answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

This depends on the situation. If the fielder threw to get the runner out and the batter reached 1st due to this, then it would be considered a sacrafice by ruling it a Fielders Choice, and no hit or error would be charged. If the batter bunted and had good placement and was able to reach 1st due to a good bunt and beating the throw, then it would be considered a hit

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-05-05 21:50:01
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How is a bunt scored when advancing a runner but reaching first with no error from the fielder?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If there is a runner third base and he hits the ball to the shortstop and he throws to home plate and he is safe Is the batter credited with a hit or a fielder's choice?

That would be considered a fielder's choice. Answers.com defines a fielder's choice as: "A play made on a ground ball in which the fielder chooses to put out an advancing base runner, thus allowing the batter to reach first base safely." Even though, in your question, the runner was not put out at home the play would be scored a fielder's choice and the batter would be credited with an RBI.


Does a runner at third score on two outsif batter if thrown out trying to go to second base?

Yes, the runner on third base with two outs will be considered as a scored run in the event of the batter reaching first base and advancing to second base at his own risk however a fielder throws to 2B and gets the batter out however in the event of the defense recording the third out before the runner on third base scores then the run by him will not count.


What is the difference between a force out and fielder's choice?

It's a judgment call. I think the answer is this: A play is scored as a fielder's choice if, in the official scorer's judgment, the fielder had a clear opportunity to throw the batter/runner out at first, but instead chose to putout another baserunner. So I suppose a batted ball is scored as a force out if the fielder has no realistic chance (in the scorer's eyes) to get the batter/runner out at first and his only choice is to tag another runner or throw to another base.


Runner on first Batter lays down sacrifice bunt Pitcher fields ball and throws to second Runner safe at second Is this scored a fielder's choice or a sacrifice bunt for the batter?

Neither. It's a single. Sorry, this is incorrect. It could be scored, and probably would be, as a Sacrifice Hit (bunt), Fielder's Choice. The batter would not be charged with a time at bat, and would not be credited with a hit. It could be scored as a hit, if, in the official scorers opinion, the batter would have beat the throw to first had it been made. If the runner had been thrown out at second, the batter would not be credited with a sacrifice, but would be charged with a time at bat and reaching first on a Fielder's Choice.


Would a batter get credit for an RBI if there is and error by the fielder and a runner scores?

no, unless the official scorer feels that the run would have scored even without the error


If a batter hits the ball to shortstop and the shortstop throws to third base trying to get the lead runner but all runners are safe is this scored as a hit or a fielder's choice?

The play is scored as a fielder's choice, regardless of whether the preceding baserunner is out or safe. Any time an infielder attempts to put out a preceding runner other than the batter, it is scored as a fielders choice. From Section 2, Definition of Terms in the Official MLB Rule Book defines a Fielders Choice as follows: FIELDER'S CHOICE is the act of a fielder who handles a fair grounder and, instead of throwing to first base to put out the batter runner, throws to another base in an attempt to put out a preceding runner. The term is also used by scorers (a) to account for the advance of the batter runner who takes one or more extra bases when the fielder who handles his safe hit attempts to put out a preceding runner; (b) to account for the advance of a runner (other than by stolen base or error) while a fielder is attempting to put out another runner; and (c) to account for the advance of a runner made solely because of the defensive team's indifference (undefended steal). It is scored as a fielder's choice. rule 10.05(f) A base hit shall be scored when a fielder unsuccessfully attempts to put out a preceding runner, and in the scorer's judgment the batter-runner would not have been put out at first base by ordinary effort. You won't find many official scorers that will give a batter a hit on that, unless the batter would have beaten the play out anyway. (i.e., a slow roller, high hop, deep in the hole, etc.) In the context of the question posed here, we almost have to assume the question was asked to imply that it was a routine, well-struck, fielded ground-ball and the shortstop made a conscious decision to attempt to get out the lead runner.


If the batter hits a single to left field and a runner is thrown out at the plate is the batter credited with a hit or fielder's choice?

This would be a hit. The only scenerio that this would be a fielder's choice is if the bases were loaded during the hit and the runner that was thrown out was on third base during the hit. A fielder's choice is scored only if the batter would have been out had the fielder chosen to go after him instead of a runner already on base. If the batter would have reached first anyway (such as in the scenario described here), he would get a hit.


Is it a fielder's choice if the ball is hit to center field and the runner on 1st gets thrown out at 2nd?

