Best Answer

Once a Baseball hits the foul pole, it's a home run regardless of where it goes.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a baseball hits the foul line post and is caught what happens?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

If a foul hit is caught then the batter is out?

Yes. If a foul ball is caught by a defensive player before it hits the ground the batter is out.

What happens when the batter in baseball hits a line drive off the pitchers mound and directly into the dugout?

It is called a foul

In baseball why is a batter out when he hits a fly foul ball?

I presume you meant to add "and it is caught in foul territory before it hits the ground." The batter is out because that is the rule. And it's the rule because it's the rule. I can't say any more than that.

Can you run on a foul ball?

If you are on base, and the batter hits a foul ball that is caught, and there is less than 2 outs, you may attempt to run to the next base after the ball is caught.

If a batter hits a ball in the air and it drops inside line before it reaches first base and is caught on the hop in foul territory is this fair or foul ball?

The ball is fair.If it bounces fair and the player catches it then steps in foul territory,it's fair because he touched the baseball before it went foul.

Does a base runner need to return and touch his base after the batter hits a foul ball that is not caught?

Yes he does.

Is a home run ball that lands foul a home run?

Yes, it is a home run if the baseball hits the foul pole.

When the batter hits the ball on the 3rd strict but lands directly in the catchers glove is he out?

Yea its a caught foul tip

What happens if a foul ball hits a player and he can no longer play?

Substitute plays in his spot.

Little league ball is hit and bounces back toward batter it hits batters helmet and goes out of bounds Is the batter out?

If the baseball hit the ground in foul territory, the ball is a foul ball. If the baseball hit the ground in fair territory, and the batter/runner is still in the batter's box when the baseball hits him, it is a foul ball. If the baseball hit the ground in fair territory and the batter/runner is out of the batter's box when the baseball hits him, the batter/runner is out and the ball is dead.

Can you catch a softball of the fence in softball?

No if it is a foul ball or if it hits the fence and you catch it it does not matter you still can play it if it is not foul but if it is foul and you catch it when it hits the fence they just call it a strike. Actually - you CAN catch a ball off the fence. There is no rule against it, however it will NOT be counted as an out. The fence is part of the field just like the ground. Therefore, if it hits the fence in foul or fair territory, it is played the same as if it had hit the ground before you caught it.

What happens when a fly ball hits the Foul pole?

It is a foul ball and runners return to the base they occupied at the time of the pitch. If the batter has less than two strikes, it is a strike. If the batter has two strikes, it remains two strikes, unless the batter was bunting, in which case the batter is out.