answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

no, I think you mean the move en passant which is a move performed by a pawn and means "in passing" in french

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-10-20 20:08:35
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Can you castle through check

What is the notation of kingside castling

What is step 1

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
No Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is there a such rule called passing pawn in chess?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

In chess how many turns is it until it is a draw?

In tournament chess, there is what is called the fifty-move rule: if there have not been any captures or pawn promotions for fifty moves, the game is called a draw. There are exceptions in specific game conditions where the rule is extended; however, these are very specific, and one would need a book of tournament rules in order to know them. To get the rules, contact either the United States Chess Federation or the International Chess Federation (FIDE).


How many moves does a king make for a draw in chess game?

There's the 'Fifty-Move Rule ' where there has been neither a capture or a pawn movement resulting in a draw .


How does a pawn capture a piece in chess?

A pawn captures another piece by moving diagonally one square forward to the square where the enemy piece is located. The pawn cannot capture a piece that is directly in front of it. Another way a pawn captures is under a special rule which applies only to another pawn. If White has a pawn on the 5th rank and Black moves a pawn one file over two spaces from the 7th rank to the 5th rank, the White pawn may capture the Black pawn even though the black pawn is now right beside it by moving one square diagonally forward right behind the Black pawn. This is called capturing "en passant"


In chess and you have one piece left what happens after 15 moves?

Nothing. You may be thinking of the 50-move rule, where if 50 moves happen without a capture or a Pawn move, the game is a draw.


What is the practice of passing laws that are acceptable to the highest number of people called?

majority rule


Is there a rule in chess that if they don't say check you can take there piece?

No , there's not a rule in the game of chess that requires a player to forfeit a chess piece if they do not place the king in check at every opportunity to do so .


What is a bad bishop in chess?

A bishop become 'bad' when the diagnols are closed by pawn blockages its a good idea to exchange them for equal pieces since you can't do much with a bad bishop but nothing can be taken as a rule of thumb it all depends on the position. Sometimes even a pawn is powerful than a queen.


How can a pawn take another pawn?

There are generally two ways:- 1. Conventional rule: in which a pawn facing diagonally and closest to other pawn( of different colour), it can capture that pawn and acquire its position. 2. En Passant: It is french method which has been prevailing in International format of Chess. When the pawn is placed in initial position and facing the second pawn( of different colour) in conventional way( as mentioned in first method), suppose it moves two squares to avoid clash; however, second pawn can capture it by considering the first pawn 's move only by single square and acquire position one square less to the movement of first pawn.


Is there any 16 moves rule in chess game?

No. There is a 50 move rule, however


How many spaces can a stalemate move in chess?

The Fifty-Move Rule : the fifty move rule is among the least understood rules in chess . This rule essentially states that if no progress is made after fifty moves by both players then the game is declared a draw . Progress is defined by the capture of any piece, or the movement of a pawn . If fifty moves by each player are made without either of these events occurring then either player may claim a draw .


What is en passant captures in chess?

En-passent prevents a pawn from using its initial two-space move to avoid capture from an advancing pawn. Imagine a white pawn has moved to the 5th rank. The pawn in an adjacent column would open itself to capture if it moved from 7th rank to 6th, but the double move it is allowed to take would place it at the 5th rank, beside the attacker. The en-passent rule allows the white pawn in the next turn only to capture that pawn as if it were in the 6th rank. The white pawn moves diagonally to the 6th rank of that column and the black pawn is removed and captured.


Is it a victory if any of your pieces reach the opponent's last edge?

No, you only win chess if you capture your opponent's king. Note: there is a little known rule that is you can get a pawn to your opponent's edge you can promote it to any piece you want except a king.

People also asked