No. Reaching base via catcher's interference does not result in an official plate appearance nor a time on base when calculating on base percentage.
A completed turn in the batter's box. This could result in a hi,walk, sacrifice fly. sacrifice bunt, hit by pitch, or catchers interference. The at bat is not a plate appearance if the 3rd out is recorded before the batter has done one of the above. The batter would lead off the next inning with a 0-0 count.
walks count as plate appearance but doesnt count as a time at bat
no. a walk is a plate appearance
Yes. It will be scored as an out. It will count as being on base though so it will not negatively effect an on base percentage.
Yes, catchers can block the plate if there's a definite play at the plate.
Yes Any event after a player appears at the plate -- even being hit by the pitcher on the first pitch -- is counted as a plate appearance.
yes. you ground to short with a man on first and they get the force at second... you are 0-1
No. A steel plate in one's head cannot cause interference with a computer.
There are 'at bats' and 'plate appearances'. A plate appearance is considered an official at bat. At bats are used in determining a player's batting average. Bases on balls, sacrifices, hit by pitch, sacrifice flies, and catcher's interference do not count as an at bat but they do count as a plate appearance. This is because, if an at bat were credited for a base on balls, hit by pitch, etc., the player's batting average would go down each time they drew a walk or got hit by a pitch and this, obviously, would be unfair.
It is in fact the only stat that may not be included as a plate appearance. While unique it is also confusing because it is up to the discretion of the scorekeepers as to whether or not the batter was bunting in an attempt to make it on base, or if they were indeed bunting to progress other players. If the scorekeeper rules that the player was in fact trying to progress other players with a disregard for whether or not they themselves make first base, then indeed it does not count as a plate appearance (unlike a sacrifice fly which regardless of the intention will always count as a plate appearance, but not an at bat.)
The Total Plate Count is used to describe the counting that takes place in a plate. The Aerobic Mesophilic count refers to the total aerobic count in a given plate.
YES the catcher is SUPPOSED to block the plate as long as he has the ball. if the batter swings and hits the catcher the runner would return to third and the batter awarded first base. If the bases were loaded the catchers interference would force the runner home.
Usually hundreds of colonies (>300) is considered as a high plate count.
Ted Williams and Mickey Cochrane. Willams' home run came in his last plate appearance and at bat. Cochrane had one more plate appearance after his home run but was hit by a pitch so that did not count as an at bat.
If a batter walks or gets hit by a pitch, the at-bat counts as a plate appearance so that the player doesn't lose points on their batting average.
it is used to count the colonies
If a play follows the interference, the manager of the offense may advise the plate umpire that he elects to decline the interference penalty and accept the play. In this case the interference is disregarded and normal scoring applies. If the manager elects to take the interference penalty, it is scored as an error charged to the catcher. If the batter reaches first base on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batsman, or otherwise, and all other runners advance at least one base, the play proceeds without reference to the interference and normal scoring applies.
no it does not count, even if the plate is touched by the runner the run still does not count!
A batter's plate appearance counts as an at-bat unless * he hits a sacrifice bunt or sacrifice fly, * he receives a base on balls, * he is hit by a pitch, or * he is awarded first base because of interference or obstruction.
get a tutor
It still counts as a plate appearance, and as a result of your plate appearance (bases loaded walk), a run scored. Therefore you are credited with an RBI. A sacrifice fly doesn't count as an at-bat either, but RBIs are credited. Double-plays are counted as at-bats but they disqualify RBIs. "At-bats" have absolutely nothing to do with RBIs.