answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes. The batter would be credited with an at bat and an RBI.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2007-10-01 17:57:48
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Runners are on 3rd and 1st. The ball is hit to the 2nd baseman. The shortstop covers the bag and the batter reaches 1st before the throw reaches 1st base. The runner at 3rd scores. Is it an at bat?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Is a batter out if the first-baseman controls the ball on the ground before the batter reaches first?

no.Unless the first baseman is touching first base.


What is it called when three runners get out in one play?

The rare act of making three outs in one continuous play is called a triple play. There are many ways a triple play can be performed; most of them are done with runners on first and second base. Typically, a ball hit to the shortstop or third baseman is fielded, the runner heading to third is forced out or tagged out, the ball is thrown to second base for a force play, and then finally to first to throw out the batter. Another common sequence (to the extent such plays can be called common) is a line drive to the shortstop or second baseman that is caught without the runners noticing or after they have taken large leads (as in the case of a hit and run), the runners then being forced or tagged out when they fail to tag up.


If a ball is hit over third base and the third baseman reaches across the line and catches the ball is the batter out?

If the ball never touches the ground before the 3rd baseman catches the ball the batter is out.


When bases are loaded ball is hit on ground to first baseman who tags runner out then throws home all runners go back to previous bases are runners all safe?

Yes. If the first baseman tags out the batter on his way to first, the three existing runners can return to their original bases; none can be "forced out."


How do you score an infield error in baseball?

In the scorebook, the notation is 'E' followed by the number of the fielder who made the error (1-pitcher, 2-catcher, 3-first baseman, 4-second baseman, 5-third baseman, 6 shortstop). The batter is charged with an at bat unless the error came on a play where the batter was attempting a sacrifice bunt.


How do you get a force -play in baseball?

Lets say there is a man on first base, and the batter gets an infield ground hit that is picked off by the shortstop. The shortstop throws the ball to the 2nd baseman who steps on 2nd base before the runner a at 1st can reach it. This is a force out as the 2nd baseman does not have to tag the incoming runner. If the shortstop caught the ball before the ball hit the ground and can throw the ball to the 1st baseman before the runner at 1st can get back and put his foot on the bag, then that would also would be a force out.


Does the batter get an RBI if he bats into a fielders choice and a runner scores?

Yes. There are only a few times that a batter helps a teammate score but does not get an RBI. Example 1: Bases loaded, 0 outs, batter grounds into double play 2nd baseman to first baseman, runner at third scores. The batter is not credited with an RBI. Example 2: Runner on 3rd, 2 outs, batter hits a routine groundball to shortstop, but the shortstop makes an erro. The batter is not credited with an RBI because if the ball was played cleanly the run would not have scored.


What does 'A' stand for in a box score?

'A' stands for Assist and is a defensive statistic. Players are given assists when they help in getting a runner out but do not actually make the putout. For example, if a batter hits a ground ball to the shortstop and the shortstop throws thebatter out at first base, the shortstop is credited with an assist and the first baseman is credited with a putout.


Does the runner need to be out in order to be a fielder's choice?

No, if there is a runner on first and the second baseman fields the ball and throws it to the shortstop, who muffs the play and allows both the runner and batter to advance/reach safely, the play would be ruled a fielder's choice and an error. It would still count as an at-bat and a non-hit for the batter, just as if the second-baseman had muffed the throw to the first-baseman with nobody on base.


Who takes the throw at second base on a double steal?

it would be the same as a regular steal. if a left handed batter is up then the shortstop would take the throw, if a right handed batter is up then the second baseman would get the throw


When attempting to throw out a runner at second base who takes the throw?

That would depend on 'who' is trying to throw the runner out. This answer will assume the questioner is asking about a stolen base and the 'who' is the catcher. The defensive player that covers second base on a steal attempt is the player that the defense believes is on the side of the field that the ball will NOT be hit to. Factors that go into this decision are whether the batter is righthanded or lefthanded, where the pitcher is going to pitch the ball (inside or outside), and how good of a batter the player is (whether they can hit the ball to all fields, whether they are a pull hitter). Generally, if the batter is righthanded and the pitcher is going to pitch inside the odds are better, if the batter makes contact with the ball, that it will be hit to the left side of the field. In this case, it will be the second baseman's responsibility to cover the base if the runner attempts to steal. If the batter is lefthanded and the pitcher is going to pitch inside the odds are better, if the batter makes contact with the ball, that it will be hit to the right side of the field. In this case, it will be the shortstop's responsibility to cover the base if the runner attempts a steal. The decision of who will cover second base on a steal attempt is made before every pitch. On one pitch the second baseman may be the player to cover and on the next pitch the shortstop may be the player to cover. If you are at a game, you may notice when a player is on first base that the second baseman will put his glove up to his face and look at the shortstop just before a pitch is made. The second baseman is giving a signal to the shortstop as to who will cover second base on a steal attempt. Usually, the signal is an open mouth or closed mouth. If the second baseman looks at the shortstop and his mouth is open, this means the second baseman will be the player to cover if a steal is attempted; if the mouth is closed the shortstop will cover. Or vice versa ... it all depends on how the team has set up their signals.


