answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The runner is not out and play goes on. Rule 7.09(k) states a runner is out when:

"A fair ball touches him on fair territory before touching a fielder. If a fair ball goes through, or by, an infielder, and touches a runner immediately back of him, or touches the runner after having been deflected by a fielder, the umpire shall not declare the runner out for being touched by a batted ball. In making such decision the umpire must be convinced that the ball passed through, or by, the fielder, and that no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the runner deliberately and intentionally kicks such a batted ball on which the infielder has missed a play, then the runner shall be called out for interference"

Since the ball touched the fielder first and then the runner, play goes on.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-06-16 03:31:00
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a batted ball glances off of glove and then hits runner is the runner safe or out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

A fair batted ball strike the base runner after deflecting off the pitcher's glove?

Its a live ball


A runner not touching the base and a fielder touches him with a glove and ball is?

The runner is out as long as the fielder you touches has the ball in his glove


If a runner is hit with the ball by a miss throw by to the second base man is the runner out?

No. To force an out, the defensive player has to touch the runner with the ball or touch the runner with the glove while the ball is in the glove. A thrown ball touching a runner does not count.


Is a runner out if the fielder has the ball and his other hand in his glove when he tags the runner?

So long as the fielder has full possession of the ball the runner is considered out whether the ball is in the glove, in the bare hand, or in the glove covered with the bare hand.


When a player steals and the fielder tags runner and his glove falls off and ball stays in glove is he safe or out?

The runner would be safe. This is the same as if the ball were dislodged and falls out of the glove.


Is a runner out if a fielder throws the ball and hits the runner?

No. A runner is out if hit by a batted ball but not out if hit by a thrown ball.


What is the penalty for a fielder throwing his glove at a batted or thrown ball?

MLB Rule 7.05(c) rules about throwing a glove at a fair ball: Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance " Three bases, if a fielder deliberately throws his glove at and touches a fair ball. The ball is in play and the batter may advance to home base at his peril ". MLB Rule 7.05(e) rules about throwing a glove at a thrown ball: Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance " Two bases, if a fielder deliberately throws his glove at and touches a thrown ball. The ball is in play; "


Fielder throws his glove at a batted ball but does not touch the ball what's the ruling?

The ball is live and in play. There is no penalty unless the glove touches the batted ball.


If a fielder has the ball in their hand and tags the runner with the empty glove is the runner out?

No, the runner would not be out. The fielder would have had to have tagged the runner with the ball itself or with the ball was in the glove in order for the runner to be out. For more clarification: "A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove; or touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove" This is directly from the Major League rules. Tagging is not just tagging a runner off base. Tagging can also be throwing a runner out as per Major League rules. http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/official_info/official_rules/runner_7.jsp Read rule 7.08


Is the Runner out if he is hit by a batted ball after it passes infielder?

The runner is out if he is hit by a batted ball if it does not touch the infielder. If it touches the infielder, he is not out.


Is runner out if fielder does not field the ball and the runner is then hit by the ball?

If a runner in fair territory is struck by a batted ball prior to the ball having been fielded, the runner is out.


When a batted ball hits a runner?

If a batted ball hits a runner, the ball is dead. The runner is out and any other runners return to the base they started on. The batter must re-bat.

People also asked