answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

There are many different hits that can give a player a safe passage to first base. A player can hit a line drive, a ball up the middle, a ball off the walls around the stadium, a home run, etc. Batters can also reach first through a error made by the defensive team.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-05-05 16:18:30
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What hit gets the batter to first base safely?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

A hit that gets the batter to first base safely?

A hit


What is the hit that gets the batter to first base safely?

What the name of the hit that gets the batter to first base safely


A hit that gets the batter to second base safely?

double


Is the batter out if the pitcher accidentally hits the ball to the batter?

No when the batter gets hit by the ball it is called and walk and the batter gets to go to first base


If a batter reaches 1st base as the result of an error but gets thrown out trying to reach 2nd on the same play is the error negated?

The error stands as the batter reached a base safely.


When a batter hits safely to the out field and is thrown out at second is he credited with a single?

No, once you are tagged out you don't get credited with anything if you are the one at bat. Now if another batter hits the ball and there was already a man on base at first and he gets tagged at 2nd base, then yes the man on 1st base would get the single from his previous at bat If the batted ball was cleanly a base hit and he was thrown out trying to advance past first base then the batter would be given the hit corresponding to the last base the batter reached safely. If the batter was thrown out at second, the batter would be given a single. If the batter was thrown out at third, the batter would be given a double. If the batter was thrown out at home plate, the batter would be given a triple.


When does a batter walk to first base?

when he gets hit with the ball


What happens if a batter gets hit by a pitch?

If a batter is hit by a pitch, that batter automatically advances to first base.


What is a free base in baseball?

when the batter gets pitched 4 balls and the batter gets to take first base or when that same situation happens and there is someone already on a base so they advance to the next for free


Who gets to first base first - left or right handed batter?

A right handed batter would get to first base first because a left handed batter has to take extra time turning around to start running.


What happens when a batter gets hit by a pitch?

the batter advances to first base


What is it called when a batter has 4 balls and gets to go to first base?

a walk!


What happens when a batter gets hit by a ball when at bat?

The batter goes to first base. It's called a walk.


Does a batter receive a hit for a reached on error?

No. He hasn't earned being on base by safely hitting the ball so he gets no credit for a hit.


What is base on ball-softball?

Base on ball is also known as a walk. This occurs when the pitcher throws 4 balls to a batter. In this situation the batter gets to automatically advance to first base


How can an illegal batter gets on base?

He sneaks across the border. But seriously, if an illegal batter gets on base, he or she must go back.


If a batter is tagged out going to first are all other runners forced to run?

no, if there's a runner on first base and the batter gets a strike-out but the catcher drop the ball. he's out because of the runner on first base.


Is a batter awarded a base if the batter swings and hits catchers glove after ball has passed?

ya....if they swing and hit the glove then its called catcher interference. the batter then gets to go to first base


Do the base runners have to run when the bases are loaded and the batter hits the ball but gets out before reaching first base?

Yes. Since the batter is forced to run to first base the other runners are forced to advance. However, once the batter is put out at first base the other runners may attempt to go back to their original base.


Does the batter receive one or two bases after a pitched third strike that goes out of play?

He gets first base only. He is not officially on first base yet so he only gets it free.


Is it a plate appearance if the batter gets thrown out but a runner scores from third base?

It depends on what the count on the batter is when he is thrown out. If there are 2 strikes on the batter and his substitute gets struck out, the at-bat is contributed to the first batter. Otherwise, all stats will be awarded to the substitute batter.


Batter gets hit by pitch but doesnt move?

If the Home Plate Umpire rules that the batter did not attempt to avoid being hit, batter does not get the pass to first base.


If a batter hits a ball that falls safely in front of the center fielder but the runner at second hesitates and gets thrown out at third should it be considered a fielder's choice and not a hit?

Provided that there were no runner on 1st base and batter reached 1st before runner were tagged out, this is a hit. Batter alreay had first base, runner chose to go to 3rd, not forced. If he were forced, then it is a fielders choice.


What happens if a batter hits a ball that hits first base before the batter gets there?

Should a batted ball hit any base, the ball is considered fair and live and the play continues. It is still up to the defense to field the ball and touch first base before the batter does to record an out.


How is it scored when the batter strikes out but the catcher drops the ball and the batter advances to first?

In the event of a batter striking out but the Catcher dropping the ball and the batter advancing to first base, it will be ruled as a strike out however it will also be ruled as a passed ball for allowing the batter to reach base. Generally speaking, in most cases the catcher will throw the ball to first base before the batter gets there. In that situation, the put out is given to the first baseman & the catcher receives an assist.