answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If the batter has the bat out over the plate when the ball hits them it is a strike...

As long as the batter makes an attempt at the ball, like pushing or moving the bat to the ball then yes it would be a strike if they were hit.If the batter simply has the bat over the plate and is hit by the pitch out of the strike zone then its not a strike.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-06-13 04:24:03
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When trying to bunt the batter is hit by pitch?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What happens when the batter gets hit by the pitch while trying to bunt?

Just because a batter spins to avoid the pitch and in doing so happens to move his bat across the plate does not mean that he swung at or attempted to hit the pitch - even if the bat passes completely over the plate. If the pitch is not in the strike zone and if the umpire judges that the batter was attempting to avoid getting hit rather than attempting to bunt at (or swing at) the pitch, he is hit by the pitch. The ball is dead and the batter is entitled to first base. If the umpire ruled that he was attempting to strike at the pitch when the pitch hit him, the ball is dead and the pitch is ruled a strike. No runners can advance. If the pitch is in the strike zone when the batter is hit, then the ball is dead and the pitch is ruled a strike. No runners can advance.


Does a sacrifice bunt count as an at bat?

No, a successful sacrifice bunt does not count as an at bat. If the bunt is unsuccessful, the batter is charged with an at bat. Similarly, if the batter beats out the play and is awarded a hit, an at bat is counted. Sacrifice flies, walks, and getting hit by pitch also do not count as at bats. All of these are recorded as Plate Appearances.


Why does the batter get a free pass to first base after ball hits his hand on an attempted bunt?

It's still considered a hit-by-pitch.


If a batter reaches base via a bunt is it counted as a hit?

It is.


If batter hit on hand while bunting does he walk?

If the batter is hit while still holding the bat across the plate attempting to bunt, then it is called a strike. But, if the batter pulls back the bat and gets hit by the pitch then he goes to first with a HBP.


When the batter is hit by a pitch outside of batter's box is he out?

I watched this happen yesterday between the Cubs and Dodgers. It is a strike. It happened as a player was hit in the leg as they were squared up to bunt. His back foot was outside the batter's box and behind the plate, where he was struck with the pitch. It was called a strike.


What is an at bats in baseball?

At Bat- A turn trying to get a hit, every time you go up to the plate to try to hit, it counts as an at bat, unless you get hit by the pitch or you do a sacrifice bunt or fly out.


Does a bunt count as a hit?

Yes, assuming the batter reaches base safely.


Is double hit of the bat on a bunt an out?

It depends. A) batter attempts to bunt the ball, the ball is bunted straight up into the air and the batter hits the ball again - batter is out. B) batter attempts to bunt the ball, the ball is hit into the infield near home plate, the batter deliberately drops or throws the bat so it hits the ball a second time - batter is out. C) batter attempts to bunt the ball, then drops the bat on the way to first base, the ball incidentally rolls against the bat, ball is live and playable.


If the batter swings and the ball hits his hand?

If the batter swings and the ball hits anywhere but the bat the pitch is called a strike. Even if it hits the person batting, while swinging, but if he is bunting and gets hit it is not a strike There is no rule that states that if a batter is attempting to bunt and a pitched ball hits him that the pitch is anything but a strike. In short, if a batter is hit during any type of swing, the pitch is ruled a strike.


What is a slash bunt?

A slash bunt is when the batter attemps to bunt the bat and while the ball comes back the batter swings instead of bunts and the main point of this is to hit it right by the foul line over the heads of the third and first basemen


What happens if a batter gets hit by a pitch?

If a batter is hit by a pitch, that batter automatically advances to first base.

People also asked