answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

It isn't a hit. It is a fielders choice.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-08-06 19:33:23
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is a batter given a hit if he hits a ball to shortstop and shortstop can not throw out hitter but throws out runner at 3rd in a rundown from 2nd base instead of throwing to 1st?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Can you charge a hitter with a fielder's choice if there is not a force out at a base?

Yes. For example, runner on 2nd, batter hits ground ball to the shortstop, who, instead of throwing to first, throws to third base in an attempt to get the runner. The batter is charged with reaching first on a fielder's choice, even if the runner is safe or out.


If a runner trying to advance to third unforced with two outs is tagged out after the batter has reached first base by the shortstop on a ball hit into the hole does the batter receive a hit?

no hit, assume runner trying to keep defensive player from throwing to first base.


What is fly 6?

This may be a shorthand way of stating that a batter hit a fly ball to the shortstop. In baseball scoring (on scorecards), the abbreviation for the shortstop is "6".


Batter is to offense as shortstop is to?

catch


What is batters interference at home plate when catcher is throwing down to 3rd base?

Batter's Interference is if the batter in question steps in the way of the Catcher that'll prevent him from throwing to a base.


Is batter awarded an rbiif he hits a single with a runner on third and the runner scores after rundown between 3rd and home?

yes


Can a pitcher switch from left-handed to right-handed or vice versa to the same batter?

YES ... this has happened in MLB game ... the batter batted on the left so the pitcher switched throwing hands when the batter seen that pitcher had swished throwing hands the batter switched batting sides ... as the batter swiched side the pitcher swiched his throwing arm ... this happened so much that the umpire had to tell the pitcher and batter to stop delaying the game and pick a side/arm ...


What does 'A' stand for in a box score?

'A' stands for Assist and is a defensive statistic. Players are given assists when they help in getting a runner out but do not actually make the putout. For example, if a batter hits a ground ball to the shortstop and the shortstop throws thebatter out at first base, the shortstop is credited with an assist and the first baseman is credited with a putout.


What is the rule for throwing bat in little league?

the batter is out


Is it a hit for the batter when an infielder holds the ball instead of throwing it to a base to get an out?

If he catches the ball on the fly he is out. If he fields a ground ball and does no throw to first he is safe. If he pops up and the umpire rules "infield fly" he is out.


Can the catcher touch the batter while throwing to 3RD base?

The catcher is allowed to touch the batter while throwing to any base. However, the batter must not move into the catcher's path. If the batter does and the catcher makes contact with the batter, it is called as Interference. If Interference is called during a steal attempt, the runner must go back to their original base.


If a runner is on third base with one out and you hit a grounder to second why are you charged with an at-bat if the runner scores?

The fielder made a decision to throw the batter out at first instead of throwing the runner out at home. This is considered a fielders choice.


Does the batter get an RBI if he bats into a fielders choice and a runner scores?

Yes. There are only a few times that a batter helps a teammate score but does not get an RBI. Example 1: Bases loaded, 0 outs, batter grounds into double play 2nd baseman to first baseman, runner at third scores. The batter is not credited with an RBI. Example 2: Runner on 3rd, 2 outs, batter hits a routine groundball to shortstop, but the shortstop makes an erro. The batter is not credited with an RBI because if the ball was played cleanly the run would not have scored.


What constitutes batter interference when a catcher throws to third base attempting to throw out a base stealer?

If the batter attempts to block the catcher from throwing to third base, or if the batters obstructs the catcher in the process of throwing to third base.


What is the scoring if you cannot assume an IF could get the batter but the runner makes a delayed attempt to advance on a bobbled ball and gets thrown out or caught in a rundown?

fielders choice


Can a batter be awarded first base if the umpire feels that the pitcher is intentionally throwing at him?

No.


What is the penalty for throwing an illegal pitch in baseball?

The penalty for throwing an illegal pitch is awarding a ball to the batter's count, warning the pitcher and announcing the action publicly.


What is the act of throwing a baseball to a batter?

The physical action of throwing a baseball to a batter is known as "Pitching." The act of pitching, throwing the ball to the batter, is regulated by many rules dependent on the situation. For instance, there are 2 types of windups, the "Stretch" and the "Full Windup" which starting pitchers will use both types depending if runners are on base and which base they occuppy, but "relief pitchers" will normally use the stretch position regardless of the situation.


What does strikeout mean in baseball?

It means when the pitcher gets the batter out himself by throwing 3 strikes, either by the batter swinging and missing, or by the ball being in the strike zone and the batter not swigning


What does A means in baseball fielding?

"A" is the abbreviation for an "Assist", a scoring record of a fielder who throws out a runner, such as a ground ball to short and the batter is thrown out at first, the shortstop is credited with an Assist. Two "Assist" may sometimes be credited, such as when the ball is hit to the outfield, the outfielder may throw to another fielder who then throws the baserunner out. In that case both players involved in throwing out the runner is credited with an "Assist".


Can a pitcher switch from throwing right handed to left handed during a single at bat?

The pitcher has to establish which hand he will be throwing with before a batter steps into the batters box.


Who takes the throw at second base on a double steal?

it would be the same as a regular steal. if a left handed batter is up then the shortstop would take the throw, if a right handed batter is up then the second baseman would get the throw


Most pitches thrown to one batter?

Shortstop Rickey Gutierrez holds the record for most pitches seen in an at-bat. The amount of pitches was 20 total.


Does batter have to leave box for play at plate?

If it is an attempted steal of home, or if it is a suicide squeeze play, the batter has the right to be in the batter's box in order to attempt to hit the pitched ball. However, he may not remain there after the attempt if a play is subsequently being made at the plate (for example, on a passed ball, or if the runner on 3rd base is in a rundown).


Why don't lefties play short stop?

I dont really know that there is a good reason why lefties don't play shortstop. One reason could be that, on balls hit in the hole between short and third, the lefty would wind up throwing across their body to first base meaning it would take an extra fraction of a second and the batter may be able to beat out the play and get on base.