answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No. The only way it is a sacrifice is if the ball is hit in the air and the runner has to tag-up to advance home. The batter is only given an rbi because he did not sacrifice his at bat to score the runner from 3rd.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-05-10 16:38:15
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: There is one out a runner is on third and the batter grounds out to shortstop and the runner scores this is recorded as a rbi but is this a sacrifice as well?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is it a sacrifice if a runner is on third with one out and the batter grounds out to second base with the runner on third scoring?

Most official scorers won't record that as a sacrifice but it could be recorded as one.


Batter is to offense as shortstop is to?

Defense


Does the batter get an RBI if he bats into a fielders choice and a runner scores?

Yes. There are only a few times that a batter helps a teammate score but does not get an RBI. Example 1: Bases loaded, 0 outs, batter grounds into double play 2nd baseman to first baseman, runner at third scores. The batter is not credited with an RBI. Example 2: Runner on 3rd, 2 outs, batter hits a routine groundball to shortstop, but the shortstop makes an erro. The batter is not credited with an RBI because if the ball was played cleanly the run would not have scored.


What is fly 6?

This may be a shorthand way of stating that a batter hit a fly ball to the shortstop. In baseball scoring (on scorecards), the abbreviation for the shortstop is "6".


If a batter grounds out to second base and a runner advances is the batter charged a time at bat?

Yes.


Is a batter given a hit if he hits a ball to shortstop and shortstop can not throw out hitter but throws out runner at 3rd in a rundown from 2nd base instead of throwing to 1st?

It isn't a hit. It is a fielders choice.


Does a sacrifice bunt count as an at bat?

No, a successful sacrifice bunt does not count as an at bat. If the bunt is unsuccessful, the batter is charged with an at bat. Similarly, if the batter beats out the play and is awarded a hit, an at bat is counted. Sacrifice flies, walks, and getting hit by pitch also do not count as at bats. All of these are recorded as Plate Appearances.


What does 'A' stand for in a box score?

'A' stands for Assist and is a defensive statistic. Players are given assists when they help in getting a runner out but do not actually make the putout. For example, if a batter hits a ground ball to the shortstop and the shortstop throws thebatter out at first base, the shortstop is credited with an assist and the first baseman is credited with a putout.


What is considered a plate appearance in baseball?

A completed turn in the batter's box. This could result in a hi,walk, sacrifice fly. sacrifice bunt, hit by pitch, or catchers interference. The at bat is not a plate appearance if the 3rd out is recorded before the batter has done one of the above. The batter would lead off the next inning with a 0-0 count.


If an interference is called on the batter does the batter get an at bat?

If a batter is called out for interference, it will be recorded as a put-out by the catcher and will go against the batter's batting average.


Can a batter reach base on a sacrifice bunt?

No. By definition it is not a sacrifice unless the batter is out. The correct answer is yes. The runner can reach base during a sacrifice on a throwing error or a fielders choice.


How do you score an infield error in baseball?

In the scorebook, the notation is 'E' followed by the number of the fielder who made the error (1-pitcher, 2-catcher, 3-first baseman, 4-second baseman, 5-third baseman, 6 shortstop). The batter is charged with an at bat unless the error came on a play where the batter was attempting a sacrifice bunt.


How many players can be on a softball field?

9, not including the batter. BATTER CATCHER PITCHER 1ST BASE 2ND BASE 3RD BASE SHORTSTOP OUTFIELDER: LEFT OUTFIELDER: CENTER OUTFIELDER: RIGHT


Does the batter get a sacrifice if the runner on first tags and goes to second?

Yes as long as the runner advances Assuming you mean the runner tags up on a fly ball and advances to second, it is not scored as a sacrifice, but, simply as a fly out and the batter is charged with a time at bat. If the batter bunt a ground ball, the runner would not be required to "tag up" to advance and the batter would be credited with a sacrifice. If the batter is attempting a sacrifice bunt and pops up and the runner, tags up and somehow advances to second the batter is not credited with a sacrifice.


What is it scored as if a batter attempts a sac bunt with men on first and second and the fielder tries to get out the lead runner and everyone is safe with no error?

Its Fielders choice, and an infield hit. An error can be recorded if the play could have been executed but was not due to a bad throw or other circumstance. If no error occurs, it is a Fielder's Choice, however, if, in the Official Scorers judgement, the batter would have been retired with normal effort, the batter should be credited with a Sacrifice Hit. If, in the scorers judgement, the runner would have beat the throw to first with normal effort by the fielder, he should be credited with a hit, otherwise, no hit should be credited to the batter. Under normal circumstances, in the question as stated, it should be recorded as a Fielders Choice and Sacrifice (officially called a Sacrifice Hit) by the batter.


Most pitches thrown to one batter?

Shortstop Rickey Gutierrez holds the record for most pitches seen in an at-bat. The amount of pitches was 20 total.


Who takes the throw at second base on a double steal?

it would be the same as a regular steal. if a left handed batter is up then the shortstop would take the throw, if a right handed batter is up then the second baseman would get the throw


Does the runner at third run scored count when there is one out and batter hits into a double play?

The only way that run would count is if it were not a continuous double play... For example, if the batter grounds into a routine double play, the run does not score... but if the batter were to fly out and another runner tries to tag up, and advance from 1st the second, or from 2nd to 3rd, and is thrown out in the process, as long as the runner for 3rd crosses home plate before the out is recorded, it counts. To simplify the answer a bit... If the double play occurs with both outs being recorded on force outs, no run scores. If there are multiple outs recorded, but are not force outs, the run scores as long as the runner crosses before the out is recorded.


Is a batter charged an official at-bat when he hits a Sacrifice Fly?

no


What is the rule in baseball if you skip a batter?

If the wrong batter completes the at bat, then the skipped batter is recorded as an out. If it is noticed prior to the completion of the at bat the skipped batter assumes the count of the at bat and completes with no additional penalties.


Is an out recorded if there are less than two outs and the batter safely makes it to first base on a passed ball third strike with first base unoccupied?

No out is recorded. The batter is safe at first, error charged to catcher.


Does the run count when a batter bunts and the runner on third scores before the first baseman tags the batter for the third out?

No, because the third out was made on the same play. It is no different than if the batter hits a ground ball to the shortstop or any other infielder and is thrown out at first base for the third out. However, if there are two outs and there is a runner on third and the batter hits a single into left field but is thrown out at second when attempting to turn the play into a double and the runner on third makes it home before the third out at second is recorded, the run does count. Hope that isn't too confusing.


Runners are on 3rd and 1st. The ball is hit to the 2nd baseman. The shortstop covers the bag and the batter reaches 1st before the throw reaches 1st base. The runner at 3rd scores. Is it an at bat?

Yes. The batter would be credited with an at bat and an RBI.


In NCAA baseball a batter bunts with a runner on second base and advances him to third is this a sacrifice?

Yes it is considered a sacrifice.


Does an infield error in baseball count as an at bat?

It counts as an at bat in all cases except the sacrifice. If a batter attempts a sacrifice bunt and one of the infielders makes an error when fielding or throwing the ball, the batter is credited with a sacrifice and no time at bat.