3rd strike?

No a runner cannot advance


Old mlb rules hitting runner with ball?

If a runner is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder, the runner is out. The ball is dead and no runner may score. And no runner can advance, except runners forced to advance. [Rule 7.08(f)]


If the bases are loaded with one out and a batted ball hits a runner on second what is the call?

Official rule book section 7.08 (f) Any runner is out when he is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runners may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. The only exception is, if a runner is touching his base when touched by an infield fly, he is not out. This is to protect the runner from being doubled off. However if the runner leaves his base during a infield fly situation and is touched by the ball, both he and the batter are out. In the above situation the call would be, runner on second base called out. Ball is dead and the batter is credited with a hit, forcing the runner on first to second and the runner at third holds his position. Base loaded and two outs., this is assuming that the runner on 2nd base was in front of the infield.


If a batted ball hits a base runner is the play dead?

If a batted ball hits a base runner in fair territory before the ball has been touched by a defensive player or an umpire, the ball is dead, the runner is called out for interference, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners advance one base if forced. If, however, the ball has been touched by a defensive player or an umpire before hitting the base runner, the ball is live and play proceeds as usual (unless the runner is judged by the umpire to have deliberately made contact with the ball, then the runner can be called out for interference, the ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners advance one base if forced, or, if flagrant, the batter can also be called out and no runners advance).


If a batter hits the ball and the ball hits a runner leaving 2nd base the runner is out Is the batter out Do the other 2 baserunners get to advance to the next base?

When the ball hits the baserunner it is a dead ball at the runner the ball hit is out. The batter is credited with a single. Since the batter is given a single, any baserunner required to advance will advance, however, no runners ahead of the runner who was out will advance: i.e bases loaded, the runner at 2nd is hit by the ball, the runner at 2nd is out, the runner at 1st goes to 2nd and the batter goes to first. the runner at 3rd does not get to advance, he will stay at 3rd, so the bases will remain loaded runners at 2nd and 3rd, -- the ball hits the guy at 3rd base (while he is in fair territory), runner at 3rd is out, runner at 2nd returns to 2nd, and batter goes to first, you now have runners on 1st and 2nd hope this helps


If a batted ground ball hits a base runner who is on the base is the runner safe or out?

A batted ball that hits a runner in fair territory, without first being touched by a defender (or passing a fielder other than the pitcher) results in -- a dead ball, runner is ruled out, and the batter gets first base. According to the old rules, batter is credited with a single, but currently the batter is credited with a fielder's choice unless the umpire judges that the ball would have been a single. The putout goes to the nearest defensive player. Being on base doesn't change the situation. The only exception is if the base runner, while on the base (force or not), is hit by an Infield Fly. Ref 7.08. "Any runner is out when... (f) He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. EXCEPTION: If a runner is touching his base when touched by an Infield Fly, he is not out, although the batter is out;"


What happens when an advancing runner is hit with a batted ball?

The batter is out unless a fielder touched the ball


Is runner out or safe if a batted ball hits him while on base?

The base runner is out regardless if he/she is touching a base or not, assuming he is hit in fair territory.The only exceptions are:Runner is standing on the base and is hit by an "infield fly"Ball got by a fielder (other than the pitcher) attempting to field the ballBall touched a fielderThis is all stated clearly in rule 7.08 (f):[Any runner is out when --] He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. EXCEPTION: If a runner is touching his base when touched by an Infield Fly, he is not out, although the batter is out;


If a ground ball touches you are you out?

If the ground ball is foul, you are not out. If the ground ball is fair, you are out unless you are touching your base (however, if you are touching your base and in the umpire's judgment you intentionally interfered, you are out). Rule 7.08(f) states: Any runner is out when "he is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. EXCEPTION: If a runner is touching his base when touched by an Infield Fly, he is not out, although the batter is out."


In baseball when a basemen has to tag the runner?

A runner must be tagged to be Out if he is not forced to advance as a result of the batter putting the ball into play.


If a batted ball hits a base runner is the runner safe or out?

From the official rule book Rule 7.08: the runner is out if "He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. EXCEPTION: If a runner is touching his base when touched by an Infield Fly, he is not out, although the batter is out; Rule 7.08(f) Comment: If two runners are touched by the same fair ball, only the first one is out because the ball is instantly dead. If runner is touched by an Infield Fly when he is not touching his base, both runner and batter are out." Rule 7.09 is also relevant. The runner is not out if 1) the ball was first deflected by a fielder or 2) if the umpire is convinced that the ball went through or past the fielder untouched, and in the umpire's judgment no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball.If, in the judgment of the umpire, the runner deliberately and intentionally kicks such a batted ball on which the infielder has missed a play, then the runner shall be called out for interference." However, if in the umpire's judgment the runner intentionally kicks the batted ball, the runner shall be called out for interference. If a runner is touched by a batted ball in foul territory he is not out though.


Runner on first batter hits between first and second runner is hit by ball running to second how is the batter scored?

The batter is awarded a single. MLB Rule 10.05(5) states that a batter is credited with a base hit when: "A fair ball that has not been touched by a fielder touches a runner or an umpire, unless a runner is called out for having been touched by an Infield Fly, in which case the official scorer shall not score a hit".

People also asked