This depends on the situation. If the fielder threw to get the runner out and the batter reached 1st due to this, then it would be considered a sacrafice by ruling it a Fielders Choice, and no hit or error would be charged. If the batter bunted and had good placement and was able to reach 1st due to a good bunt and beating the throw, then it would be considered a hit
A line is drawn along the first baseline for the batter and a FC (Fielder's Choice) is assigned to them. In the same box, a 1-2 is written. A line is drawn from 3rd to home in the runners box and the box is filled in to show that the runner has scored.
Its Fielders choice, and an infield hit. An error can be recorded if the play could have been executed but was not due to a bad throw or other circumstance. If no error occurs, it is a Fielder's Choice, however, if, in the Official Scorers judgement, the batter would have been retired with normal effort, the batter should be credited with a Sacrifice Hit. If, in the scorers judgement, the runner would have beat the throw to first with normal effort by the fielder, he should be credited with a hit, otherwise, no hit should be credited to the batter. Under normal circumstances, in the question as stated, it should be recorded as a Fielders Choice and Sacrifice (officially called a Sacrifice Hit) by the batter.
No, it is scored as a ground out and the batter is credited with an RBI.
In my opinion, if the pitcher who is responsible for the batter being on second base to begin with, then I believe it is an earned run...
Yes, The Batter is counted an RBI for every run he bats in regardless of whether he was safe or not.
No, it is not considered a sacrifice unless the batter is advanced as a result of a bunt. Also, a fly ball that is caught is only considered a sacrifice if a runner tags and scores on the play. If a runner tags at 1B or 2B on the caught fly ball, and advances one base, it is not considered a sacrifice fly.
Batter is safe at first base, runner on third scores a run.
ed Parker isn't
No. The only way it is a sacrifice is if the ball is hit in the air and the runner has to tag-up to advance home. The batter is only given an rbi because he did not sacrifice his at bat to score the runner from 3rd.
A sacrifice fly is credited to the batter only if a run scores. A runner who moves from second to third base does not result in a sacrifice fly for the batter. A sacrifice fly is not counted as a time at bat [batter is 0 for 0] and the batter is credited with [at least 1] a run batted in. The bobble is a moot point as the runner can tag up and run upon the first touch by the fielder. Otherwise, an outfielder could intentionally bobble/juggle a ball all the way back to the infield.
The fielder made a decision to throw the batter out at first instead of throwing the runner out at home. This is considered a fielders choice.
The batter could be credited with an RBI if, in the scorers judgment the base runner would have scored had there not been any overthrows (errors). For example, the batten singles and the runner is on third and scores, then the overthrows occur. The batter is credited with one RBI. In your original question, the batter would, in no case, be credited with an RBI on his own score.
Yes. If a runner crosses home plate before the third out is made (unless it's a force out), the run counts. For example, say the Yankees have runner on third with two outs. The batter hits a ball to the gap in right center. The runner scores, but the batter is thrown out at third trying to stretch a double into a triple. Since the runner on third crossed home plate before the batter was out at third, the run counts. On a force play (at any base) the runner would not be allowed to score even if he crosses the plate before the force is made.
It depends on what the count on the batter is when he is thrown out. If there are 2 strikes on the batter and his substitute gets struck out, the at-bat is contributed to the first batter. Otherwise, all stats will be awarded to the substitute batter.