answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No the ball is dead as soon as it hits the batter, no runners may advance more than one base.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-10-24 05:42:05
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a hit batter advance beyond first?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is there a force out at 1st base in a softball?

every out at first base that occurs after a batter has hit the ball is a force out since the batter is required to advance to first base.


In slow pitch softball if the batter-runner is hit by his own batted ball while running to first base he is out can the runners on base advance or must they remain at their base?

batter is out, runners do not advance


Can a batter that has been walked take off to second?

When a batter is walked, they can only go to first base at first. Once they are on first base and the next batter is up to bat, they can steal, or advance on a base hit.


Can the runner advance on a bounced pitch that hits the batter?

As long as the pitcher is the last person to touch the ball before the batter is hit, the ball becomes dead and is counted as a hit by pitch. The runners can only advance if they are forced over by the hit batter.


Runner on second is hit by the batted ball while running to third. How is this recorded?

dead ball, the runner is out and the putout goes to the closest fielder...the batter gets credit for a hit and if there are other runners that are forced to advance by the batter getting first (in this case, a runner on first), he gets to advance also...if there are 2 outs, the batter still gets credit for a hit but the inning is over


A hit that gets the batter to first base safely?

A hit


If a runner trying to advance to third unforced with two outs is tagged out after the batter has reached first base by the shortstop on a ball hit into the hole does the batter receive a hit?

no hit, assume runner trying to keep defensive player from throwing to first base.


When a batter is hit by a pitch and the ball goes past the catcher can a runner on second advance to home?

When a batter is hit by a pitch, the ball is dead.


If a batter strikes out is then hit by the pitched ball the batter is out but what is the status of the baserunners?

Ball's dead and runners can't advance.


Can base runners advance on a hit by pitch?

When a batter is hit with a ball, it is a dead ball. Runners may advance to the next based only if they are forced to do so (e.g. If there are runners on first and third, only the runner on first may advance because they are 'forced' to go to second. The runner on third remains on third).


With runners on 2nd and 3rd if the batter gets hit by a pitch can the runner on 3rd advance home?

No. When a batter is hit by a pitch, the ball is dead and no runners may advance. However, if the bases were loaded, then all runners are forced to advance and the runner from third would score.


When a batter is hit by a pitch is it counted as a hit or a walk in the record book?

Neither. It is recorded as a "hit by pitched ball". The batter is not charged with an "At Bat", and is awarded first base, all other runners, if forced, advance one base, if not forced they remain on the base they occupied. The ball is declared "dead" by the umpire and baserunners may not advance unless forced.

People also asked