What the name of the hit that gets the batter to first base safely
No when the batter gets hit by the ball it is called and walk and the batter gets to go to first base
The error stands as the batter reached a base safely.
No, once you are tagged out you don't get credited with anything if you are the one at bat. Now if another batter hits the ball and there was already a man on base at first and he gets tagged at 2nd base, then yes the man on 1st base would get the single from his previous at bat If the batted ball was cleanly a base hit and he was thrown out trying to advance past first base then the batter would be given the hit corresponding to the last base the batter reached safely. If the batter was thrown out at second, the batter would be given a single. If the batter was thrown out at third, the batter would be given a double. If the batter was thrown out at home plate, the batter would be given a triple.
when he gets hit with the ball
If a batter is hit by a pitch, that batter automatically advances to first base.
when the batter gets pitched 4 balls and the batter gets to take first base or when that same situation happens and there is someone already on a base so they advance to the next for free
A right handed batter would get to first base first because a left handed batter has to take extra time turning around to start running.
the batter advances to first base
The batter goes to first base. It's called a walk.
No. He hasn't earned being on base by safely hitting the ball so he gets no credit for a hit.
Base on ball is also known as a walk. This occurs when the pitcher throws 4 balls to a batter. In this situation the batter gets to automatically advance to first base
He sneaks across the border. But seriously, if an illegal batter gets on base, he or she must go back.
no, if there's a runner on first base and the batter gets a strike-out but the catcher drop the ball. he's out because of the runner on first base.
ya....if they swing and hit the glove then its called catcher interference. the batter then gets to go to first base
Yes. Since the batter is forced to run to first base the other runners are forced to advance. However, once the batter is put out at first base the other runners may attempt to go back to their original base.
He gets first base only. He is not officially on first base yet so he only gets it free.
It depends on what the count on the batter is when he is thrown out. If there are 2 strikes on the batter and his substitute gets struck out, the at-bat is contributed to the first batter. Otherwise, all stats will be awarded to the substitute batter.
If the Home Plate Umpire rules that the batter did not attempt to avoid being hit, batter does not get the pass to first base.
Provided that there were no runner on 1st base and batter reached 1st before runner were tagged out, this is a hit. Batter alreay had first base, runner chose to go to 3rd, not forced. If he were forced, then it is a fielders choice.
Should a batted ball hit any base, the ball is considered fair and live and the play continues. It is still up to the defense to field the ball and touch first base before the batter does to record an out.
In the event of a batter striking out but the Catcher dropping the ball and the batter advancing to first base, it will be ruled as a strike out however it will also be ruled as a passed ball for allowing the batter to reach base. Generally speaking, in most cases the catcher will throw the ball to first base before the batter gets there. In that situation, the put out is given to the first baseman & the catcher receives an assist.