answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-05-04 18:56:58
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a batted ball hits a runner on third base but the ball hits the runner on the foot which is in foul territory is he still out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Bases loaded ball hits runner standing on third base What is the call?

Assuming you mean a batted ball? The answer depends on where the runner on third is standing. If the runner is standing in foul territory, it is ruled a foul ball. If the runner is touching third base or leading off in fair territory and the ball hits him, then he is ruled out and the ball is dead. It is recorded as a putout by the third baseman. The batter is awarded first base, and other runners forced to advance will do so, so the runner on first is awarded second base, and the runner on second is awarded third base. If the infield-fly rule is in effect and the ball hits the runner on third, he is safe and the batter is out, provided the runner is touching third base. A runner on third should always lead off in foul territory to avoid these situations which would rule him out.


If a runner who is in play is advancing from third and the is hit by a line drive that is called foul is the runner out?

If a runner is in foul territory is hit by a batted ball, it is simply a foul ball and the runner returns to his base. However, if he is in play, he is out.


Runner at third base goes home and touches home plate on a fair batted ball After touching the plate he hears someone say it was foul so he retreats to 3bA runner made it to third on the batted ball?

As soon as the runner touches home plate, the run scores. The following runner has the right to third base. Either the base coach or the following runner on third base should tell the runner who scored that it was not a foul ball and he should go to the dugout. The ball is still live.


If a line drive ball off the bat hits the runner on third base and flies in the air is the batter out when the third baseman catches the fly ball?

No. Once a batted ball strikes a baserunner the ruling is a dead ball. In this instance, if the runner is in fair territory, they player struck by the ball is out, and the batter is credited with a single --- if the runner is in foul territory and struck this is a foul ball. Same would apply with hitting the batting coach


If a batted ball hits a base runner in fair territoty the runner is out and the batter is awarded a base hit. How is the out officially recorded in the scorebook?

First, the runner is only out if the fielder has not had a chance at the ball yet. If the ball goes through the 2nd baseman's legs and hits the runner, it's still a live ball. The out is credited to the defensive player closest to the ball when the ball hit the baserunner. For example, if the runner was on third base, more than likely the third baseman would get the unassisted putout. By the way... this example should never happen. Baserunners are taught to lead off third base in foul territory. But it does happen every now and then. Even in the majors.


What is the ruling if an umpire gets hit with a line drive with a runner on third base?

If the umpire is in fair territory, it is a fair ball and all the runner(s) can get, as the Umpire is considered part of the playing field. If he is in foul territory, then it is a foul ball.


When a batted ball hits a runner for the third out how is the batter scored?

the batter is awarded a base hit.


Can the third baseman line up in foul territory holding a runner on?

No, the only player allowed to be in foul territory when the pitch is thrown is the catcher according to MLB rules


What happens to the batter when a suicide squeeze bunt hits the runner from third base in fair territory If it matters I should add that the batter never left the batter's box?

It does not matter what the batter did. If the runner from 3rd was in fair territory when the ball hit him -- the runner is out, batter is credited with a single and gets to go to 1st base


Runner stealing third base batter stands in batters box catchers arm hit batter in head is runner out?

no. the batter can stay in the batters box as long as they dnt move when someone is stealing third base. if the batter tried to block the catcher tho by moving, the bater is out. if the catcher hits the batter and the batter is still standing in the batters box, and the catcher throws to third base and the third baseman tags the runner the runner is still safe.


If the bases are loaded and the force is at home plate are the other bases a force out or does the third baseman have to tag the runner?

Yes all the other bases are a force out. The runner going to first forces the runner at first to second. The runner at first forces the runner at second to third. The runner at second forces the runner at third to home. You only have to tag the runner when a runner that was "forcing" you (from a previous base) is out. In the scenario you have mentioned the only time the third baseman would have had to tag the runner from second to third would be if the initial force out was behind the runner at either at first or second (the putout thus not forcing the runner from second to third, which would now require a tag. If the initial force out was at first or second, the runner on second would have the choice of going to third or retreating to second, and not "forced" to run. Since the initial force out was at home, the runner from second to third is still being "forced" to run by the runners behind him. Make sense?