With runners on 1st and 2nd no one out batter hits the ball to third the third baseman tags the base then throws to 2nd is it a force play or do you have to tag the runner?

If it was a ground ball, then it would be a force out.


If a batter reaches base on an error is it an official at bat?

Yes. The only time it is not an official "At Bat", is if a batter reaches base on a base on balls, hit by pitch or catcher interference. A batter is also not charged with an "At Bat" if he hits a sacrifice fly (a fly ball out that results in a runner tagging up and scoring), or a sacrifice bunt that advances a runner or runners. He is also not charged with an "At Bat" if the batter reaches base as a result of an error on a sacrifice fly or sacrifice bunt.


When was the first triple play in MLB?

The first recorded triple play was by the Hartford Dark Blues on May 13, 1876 in a game against the New York Mutuals. With runners on first and second the Mutuals tried a hit and run. The batter hit a hard line drive to the second baseman who caught the ball for out #1. The second baseman threw to the first baseman to double off the runner for out #2. The first baseman then threw back to the second baseman to catch the runner off second base for out #3.


When there is a runner on first and the batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman should the first baseman throw the ball to second?

If the first baseman has time they should tag the runner. If the runner is already too far they should throw it. If the first baseman is close to first, they should step on first and then throw the ball to the shortstop at second. Note: Tagging first base first takes away the force out at second and the runner must then be tagged. They are also allowed to return to first base.


What are the infield positions of Softball?

1st Baseman 2nd Baseman 3rd Baseman Pitcher Catcher Short Stop Batter


Can a runner on 3B score on 2 outs if he crosses the plate before the shortstop throws out the batter at first base fielding ground ball?

No runs score on a play when a third out is made and that third out was a force out, period. A batter-runner being put out prior to touching first base is a force out. If there had been only one out with runners at first and third or first and second and third, putting the batter-runner out before he reaches first base ends the force on the other runners, and so if the defense next also got the runner going to second or to third, on a double-play, the runner from third crossing home before that third out would count, because the third out was not a force out.


What is the batter credited if the first baseman bobbles the ball?

If the official scorekeeper feels the batter would have been safe anyway, the batter is credited with a hit. If the official scorekeeper feels the batter would have been out had the first baseman not bobbled the ball, the first baseman is charged with an error. The batter is not credited with a hit and it will go against his batting average as if he had been put out.


The runner at 1st does not run and now the batter and runner are standing at 1st base. Does the 1st baseman have to tag the runners or by touching 1st base is the runner out that did not attempt torun?

To my understanding, either way. But the net result is that the lead runner is out.


What is an unassisted put out?

An 'unassisted put out' is a term that is used when a ground ball is hit and the defensive player that fields the ball is the player that makes the put out without any other defensive player touching the ball. The best example of this would be when a ground ball is hit to the first baseman. If the first baseman fields the ball, runs to and gets to the bag before the batter to make the out, the put out would be unassisted and you might hear the announcer say something like 'Jeter grounds out 3 unassisted'. And 'assisted put out' is when there is more than one defensive player that touches the ball to get a batter or runner out. If a ground ball is hit to the shortstop and he throws to first base to get the batter out, the shortstop is credited with an assist and the first baseman gets credited with a put out. If there is a runner on third base and the batter hits a fly ball to left field and the runner at third tries to score but is thrown out at home by the left fielder, the left fielder would be credited with an assist and the catcher would be credited with a put out.


How do you get an unassisted triple plays in Baseball?

On a hit and run play, runners on first and second, the batter hits a line drive to the second baseman, he makes the catch for the first out tags the first base runner for the second out and steps on second for the third out.


What is the penalty if a third baseman is not in fair territory when the pitcher delivers the ball to the batter?

It is a balk. Same for the first baseman.


Where does the second basemen stand in softball?

The second baseman stands in the infield area between first and second base. He or she can play as close or as far from second base as necessary, but is responsible for getting any balls that come between the first baseman and second base. He or she also stands in towards home plate, or out towards the outfield depending on the runners on base or the type of batter.


When pitching to the batter if the pitcher's pivot foot comes off the rubber before the ball leaves his hand is there any penalty?

If there are runners on base, it's a balk. Runners advance one base (MLB Rule 8.05(e)). If there's no one on base, and the pitch is delivered, a ball is called unless the batter reaches base otherwise (MLB Rule 8.01(d)).


What is the most steals a team can get in an inning without scoring a run?

Ten - First batter reaches steals two bases tagged out at plate. Second batter does the same. Third batter steals two bases and fourth batter steals one. Ten is the answer but alternatively, first batter gets on and steals two bases (2). Next batter reaches first and steals second (3). Third batter reaches first and now with three runners on each base a triple steal could be executed with the 3rd base runner being tagged out (5). Repeat last sentence, (7). Then the fifth batter gets walked, and a triple steal is attempted. The runner from third gets caught in a rundown. The runner from second steals third (8). The runner from first steals second and third (10). Then one of the three runners now between third and home gets tagged out before the lead runner can score.