No...as soon as the batted ball touches the runner, the ball is dead.
The batter is out unless a fielder touched the ball
If a batted ball that a fielder has no chance to field hits a runner, the runner is called out and the batter is credited with a single.
on a batted ball the fielder has the right of way if the fielder is in the basepath and the ball isn't near him the runner has the right of way
No. If a fielder has a legitimate opportunity to make an attempt at the ball, but the ball passes the fielder and then touches the runner, he is not out. The rules state a runner is out when a batted ball touches him before it passes a fielder.
No, the batter is not out. The runner could be out though. For example in Little League if the runner touches the ball before it goes by a fielder, the runner is out. (The pitcher does not count as a fielder for the purpose of the rule) The runner is not out if he/she is touching a base.
If the fielder catches the ball and, during the motion of reaching into the glove to grab the ball to throw, the ball drops to the ground the batter is called out. As long as the fielder has complete control of the ball before attempting to throw, the umpire will call the batter out.
It's a judgment call. I think the answer is this: A play is scored as a fielder's choice if, in the official scorer's judgment, the fielder had a clear opportunity to throw the batter/runner out at first, but instead chose to putout another baserunner. So I suppose a batted ball is scored as a force out if the fielder has no realistic chance (in the scorer's eyes) to get the batter/runner out at first and his only choice is to tag another runner or throw to another base.
No. If a batted ball is touched by a defensive player before it touches a runner, the ball is live and the runner is not out. Also, if a batted ball passes a fielder that could make a play on the ball and touches a runner, the ball is live and the runner is not out. This situation is very rare and would only occur when the infield is playing in and are in front of the runner(s).
he is out
If the fielder has fielded a ball and has it in his possesion yes. If the fielder is in the path of the base and does not have the ball, the answer is no New answer: The fielder may enter the base path to field a BATTED ball and the runner must avoid contact whether the fielder has possession or not. The above answer is correct for a thrown ball only. (ie. the third baseman cannot position himself on the basepath while waiting for a throw from left field while the runner is advancing from 1st to 3rd on a hit.
Fielder has the right to occupy the territory necessary to field the ball, runner must give right of way to the fielder. In this case, runner is out.
A fielder's choice is when a fielder has choosen to make an out on another runner on base when he could of gotten the batter/runner out instead. The batter/runner is safe, therefore reaching base via a fielder's choice. Please note that this counts as an at-bat and goes against the batter's batting average.