If a batted ball hits fair and bounces over the foul line between home plate and 1st base and the 1st baseman catches the ball in foul territory before it hits the ground is it fair or foul?

If a batted ball lands in fair territory but then crosses the foul line BEFORE passing or touching first or third base, then it is a FOUL ball. If a batted ball lands in fair territory between first and third base, bounces in the air, and crosses into foul territory before passing first or third base, it is a foul ball, even if caught on the bounce in foul territory by the first or third baseman.


Runner on third taking a lead is hit by a thrown ball from catcher while in fair territory is he safe or out?

He is out for interfering with a thrown ball while running out of the baseline. The same is true with a runner running to first base. Tom Seaver said that when he saw a runner running to first in fair territory he would throw the ball into his back to get the quick out.


What happens to the runner that is hit by a throw down to third?

The runner is out unless they are on the bag in time .If the runner is in foul territory, it is just counted as foul.


When is a base runner forced to run?

When a runner is on a base that a batter or another base runner is required to run to, the former is forced to run to the next base. Two examples and a counter-example: 1) A runner begins the play on first base, and the ball is batted fair. Since the batter is required to go to first base, the runner that began on that base is forced to go to second base, and remains required to do so until the batter is out. 2) Runners begin the play on first base and on second base, and the ball is batted fair. As noted in example (1), the runner on first base is forced to go to second. Thus, the runner that began on second is now forced to go to third base. If either the batter or the runner that began on first base become out, then this requirement is cancelled. 3) A runner begins the play on third base, and the ball is batted fair. The runner MAY advance from third towards home, but is not FORCED to do so. That's because the batter is only required to run to first, and there is no requirement that the runner on third leave his base.


What is the scoring decision if a batter hits a ground ball to shortstop and the runner on second collides with the fielder as he is going to third base?

Fielder has the right to occupy the territory necessary to field the ball, runner must give right of way to the fielder. In this case, runner is out.


Runner on second is hit by the batted ball while running to third. How is this recorded?

dead ball, the runner is out and the putout goes to the closest fielder...the batter gets credit for a hit and if there are other runners that are forced to advance by the batter getting first (in this case, a runner on first), he gets to advance also...if there are 2 outs, the batter still gets credit for a hit but the inning is over


What is the third mission on WolfQuest?

The third mission is marking your territory alot so it can be well protected when you have pups to avoid bears and coyotes. (You still have to mark your territory after having pups)


Can a runner from third base score if the batter is tagged out for the third out?

If the batter is tagged out before he reaches first base it is still considered a force out and the runner cannot score, however if the batter crosses first base safely and then is tagged out, the run counts if the third base runner crosses home plate before the batter is tagged out.


Can a foul ball ever be a sacrifice fly?

yes, if it is a fly ball and it gets caught, any base runner can try to go to the next base. for example, a runner on third tags up on a fly ball. the right fielder catches it in foul territory. as long as the runner on third is on the base or goes back and touches it after leading off, she can try to steal home.


Does the run count on the third out?

no it does not count, even if the plate is touched by the runner the run still does not count!


Is it a fielders choice with one out and runner on third and batter grounds out to first with runner on third scoring?

Anytime the batter is put out at 1st base on a batted ball it is not considered a fielders choice, it is simply a put out. Now in your scenario if the catcher would have thrown home and the runner coming from 3rd is out and the batter is safe at 1st, then in that case it would be a fielders choice


Why do you get to run to first base after a dropped third strike?

The ball is still on play on a dropped-third strike and a runner can attempt to reach first base as long as a runner doesn't occupy first base prior to the dropped pitch.


What happens when batter bunts. throw goes to third runner is safe?

The runner is safe at third and the runner is safe at first.


Can a bulk if third or first base man are in foul territory?

I'm going to answer the question, "Can a bAlk be called if either the first or the third baseman are in foul territory?" as well as "Can a balk be called if the runner on first or on third base are in foul territory?" A balk is called whenever the pitcher makes an illegal throw or pitch. Basically, if a pitcher moves his front foot toward a base (including home plate), it must be that base that the pitcher throws the ball towards. The location of the either the runner or the fielder is completely irrelevant to whether or not the pitcher committed a balk.