answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The pawn has the power of capturing any Chess piece .

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2012-03-10 04:13:24
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Can you castle through check

What is the notation of kingside castling

What is step 1

➑️
See all cards
β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…
No Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a pawn take anyother piece in chess?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What can a pawn take out in chess?

A pawn can take any oponents piece


Can a pawn take every chess piece?

Yes, it can but, it is highly unlikely.


What takes out what in chess?

its very simple, as long as your piece can "legally" take your oponents, it can take it. eg a pawn can take a queen, a pawn is the least desired piece and a queen is the most valuable.


Can you take queens in chess?

Yes, even the Queen, the most powerful piece on the chess board may be caprtured by any other piece, even the lowly pawn.


Do you get a piece back when you take out a queen in chess?

you get one of your pawns to the other side of the board. then, you can take what ever piece you lost in the beginning. (besides a nother pawn)


When you get a piece back where does it go in chess?

If you get a piece back by moving a pawn to the enemy's side it would originally take the place of the pawn, yet some people play (with modified rules) that the piece is taken back to the person's own side (the person that got across the board with the pawn). In professional chess (such as tournaments) plays in the way that if a pawn is to cross to the enemy's side, that pawn becomes a queen.


Can you take a queen with a rook in chess?

You may capture a queen with any piece, be it a rook, a pawn, or even a king.


In the game chess what is the special exception of taking en-passant?

En-passant happens when the opponent moves a pawn up two squares, and only the turn immediately after the pawn moves, next to one of your pawns. Then, you take diagonally to the unoccupied space behind his/her pawn and remove his piece. It is the only chess move where the capturer does not take the opponent's piece's place.


Can you take one of your pieces in a chess game?

No - the only time you can replace a piece is when you have advanced your pawn to the end of the board and you have the option of promoting that piece to any other chessmen other than with the king itself . You may not 'take' one of your chess pieces .


Do you only get the chess piece whose square you land on?

Almost always, this is true; you only get the chess piece whose square you land on. An exception is called 'en passant', and even here you get to take a piece by landing on the square the piece just moved over. It is a special move involving Pawn takes Pawn that you would have to read about before using.


Can you take up an apponents piece in chess without moving?

Yes, you can. There is a move called "en passant" that enables you to take a pawn without moving. If the opponent's pawn jumps two spaces in its first move to avoid being taken by your pawn, "en passant" is in effect and you can take his pawn.


Can the king take a pawn?

ya!if its wrong i'm sorry. I love chess

People also asked