answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

A fly ball that advances a runner from second to third is not counted as a sacrifice fly, and it does count as an at bat. Unless a runner scores on a fly ball, the batter is charged with an at bat.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-09-23 10:14:01
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does a sacrifice fly that advances a runner from second to third count as an at bat?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Does a sacrifice bunt count as an at bat if they make an error at first base but you moved the runner to second base?

no


What is a walk?

4 pitched balls that are not strikes. runner advances to first base. does not count as an at bat or a hit.


If a hitter executes a sacrifice bunt advancing a runner to second or third base but no run scores does this count as an at bat when scoring?

No, a bunt that is scored as a sacrifice is never charged as an at-bat.


Does the run count if when bases loaded the runner crosses the plat before runner is forced out at second base?

no


In fastpitch softball does it count as a stolen base when the runner advances on a pass ball?

Advancing on a passed ball does not count as a stolen base unless runner was already in the act of stealing the base, in that case it is a stolen base.


Is it scored a sacrifice fly if you move a runner up but don' t score him?

AnswerNo. Unless the runner scores, it is NOT a sacrafice fly. If a batter flies out while a runner is on either 1st or 2nd base, tags up and advances to the next base, it is simply ruled as a flyout with the runner advancing, and the "at bat" will still be charged to the batter. A sacrafice fly scores the runner after he tags up, the batter does not get charged with an "at bat", and he also gets credit for a run batted in (RBI).I disagree. If a batter bunts and the runner advances, it is a sacrifice. So it would stand to reason that if you fly out, and the runner advances, then it would be as well.To Above:It's not a matter of disagreeing, it's a matter of MLB rules as designated by the rulebook. A sacrifice fly is not the same as a sacrifice bunt, a hit is only a sacrifice fly if the runner can tag and score. The reason being that a sacrifice fly is not scored as an official at-bat due to it's strategic value, thus it doesn't count against your batting average; since it's impossible to determine whether or not a batter is going long for strategy, or just swinging for the bleachers, you thus only get the sacrifice if the runner scores, all other fly-balls count against your average. A bunt is far more obvious in it's intent to move a runner, thus a bunt that moves a runner is a sacrifice.


What is the call if you have runners on second and third with one out and a fly ball is hit to the outfield and is caught. The runner on third base tags up and scores. The runner on second base does n?

It's a sacrifice fly. The batter is credited with an RBI, and the at-bat does not count against his batting average. The runner on second is inconsequential to the scoring decision.


A batter hits a ball to SS with a man on 2nd. He gets thrown out at 1st but advances the runner to 3rd does this count as an at bat towards his batting average or is it a sacrifice hit?

This is simply an out. Sacrifices are only given to bunts that advance all runners or fly outs where a runner scores.


If there are two outs in the inning and there is a person on second with a full count and he steals and the batter walks can the runner get thrown out at third?

The runner on second base can be thrown out provided that first base is empty


If a runner is hit with the ball by a miss throw by to the second base man is the runner out?

No. To force an out, the defensive player has to touch the runner with the ball or touch the runner with the glove while the ball is in the glove. A thrown ball touching a runner does not count.


If there are runners on second and third and two outs and the runner from second tries to score on a single but is called out on an appeal does the first run count?

yes, whenever there is 2 outs and a person tries to score and makes it but the other runner gets out the run doesn't count.


Does the run count if it is made before an out is called?

A run counts if the runner crossed the plate legally and before the third out. If the runner crosses the plate even a half-second before the third out is tagged on the basepaths, then the run counts. If the out is made a half-second before the runner crosses the plate, then the run does not count. One exception is that with two outs the runner cannot score until all forced runners have reached their bases safely. That is, if the batter-runner is thrown out at first even after the runner crossed the plate, then the run does not count. Same thing if a runner is thrown out at second or third base (on a force-play only).


What is SAC in scoring baseball?

A sacrifice fly or when a batter flies out and a runner tags up and scores this doesnt count as an at bat


Runners on third and second fielder's choice runner tagged going to third base the run that was on third crossed the plate before the tag does the run count?

