answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

It s a plate appearance, but not an at bat

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-05-17 06:35:31
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does catcher's interference count as a plate appearance?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Does catchers interference factor into on base percentage?

No. Reaching base via catcher's interference does not result in an official plate appearance nor a time on base when calculating on base percentage.


What is considered a plate appearance in baseball?

A completed turn in the batter's box. This could result in a hi,walk, sacrifice fly. sacrifice bunt, hit by pitch, or catchers interference. The at bat is not a plate appearance if the 3rd out is recorded before the batter has done one of the above. The batter would lead off the next inning with a 0-0 count.


What is the difference between plate appearance and at bats?

walks count as plate appearance but doesnt count as a time at bat


Do walks count in slugging percentage?

no. a walk is a plate appearance


Does a sacrifice count as a plate appearance in calculating on base percentage?

No


Does an error count as a plate appearance?

Yes. It will be scored as an out. It will count as being on base though so it will not negatively effect an on base percentage.


Can the catcher block the plate?

Yes, catchers can block the plate if there's a definite play at the plate.


Does a fielders choice count as a plate apperance?

Yes Any event after a player appears at the plate -- even being hit by the pitcher on the first pitch -- is counted as a plate appearance.


Does a fielders choice count as a plate appearance?

yes. you ground to short with a man on first and they get the force at second... you are 0-1


Can a steel plate in your head cause interference with your computer?

No. A steel plate in one's head cannot cause interference with a computer.


Difference between baseball at bat rather than Official at bat?

There are 'at bats' and 'plate appearances'. A plate appearance is considered an official at bat. At bats are used in determining a player's batting average. Bases on balls, sacrifices, hit by pitch, sacrifice flies, and catcher's interference do not count as an at bat but they do count as a plate appearance. This is because, if an at bat were credited for a base on balls, hit by pitch, etc., the player's batting average would go down each time they drew a walk or got hit by a pitch and this, obviously, would be unfair.


A sacrifice bunt in baseball doesn't seem to count against on base percentage is a sacrifice bunt therefore not considered to be a plate appearance?

It is in fact the only stat that may not be included as a plate appearance. While unique it is also confusing because it is up to the discretion of the scorekeepers as to whether or not the batter was bunting in an attempt to make it on base, or if they were indeed bunting to progress other players. If the scorekeeper rules that the player was in fact trying to progress other players with a disregard for whether or not they themselves make first base, then indeed it does not count as a plate appearance (unlike a sacrifice fly which regardless of the intention will always count as a plate appearance, but not an at bat.)


What is the difference between Total Plate Count and Aerobic mesophilic count?

The Total Plate Count is used to describe the counting that takes place in a plate. The Aerobic Mesophilic count refers to the total aerobic count in a given plate.


When stealing home plate can the catcher jump in front of the plate to tag the runner?

YES the catcher is SUPPOSED to block the plate as long as he has the ball. if the batter swings and hits the catcher the runner would return to third and the batter awarded first base. If the bases were loaded the catchers interference would force the runner home.


Is standard count and total plate count is same?

no


What is considered a high plate count?

Usually hundreds of colonies (>300) is considered as a high plate count.


Which hall of famers finished his career with a home run in his last at bat?

Ted Williams and Mickey Cochrane. Willams' home run came in his last plate appearance and at bat. Cochrane had one more plate appearance after his home run but was hit by a pitch so that did not count as an at bat.


When does an at bat not count?

If a batter walks or gets hit by a pitch, the at-bat counts as a plate appearance so that the player doesn't lose points on their batting average.


Why Plate Count Agar is used?

it is used to count the colonies


What is the official scoring for a batter who got a hit on the catchers interference play?

If a play follows the interference, the manager of the offense may advise the plate umpire that he elects to decline the interference penalty and accept the play. In this case the interference is disregarded and normal scoring applies. If the manager elects to take the interference penalty, it is scored as an error charged to the catcher. If the batter reaches first base on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batsman, or otherwise, and all other runners advance at least one base, the play proceeds without reference to the interference and normal scoring applies.


Does the run count on the third out?

no it does not count, even if the plate is touched by the runner the run still does not count!


What counts as an at bat?

A batter's plate appearance counts as an at-bat unless * he hits a sacrifice bunt or sacrifice fly, * he receives a base on balls, * he is hit by a pitch, or * he is awarded first base because of interference or obstruction.


Does a stolen home plate count as an rbi?

No.


How do i read Aerobic plate count?

get a tutor


If in baseball you're up at bat and you get walked with bases loaded and a run is forced in how can you get an RBI when a walk doesn't count as an 'at bat'?

It still counts as a plate appearance, and as a result of your plate appearance (bases loaded walk), a run scored. Therefore you are credited with an RBI. A sacrifice fly doesn't count as an at-bat either, but RBIs are credited. Double-plays are counted as at-bats but they disqualify RBIs. "At-bats" have absolutely nothing to do with RBIs.