Best Answer

No, it is not considered a sacrifice unless the batter is advanced as a result of a bunt. Also, a fly ball that is caught is only considered a sacrifice if a runner tags and scores on the play. If a runner tags at 1B or 2B on the caught fly ball, and advances one base, it is not considered a sacrifice fly.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

No. A sacrifice is only recorded on a fly ball or a bunt. There is no such thing as a "sacrifice ground out".

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

No, it is a ground out RBI.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a player hits the ball to the right side of the infield so that the runner on third could score is that considered a sacrifice?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

In NCAA baseball a batter bunts with a runner on second base and advances him to third is this a sacrifice?

Yes it is considered a sacrifice.

After an infield single and a wild throw can the runner be tagged out for attempting to go to second without crossing the first base line?

No. If the runner doesn't cross the first base/right field line they cannot be considered attempting to go to second base.

Can a baseball player catch an infield fly - where the ump has declared an infield fly - then throw to a base that a runner hasn't tagged up to yet and get a double play?

As soon as the ump calls the infield fly rule, the batter is out, but the runners can still advance at their own risk. To answer your question specifically, no, the fielder can't do that - that is the exact result that the infield fly rule was enacted to prevent! Usually when they call the infield fly rule, the baserunners go back to the bases relatively quickly, because the play is over.

Is it scored as a fielders choice if the infield attempt to throw the runner at second out is unsuccessful?

Nope. It's a stolen base.

What happens when a fly ball hit to the first baseman is dropped with a runner on first base?

Nothing in your situation. Only maybe if there is less than two outs and at least another runner on second. If there is less than two outs, the infield fly rule applies. The runner should stay on first base. The batsman would be out anyway. That is the purpose of the infield fly rule. It was put in when Ty Cobb had a similar situation. He was playing short stop. There were runners on first and second. A batter hit a pop up toward him. He yelled, "I got it." The runners stayed on first and second. He dropped the ball. Tagged the runner on second. Stepped on the base, and threw the ball to first for a triple play. Then baseball put in the infield fly rule. If there is a popup in the infield with zero or 1 outs, and runners on base that would be forced out, the batter is out and the runner should not advance.

Is a running out at second base on a infield fly rule if the ball hits the runner while standing on the base?

No, as long as he is on the base he is safe

Is it considered an at bat if a player gets put out by a ground ball if a runner on third also scores?


What is the ruling where the runner interferes with a fielder trying to catch an Infield Fly Rule Pop-up?

The runner is also out and the ball is dead. All runners go back to previous bases.

What is a infield fly rule in softball?

An 'infield fly' is a term in baseball where the ball shoots extremely high and is caught in the infield. This is important because it prevents a 'sacrifice fly' which would be a fly ball in the outfield where a base runner could possibly advance. It is also a rule in softball. If the ump calls "infield fly" then its an automatic out if there are runners on 1st and second with less than 2 outs or if bases are loaded with less than 2 outs. It is there so the team cannot get all three outs out of one play. If you leave the base after the ball has hit the mit of an infielder or has touched the ground you are at your own risk and is considered a steal.

An action by a batter that advances the runner to another base resulting in the batter being put out?

The action is called a sacrifice. The batter may bunt the ball to move a runner to scoring position. The batter may hit a fly ball into the outfield so that the runner on third can tag up and cross the plate. The batter may hit a ball that goes to a certain part of the infield where the only play the fielder can make is to first.

In the game of baseball if there is a runner on third base with less than two outs and the batter purposely hits the ball to the right side to score the run is that considered a sacrifice?

No. By definition it is not a sacrifice unless the batter is out. The correct answer is yes. The runner can reach base during a sacrifice on a throwing error or a fielders choice.

Hit to right side go to third from second base?

I think this question is referring to hitting behind a baserunner to advance them? With a runner on second base if a hitter can hit the ball on the ground to the right side of the infield the runner on second base should be able to advance to third because the obvious play is to first for the out. Like a sacrifice, but not entirely, because there is a chance for a basehit.