No, the play was completed. It would count if the original play was not completed and the runner on second ran back to second, causing a run down and tag as a secondary play. -----Yes, the run counts. The only situation where a run doesn't count when a runner crosses home plate before the third out is recorded is on a force play. For example: the bases are loaded and there are two out. The batter hits a single to right field. The runner from third base scores. The runner on first heads for second and halfway there turns an ankle and falls to the ground. If the right fielder can get the ball back into second before the runner gets up and makes it to second, the runner is out on a force play and all runs that scored before the third out was recorded are disallowed. But, in your question, there is no force play involved therefore the run would count.


If a runner does not touch third base but touches home are they out or does the run count?

It depends. If the runner hit a home run, and missed third he would be sent back to second base. If the runner was on second base to start and missed third he would be out. However, even if the umpire sees a runner miss a base the runner is not penalized unless the opposing team appeals.


Runners on first and third one out fly ball caught and runner on first goes to second without tagging up and is thrown out at first does the run count?

No. On any play if there is a force out on any base, the run scoring does not count. If the runner on first tagged up and then was tagged out at second, while trying to advance, and the runner touched home plate before the runner was tagged out at second then the run would have counted. The above answer is incorrect. The run does count because it is technically not a force out. It goes under the off the base category. The runner is returning to the bag, he is not forced to proceed to the next bag which negates the run from scoring.


Two outs runner on 1st and 3rd-- SS fields ball and elects to tag 1B runner rather than touch second base-- 3B runner scores prior to tag--Does run count even though it was a force out situation?

The run would not count since the fielder tagged a runner out during the batter's run to 1st base. It makes no difference where the runner who was on 3rd base is at.


Does the run count on the third out?

no it does not count, even if the plate is touched by the runner the run still does not count!


Does the run count if while runners on second and third the runner on third crosses the plate while the third baseman tags the man coming from second to third for the third out on a ground ball?

The run will count if the runner on third crosses the plate before the runner on second gets taged out. All force place end the inning without any runs scoring, however, all tag plays end the inning at the time of the third out.


Does a sac fly count as an at bat?

No, a sacrifice fly does not count as an official at-bat, in order to have an at-bat scored as a sac fly though a runner must advance home safely on your fly ball


Does the run count if the the runner crosses home before the final out is committed on a runner who is tagged running to first base?

Yes it does count because the runner crossed home before the final out.!


In baseball if there is a runner at thrid with two outs and scores but the batter get out at first does the run count?

the run doesnt count because it depends on if the runner is safe. but if he gets out the runner does not get counted with the run.


With runners on first and third the batter hits a ground ball to the second baseman who tags the runner going to second base before he reaches it does the run count?

Not if that is the 3rd out in the inning...even if he tagged him after the runner reached home... now if the runner over ran the bag and was then tagged the run would count... But in the case of a force out or fielders choice to end the inning the run would not count. It doesn't matter whether the out was recorded by stepping on the base or by tagging the runner. The important thing is that the runner did not reach the base to which he was forced to run. The same would be true if the batter was tagged out while running to first.


With the bases loaded and 2 out a ball is hit to SS. The runner scores before the SS tags the runner from second. Does the run count?

yes it does But in the situation where the ball is thrown to first base witch would be a force out, even if the 3rd base runner has scored the run does not count! ----------------------------------------------------------------------- WRONG. The run cannot count if the third out was made on a batter/runner before he reaches a base he was force to advance to. Doesn't matter if he was tagged or the ball was thrown to the base.


What does a time play mean in baseball mean?

The best example I can give of a 'timed play' is when the pitcher attempts to pick off a runner at second base. The catcher will give a signal, maybe touching his mask or pounding his fist in his glove. This signal means that at the count of two the second baseman or shortstop, whoever has the responsibility of covering the bag, will start moving towards second base and at the count of four, the pitcher will whirl around and throw to second in an attempt to pick off the runner. The pitcher cannot turn around and see that a runner is taking a big lead off of second base and attempt to pick the runner off because the runner will head back to second as soon as he sees the pitcher looking at him. So, a 'timed play' is executed ... the shortstop/second baseman sneaks to the base behind the runner's back in the hope that the runner does not notice and the pitcher suddenly whirls around and throws in the hopes that he catches the base runner off guard.