answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No. This would be a fielders choice and would not count as a hit for the batter.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-04-30 13:28:15
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is it a hit if the runner running to 3rd base gets tagged out but there is no force?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Does the runner have to be tagged when attempting to steal?

Yes, if nobody is running behind them. But if it is a force, you can just touch the base.


If a runner commits to second base and then returns to first does he need to be tagged out.?

This is not a force play, so the runner would have to be tagged to be Out.


Does the runner have to be tagged out?

Not always. They can be forced out if there is a runner behind them and the fielder tags the base they were running to.


If there is a runner on first base and the batter is put out at first is the force removed for the runner?

The force is off so the runner can only be tagged out.


Can a runner from third base score if the batter is tagged out for the third out?

If the batter is tagged out before he reaches first base it is still considered a force out and the runner cannot score, however if the batter crosses first base safely and then is tagged out, the run counts if the third base runner crosses home plate before the batter is tagged out.


When must a base runner be tagged in softball?

When there isn't a runner behind them forcing them to run. For example, if a runner is on 2nd base but there is no one on 1st base, the runner must be tagged on their way to 3rd in order to get them out. However, if there IS a runner on 1st, the 3rd baseman can simply touch the base because it is a force out.


Does the runner have to be tagged out in softball?

No, unless there's is no force play involved. Meaning, you only tag if the runner is not forced to run to next base. But a runner is automatically out once tagged


What happens if no runner is tagged while they are on the same base?

Play continues until either one runner proceeds to another base or an out is made. Conversely if both runners are tagged the runner who occupied the base first is safe, unless there was a force on the play.


Who is out if 2 players occupy the same base and no one is tagged?

Actually they are both safe... for now, but play is still live. The lead runner is safe. The trailing runner has to go back to his previous base before being tagged out or running out of the baseline. Or, the lead runner has to advance to the next base before being tagged out, leaving the trailing runner safe at the double-occupied base.


If on a fielders choice the 2nd baseman doesn't touch the base can the runner be out?

If the runner gets tagged, then he is out. If the base doesn't get stepped on or the runner gets tagged, then he is safe.


When is a force play in effect?

A force play is in effect when a runner or runners are on base so that a fielder has to step on a base in order to record an out of the runner in question. Here's an example with the Cleveland Indians. Say Grady Sizemonre is on 1st base and Hafner is batting. If Hafner hits a ground ball to an infielder then they can force Sizemore out at 2nd base. A runner is forced to advance because the batter becomes a batter-runner. The runner may be tagged or the next base can be tagged by a fielder.


If a runner steps on thirdbaseman's foot touching and obstructing third base does the foot become a part of third base or is the runner out once they tag him?

The runner is out once he is tagged, assuming no force out.


Is it still considered a force if with a runner on first the fielder chooses to throw to first but the runner is safe but the runner from first falls and the first baseman throws to second base?

Once the batter/runner is forced out at 1st base, the force out of all other base runners is no longer in effect. Therefore, even if the original runner at 1st falls, he must be tagged out. He could, in fact, return to first and be safe there if he is not tagged out.


Batter awarded first base on balls is running outside the running lane catcher throws to first and hits the runner is the runner out on interference?

nothing, on a base on balls the runner is awarded 1st base so he will not get out unless he goes to 2nd or makes an attempt to 2nd and is tagged out.


Is a runner out if the ball gets to home base before them?

not unless the bases are loaded, creating a force at home for the runner on third otherwise the runner must be tagged to be put out


If the runner is tagged out then the fielder drops the ball and the runner touches the base is he out?

No


Runner on 3rd base dropped 3rd strike with 2outs Batter is tagged out after runner crosses the plate Does run count?

no. force out runner to first base kills the run crossing the plate with 2 outs


Does the run count if the the runner crosses home before the final out is committed on a runner who is tagged running to first base?

Yes it does count because the runner crossed home before the final out.!


When do youn tag a runner in softball?

You can tag a runner anytime but it's most important to tag a runner when it's not a force out play. When a baserunner runs to the next base without a runner behind him he must be tagged out before reaching base.


Does a thrid base runner need to be tagged out if the hitter is tagged out first?

the only way for them to get out is if there tagged so yes


With runners on first and third the batter hits a ground ball to the second baseman who tags the runner going to second base before he reaches it does the run count?

Not if that is the 3rd out in the inning...even if he tagged him after the runner reached home... now if the runner over ran the bag and was then tagged the run would count... But in the case of a force out or fielders choice to end the inning the run would not count. It doesn't matter whether the out was recorded by stepping on the base or by tagging the runner. The important thing is that the runner did not reach the base to which he was forced to run. The same would be true if the batter was tagged out while running to first.


Can a force play ever be turned into a timing play where the runner at third scores before you tag out another runner instead of touching the base he is forced to?

No, as long as the runner is forced to go to the next base, they can be tagged out or the base stepped on. Both are considered force plays, which means the run would not count.


What happens when two runners occupy a base and both are tagged out?

According to MLB Rule 7.03: " Two runners may not occupy a base, but if, while the ball is alive, two runners are touching a base, the following runner shall be out when tagged. The preceding runner is entitled to the base. " If two runners are on a base and both are tagged, the runner that got to the base first is safe and the runner that got to the base second is out.


In a double play if base nor runner are tagged is runner safe?

Yes, the runner would be safe.


What happens if two runners occupy the same base and are not tagged out?

"If the runner who first occupied that base never left it, he is safe and the second runner is out." That's incorrect. The lead runner is entitled to the base, so if he never leaves it, he is safe. The following runner must be tagged out. If he is able to return to the preceding base without being tagged out or going outside his baseline, he is safe. If the lead runner vacates the double-occupied base and reaches the next base, he is safe and the following runner is safe at the preceding base.

Study guides

๐Ÿ““
Create a Study Guide