NO !!! this would not be a fielder's choice its more likely to be scored a hit and a 8 to 6 put out ( it can be a 8 to 4 put out depending on whom is covering the base) ...FIELDER'S CHOICE ... Is the act of a fielder who handles a fair grounder and, instead of throwing to first base to put out the batter-runner, throws to another base in an attempt to put out a preceding runner. The term is also used by scorers (a) to account for the advance of the batter-runner who takes one or more extra bases when the fielder who handles his safe hit attempts to put out a preceding runner; (b) to account for the advance of a runner (other than by stolen base or error) while a fielder is attempting to put out another runner; and (c) to account for the advance of a runner made solely because of the defensive team's indifference (undefended steal).


Runner on third and batter bunts Pitcher throws home and runner is safe at home and first. how is this scored?

A line is drawn along the first baseline for the batter and a FC (Fielder's Choice) is assigned to them. In the same box, a 1-2 is written. A line is drawn from 3rd to home in the runners box and the box is filled in to show that the runner has scored.


Is it a fielder's choice if the batted ball hits the advancing runner which results in the batter getting 1st base on the dead ball?

Just to be clear the runner that got hit is out. As for the batter, it would be scorers discretion. If the scorekeeper believes he would have made it on base anyways ( perhaps the ball was hit to the gap or he was within feet of the base by the time the player would have gotten to the ball) then it could be scored as an infield hit


If a hitter executes a sacrifice bunt advancing a runner to second or third base but no run scores does this count as an at bat when scoring?

No, a bunt that is scored as a sacrifice is never charged as an at-bat.


Can you appeal A fourth out if a runner has scored?

no


There are 7 ways a baseball player can get to first base with out getting a hit what are they?

walk, error, fielders choice, player interfeerence, dropped 3rd strike, pinch runner and hit by pitch 1. Base on Balls 2. Intentional Base on Balls (scored separately to 1) 3. Hit by Pitch 4. Error 5. Fielder's Choice 6. Passed Ball 7. Wild Pitch Pinch Runner is NOT a way of scoring a REACH of 1st base. Runner Interference (if the batter himself is not out) is scored as a base hit. Catcher Interference is scored as an error. Fielder Obstruction is scored as an error. Any scenario you can think of will be scored as one of the above 7, or a base hit. (I am only referring to how the reach of first base is scored)


With a runner on first base how do you score a groundball hit to the center fielder who throws to second base for a force out?

That would be a force out (the same as if the ball had been hit to an infielder) and the batter would not be credited with a base hit.Yep, scored Fielder's Choice 8-6 or 8-4


When advancing from third to home the runner runs into catcher whom is not making a play should the runner be ejected from the game?

This is a good question. If the catcher is in the base path when the runner is running home the runner will not be ejected and the point will be scored automatically. This is due to the fact that the only time the catcher can block home plate is when he has the ball, otherwise he must be out of the runners way.


What is a batter credited with when his ground ball hits a base runner?

I believe it's a single rule 10.05 a base hit shall be scored in the following cases:(e) when a fair ball which has not been touched by a fielder touches a runner or an umpire. EXCEPTION: Do not score a hit when a runner is called out for having been touched by an infield fly.


What is a batter credited with when a baserunner is called out for interference?

Baseball rule 10:06 (e) a base hit shall not be scored when a runner is called out for interference with a fielder attempting to field a batted ball, unless in the scorer's judgment the batter runner would have been safe had the interference not occurred.


If the ball hits a runner is it a hit or a fielders choice?

If a ball hits the runner, the runner is out and the play is scored a hit for the batter.


Can a runner who missed a base go back a tag after another runner has scored?

only if he's black.


What is era in baseball?

E.R.A. stands for Earned Run Average. It is the average earned runs scored upon a pitcher per nine innings of work. It is called Earned because if a fielder makes an error allowing a runner to advance a base and that runner eventually scores, that run will not be charged to the pitcher's E.R.A.


How is a base runner hit by batted ball scored?

The play is ruled dead. And the runner that was hit automatically is called out.


Is a run scored after walking an earned run or un-earned run?

It depends on how the runner who scored reached base. If the runner was on by way of an error, the run would be UNearned if he scores on a walk.


Can you go back and touch a base you missed after a following runner has scored?

No


Runner on first batter hits between first and second runner is hit by ball running to second how is the batter scored?

The batter is awarded a single. MLB Rule 10.05(5) states that a batter is credited with a base hit when: "A fair ball that has not been touched by a fielder touches a runner or an umpire, unless a runner is called out for having been touched by an Infield Fly, in which case the official scorer shall not score a hit".


How many runs has Sachin Tendulkar scored in 2010?

This year,he had scored 1,690 runs for his career plus,reaching 17,0000!