answersLogoWhite

0

If there are less than two outs, yes.

If there are two outs, this is a timing play.

If the runner crosses home plate before the batter is thrown out at second base, the run counts.

If the batter is thrown out at second base before the runner crosses home plate, the run does not count.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

What else can I help you with?

Related Questions

Is it possible to hit 3 triples 3 singles and have a stolen base in one inning?

Batter 1: Triples but is out at the plate trying to stretch it to an inside the park homerun. Batter 2: Triples but is out at the plate trying to stretch it to an inside the park homerun. Batter 3: Triples and stays at third. Batter 4: Hits an infield single, runner holds at third. Batter 4: Steals second while runner at third holds. Batter 5: Hits an infield single, runners at second and third hold. Batter 6: Hits a ball that strikes a baserunner in play. Runner is out and batter is credited with a single. No runs, 6 hits, a stolen base, and three LOB.


Is to possible to get a single but not get to first base?

Yes it is posible. If a batter is to hit it into left field which would normally get him a single, but he also tries for second and is thrown out trying to get to second it will count as a single even though the runner is out.


Runner on first batter hits between first and second runner is hit by ball running to second how is the batter scored?

The batter is awarded a single. MLB Rule 10.05(5) states that a batter is credited with a base hit when: "A fair ball that has not been touched by a fielder touches a runner or an umpire, unless a runner is called out for having been touched by an Infield Fly, in which case the official scorer shall not score a hit".


Is the batter credited with a double if he is thrown out while advancing to third base?

No, once you are tagged out you don't get credited with anything if you are the one at bat. Now if another batter hits the ball and there was already a man on base at first and he gets tagged at 2nd base, then yes the man on 1st base would get the single from his previous at bat If the batted ball was cleanly a base hit and he was thrown out trying to advance past first base then the batter would be given the hit corresponding to the last base the batter reached safely. If the batter was thrown out at second, the batter would be given a single. If the batter was thrown out at third, the batter would be given a double. If the batter was thrown out at home plate, the batter would be given a triple.


Can there be an earned run on an infield single if the runner scores from second base?

In my opinion, if the pitcher who is responsible for the batter being on second base to begin with, then I believe it is an earned run...


Can you get 6 hits and no runs?

yes, single, single and the runner is thrown out trying to advance from first to third, 1 out, single and the runner is thrown out trying to advance to third, 2 out, single runner to 2nd, single runners to second and third, a line drive to left and they throw the runner out going to second but it is ruled a single.


If a batter hits a pitch and the ball hits a runner how is it scored?

The play is dead, the runner that was hit is out, and the batter reaches first base and is credited with a single.


Does the batter get a hit when the baseball he hits then hits the runner moving from 1st base to 2nd?

If a batted ball that a fielder has no chance to field hits a runner, the runner is called out and the batter is credited with a single.


What happens to the batter when a suicide squeeze bunt hits the runner from third base in fair territory If it matters I should add that the batter never left the batter's box?

It does not matter what the batter did. If the runner from 3rd was in fair territory when the ball hit him -- the runner is out, batter is credited with a single and gets to go to 1st base


Fair ball hits runner with two outs does batter still get a single?

yes but only if the defence hasent touched the ball yet if they have the the runner can still be counted as a single


What is the ruling when a batter hits a grand slam but passes the runner at first between first and second...Does he get the RBIs...Does he get a single?

The batter is declared out and awarded a single since first base was the last base he reached safely before being called out. All three runners score and the batter is awarded 3 RBIs.


If there are runners on second and third and two outs and the runner from second tries to score on a single but is called out on an appeal does the first run count?

When the ball hits the baserunner it is a dead ball at the runner the ball hit is out. The batter is credited with a single. Since the batter is given a single, any baserunner required to advance will advance, however, no runners ahead of the runner who was out will advance: i.e bases loaded, the runner at 2nd is hit by the ball, the runner at 2nd is out, the runner at 1st goes to 2nd and the batter goes to first. the runner at 3rd does not get to advance, he will stay at 3rd, so the bases will remain loaded runners at 2nd and 3rd, -- the ball hits the guy at 3rd base (while he is in fair territory), runner at 3rd is out, runner at 2nd returns to 2nd, and batter goes to first, you now have runners on 1st and 2nd hope this helps