answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-06-21 00:27:04
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a batter be awarded first base if the umpire feels that the pitcher is intentionally throwing at him?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What if pitcher hits batter?

If the pitcher hits the batter on a pitch then the batter is awarded first base. However if the batter swings at the ball and it hits her then it is a strike


A pitcher faces a batter no pitch is thrown yet the batter goes to first base?

One Answer:This is called a balk i believe Another Answer:In MLB, there are some rules that, upon violation by the pitcher, the umpire can award a "ball" to the batter. So, theoretically, if the pitcher violates these rules 4 times in succession, the batter would be awarded first base without a pitch being thrown. Note: the batter is not awarded a "ball" when the pitcher balks, nor is he awarded first base; this may have been the rule years ago, but it is not the rule today. Also, some youth and recreational leagues have a rule that, if a pitcher intentionally walks a batter, the next batter has the choice of being awarded first base or of taking his normal time at bat.


Can a pitcher switch from left-handed to right-handed or vice versa to the same batter?

YES ... this has happened in MLB game ... the batter batted on the left so the pitcher switched throwing hands when the batter seen that pitcher had swished throwing hands the batter switched batting sides ... as the batter swiched side the pitcher swiched his throwing arm ... this happened so much that the umpire had to tell the pitcher and batter to stop delaying the game and pick a side/arm ...


What do you get when you pitch up and in?

If I am the pitcher who pitches up and in, I might hit a batter or get warned for throwing at a batter if the umpire thinks it was done intentionally. If I am the batter who gets the pitch up and in I am probably "brushed back" off the plate, and maybe even hit.


What would get you a walk in baseball?

If the pitcher throws four "balls", the batter is awarded first base (a "walk"). Sometimes, the batter is intentionallywalked as a strategic move. And if the pitcher hits the batter with a pitch, the batter is awarded first base, although that is not usually called a walk.


If the pitcher hits the batters hand with the ball is the batter awarded a base?

yes


Can a balk be called if a pitcher stops his throw due to a batter awarded time out?

A balk can only be called when the ball is live. If a batter has been awarded time out, then play has stopped, and a balk is impossible. It's safer for the pitcher to complete the pitch, just in case the batter isn't awarded time out.


Can a pitcher switch from throwing right handed to left handed during a single at bat?

The pitcher has to establish which hand he will be throwing with before a batter steps into the batters box.


When a pitcher is intentionally walking a batter can the batter step over the plate to make contact with the ball?

No, if a batter steps out of the batters box and makes contact with the ball, he is out.


What is the penalty for throwing an illegal pitch in baseball?

The penalty for throwing an illegal pitch is awarding a ball to the batter's count, warning the pitcher and announcing the action publicly.


In what kind of sports does a pitcher have role?

The pitcher is most dominant in the game of baseball. The pitcher is responsible for throwing the baseball towards the batter and thus initiating each and every play with his or her pitch.


What does strikeout mean in baseball?

It means when the pitcher gets the batter out himself by throwing 3 strikes, either by the batter swinging and missing, or by the ball being in the strike zone and the batter not swigning

People also asked