answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If the ball hits the ground in play then it hits the batter it is call a hit by pitch and the batter will take first base ... You can also hit the ball as it bounces off the ground ...

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-08-19 08:01:40
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Pitched ball hits ground then batter?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Softball rules can batter hit ball after it hits the ground?

no absolutely not it is an automatic strike If the ball is pitched and hits the ground before it gets to the batter and the batter then hits the ball it is a legal hit.


If a pitched ball in fastpitch softball hits the ground and then hits the batter does the batter get awarded a base?

Yes


Can it be a strike to swing at a ground ball?

A pitched ball that touches the ground is a live ball. If the batter swings and misses, it is a strike. If the batter swings and hits the ball, it is treated as any other hit ball.


Does the batter get to advance to first base if the ball hits the ground and then the batter?

Yes, as long as the batter makes an attempt to get out of the way of the pitch they are awarded first base on a pitched ball that touches the ground and then the batter.


Can the batter hit a pitched ball that hits the ground before crossing home plate?

Yes, but if he doesn't swing at the pitch, it would be a Ball.


Is it a dead ball if the ball hits the ground before the batter hits it?

No, the ball is not dead and the batter may attempt to hit it.


In kids' pitch is it a dead ball if it hits the ground before it hits the batter?

In regular baseball rules, the ball is still live, even if it hits the ground first, until it hits the batter, then it becomes a "dead ball". If it never hits the batter, its still a live ball.


Suicide squeeze and the ball hits the batter and the runner on third is barreling down the line but the ball hits the batter?

If a pitched ball hits the batter, it is dead, and all runners must return to their bases.


If the ball is pitched and the batter doesn't swing but the ball hits the bat what is the call?

It is a strike.


When a pitch hits the ground before it hits a batter does the batter get first base?

No, in that case it is a ball.


Is a batter awarded first base if the ball hits the ground first in womens fast pitch softball?

If it hits the ground then hits the batter then yes. If it just hits the ground then no.


What happens if a pitched ball bounces and the batter hits it?

It is considered a legally batted ball subject to being a fair or foul ball. Also, if a pitched ball bounces in the dirt and strikes the batter, the ball is dead and the batter receives first base as he was legally hit by a pitched ball.

People also asked