answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Anytime the batter is put out at 1st base on a batted ball it is not considered a fielders choice, it is simply a put out. Now in your scenario if the catcher would have thrown home and the runner coming from 3rd is out and the batter is safe at 1st, then in that case it would be a fielders choice

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-05-09 17:32:31
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is it a fielders choice with one out and runner on third and batter grounds out to first with runner on third scoring?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Does a batter who hits into a fielders choice and has an rbi get credited with an at bat or is it scored like a sacrifice?

Yes, the batter is credited with an at-bat and scored as a fielders choice.


What is the scoring if you cannot assume an IF could get the batter but the runner makes a delayed attempt to advance on a bobbled ball and gets thrown out or caught in a rundown?

fielders choice


Can a batter get a base hit and have a fielders choice on the same play?

No.


Can stealing home be a fielders choice?

No..these are two different official scoring designations and have no relationship to each other. See Official Rules of Baseball on steals and fielding scoring methods.


Runner on second and batter hits grounder to short and throws out runner at third is batter credited with a hit?

No hit it is a fielders choice


Does batter get a rbi on fielders choice?

Yes, the batter will usually be given an RBI on a Fielder's Choice in the event of a run scoring the only way the home team's official scorer will not give him an RBI on a Fielder's Choice is in event of the runner in the scorer's viewer not originally being able to score on a player and was only able to do so as a result of the defensive team's miscue.


Do you get an RBI on a Fielder's choice?

Yes you would get an RBI on a fielders choice. If a runner scores on any batted ball the batter will get an RBI, whether an out is made or not.


If the ball hits a runner is it a hit or a fielders choice?

If a ball hits the runner, the runner is out and the play is scored a hit for the batter.


Does a fielders choice count as an at-bat?

If scored as a Fielders Choice it will go down as 0-1 (an AB with no hit) -- tigersy2k3


Does a fielder's choice count as an out?

I AM A COLLEGE BASEBALL PLAYER ALL INFORMATION HERE IS 100% TRUE. A fielders choice does not count as a hit for the batter even though the batter reaches base safely. It counts as an out for the hitters batting average but RBI's, runs scored, stolen bases and any other effects of the batter reaching base safely count. In essence a fielders choice counts as an out because the fielder could have chose to get the batter out or another runner which means there was an out on the play. Also, you cannot assume a double play even if the ball hit was the easiest 4-6-3 which the fielders made an error on.


Is it a hit if the runner running to 3rd base gets tagged out but there is no force?

No. This would be a fielders choice and would not count as a hit for the batter.


Do you get an rbi on fielders choice?

sometimes


If a batter reaches base via a fielders choice is it counted as a hit?

No it counts against a players average but if a run scores it counts as an rbi.


Is it a fielders choice if the out could not be made at first?

If the batter hits the ball, and the result is a force out, then the play is considered a "fielder's choice" no matter how unlikely it would have been for an out to have been made at first base. In the batter's statistics, it is counted as an at bat but not a hit.


Can you score a run on 3rd out fielders choice?

No.


Does fielders choice count as an at bat?

Yes.


Can a fielder's choice result without an out taking place?

Yes. A fielder's choice is when a defensive player plays a ground ball and tries to throw out a runner other than the batter. A fielder's choice can be credited when no out is recorded on the play if the official score keeper determines that the batter would have been out if the play went directly to first. In this case it would be a Fielders Choice and the batter would not be credited with a hit.


Can a fielders choice count as time at bat?

Yes


How does a fielders choice when no one is forced out affect the batting average?

A fielder's choice when no one is forced out counts as an at-bat without a hit just like it would if an out were recorded. If a player grounds into a fielder's choice in his first at-bat of the season, he would be 0-1 and have a batting average of .000.


Can you receive a base hit on a fielders choice?

maybe... maybe not!


How does a fielders choice effect batting average?

It does not count as an at bat


With runners in 2nd 3rd a ball is batted to the pitcher the pitcher looks the runner at 3rd back but makes no play or throw to any base Is this a base hit or fielders choice?

It is a fielders choice


What does batter get credited for if he reaches first base on a fielders choice?

The at bat is recorded like an out so they would be 0 for 1, FC, even though they reached base safely.


Can a batter reach base on a sacrifice bunt?

No. By definition it is not a sacrifice unless the batter is out. The correct answer is yes. The runner can reach base during a sacrifice on a throwing error or a fielders choice.


Is a bunt ever scored as a fielders choice and counted as a at bat?

Yes