answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No. To force an out, the defensive player has to touch the runner with the ball or touch the runner with the glove while the ball is in the glove. A thrown ball touching a runner does not count.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-05-08 14:46:10
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Softball

24 cards

What is the function of the heart

From what country did the Munich Massacre hostages originate

In what year did the Munich Massacre take place

How do you take an accurate pulse

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
3.0
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
4 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a runner is hit with the ball by a miss throw by to the second base man is the runner out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What is a good time for catchers throw from home to second base?

When the runner on first steals to second base and the pitcher has already pitched the ball, the catcher should throw the ball from home to second to get the runner who is stealing out. ^^^lololol no. Unless the pitcher's throwing a fastball the runner has a good chance of making it.


When an outfielder throws the ball to second base and the throw pulls the second baseman off the bag and the second baseman doesn't catch the ball and the runner is safe who is charged with the error?

second base man- as long as the outfielders throw was decnt and in his range. if not, well the outfielder.


When a pitcher is in the set position and his left foot crosses the pitching rubber with a runner on second base does he have to throw to second?

Assuming he is right-handed, and if there is a runner on second base, he can either throw to second base or pitch.


Is a runner out on a force out at second base if the fielder drops the ball after touching second base for the out?

Yes, if the fielder had full possession of the ball when he touched the base the runner is out.


When there is a runner on first and the batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman should the first baseman throw the ball to second?

If the first baseman has time they should tag the runner. If the runner is already too far they should throw it. If the first baseman is close to first, they should step on first and then throw the ball to the shortstop at second. Note: Tagging first base first takes away the force out at second and the runner must then be tagged. They are also allowed to return to first base.


There is a runner on 1st base with 1 out Next batter hits a ground ball to the outfield and reaches first base and runner is out at second base Does the hitter ger credited for a single?

That would depend on how the runner was retired at second base. For example, if the runner slipped and fell on his way to second base and the outfielder had the time to throw him out on a force play, the batter would not get credited with a base hit. If the runner made it to second base safely and then slipped rounding the bag and the outfielder threw to second base and the runner was tagged out, the batter would be credited with a base hit. If a runner is forced out at any base, regardless of where the ball was hit, the batter is not credited with a base hit.


Do runners have to advance on a ground ball?

That depends on whether a runner is forced to vacate a base when a ground ball is hit. If there is a runner on first base and a ground ball is hit, the runner is forced to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. If there is also a runner on second base, that runner is forced to run to third because the runner from first is running to second. If a runner is not forced to run, they do not have to. If there are runners on first base and third base and a ground ball is hit, the runner at first is forced to run to second because the batter is running to first. But the runner on third is not forced to run because no runner is running to third base from second base.


When an outfielder attempts to throw out a runner off a basehit and his throw hits the base umpire is the ball dead?

Ball is still in play


when a runner on second base ground ball to third base and the batter is thrown out at first?

Runner stays on second base if he is smart. That is a 5 to 3 out.


Where does the ball need to be hit in order for a runner to have tag-up in basebal?

Any time a ball is caught by a fielder prior to the ball hitting the ground, with that catch not being the third out, any base runner can IN THEORY advance to the next base after the catch is made. However, if the fielder throws the ball to the base the runner is trying to get to, and the runner is tagged before reaching that base, that runner is also out. Thus, in a practical sense, the ball needs to be hit sufficiently far that the fielder, after catching the ball, could not throw the ball to the base, the runner would try to advance to, before the runner actually got to that base. That distance depends on how well the fielder can throw the ball and how fast the runner can get to the next base.


If a runner is returning to a base to tag up after a fly ball and the outfielder's throw back to the base goes out of play how many bases is the runner awarded?

Two bases from the base the runner occupied at the time the wild throw was made.


Can base runneers leave the base before the pitcher pitches the ball?

Yes. But if the runner is tagged by someone holding the ball while off the base, the runner is out. Thus, a pitcher -- or even the catcher! -- might throw the ball to the base where a runner is lazily standing too far from the base.

People also asked