answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

It can't ... a balk can only be committed by a pitcher.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2007-10-26 02:41:45
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How can fielders choice cause a balk?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Seven ways to reach first base?

Hit, hit by pitch, intentional walk, cathers interference, pinch runner, errror, fielders choice, dropped third strike, balk, overturned out call, fielders obstruction,


Does a fielders choice count as an at-bat?

If scored as a Fielders Choice it will go down as 0-1 (an AB with no hit) -- tigersy2k3


Why do Americans balk at God's choice?

Which choice of God's are you referring to?


Does a batter who hits into a fielders choice and has an rbi get credited with an at bat or is it scored like a sacrifice?

Yes, the batter is credited with an at-bat and scored as a fielders choice.


Do you get an rbi on fielders choice?

sometimes


What are the eight ways to score a run?

I've found 13. Error, wild pitch, passed ball, catcher's interference, balk,hit by pitch, sac fly, sac bunt, walk, hit, stolen base,double play and fielders choice.


Can you score a run on 3rd out fielders choice?

No.


Does fielders choice count as an at bat?

Yes.


Can a fielders choice count as time at bat?

Yes


With runners in 2nd 3rd a ball is batted to the pitcher the pitcher looks the runner at 3rd back but makes no play or throw to any base Is this a base hit or fielders choice?

It is a fielders choice


Is it a fielders choice with one out and runner on third and batter grounds out to first with runner on third scoring?

Anytime the batter is put out at 1st base on a batted ball it is not considered a fielders choice, it is simply a put out. Now in your scenario if the catcher would have thrown home and the runner coming from 3rd is out and the batter is safe at 1st, then in that case it would be a fielders choice


Can you receive a base hit on a fielders choice?

maybe... maybe not!


Can a batter get a base hit and have a fielders choice on the same play?

No.


How does a fielders choice effect batting average?

It does not count as an at bat


Is a bunt ever scored as a fielders choice and counted as a at bat?

Yes


Can the third baseman be called for a balk like the first baseman?

Rule 8.05 makes it clear that only a pitcher's actions can result in a balk. Rule 4.03 states that all fielders -- not just the first baseman -- must have both feet in fair territory at the start of the pitch, but penalties are not specified in this rule. An umpire could issue a warning, an ejection, maybe even call a balk if the pitcher made a pitch with a fielder there. But it would STILL be a balk on the pitcher.


Does a fielders choice count against your batting average?

yes it's an at bat


Does beating out a double play count as a hit?

No it goes down as a fielders choice.


Can an error be charged on a successful fielders choice?

No. No error can ever be given when there is an out made on the play.


IN Baseball when positioning players defensively on the field how many players are allowwed to be in Foul territory?

In baseball the only defensive player allowed to be in foul territory is the catcher. Otherwise it's a fielders balk.


What is a fielder balk?

A fielder's balk occurs when one of the fielder's is not in fair territory when a pitch is delivered. According to the rules, all fielders, except the catcher, must be positioned in fair territoy when a pitch is delivered. Fielder's interference is when a fielder interferes with the runners opportunity to reach the next base.


If a ball is hit to the outfield with batters at first and second and the runner gets out at third is it a fielders choice?

no, the fielder had no choice to throw out the hitter at first.


Does a fielders choice count as an at bat if a run scores on the play?

A fielder's choice is always an at bat. The book would be marked as an FC with RBI.


Do you get an RBI on a Fielder's choice?

Yes you would get an RBI on a fielders choice. If a runner scores on any batted ball the batter will get an RBI, whether an out is made or not.


Can a catcher balk in baseball?

The catcher can cause a balk, but the balk is charged to the pitcher. If, during an intentional walk, the catcher steps out of the catcher's box before the ball leaves the pitcher's hand, it is a balk. Or, if a runner is trying to score from 3rd base by a steal or squeeze play and the catcher touches the batter or the batter's bat, or steps on home plate or in front of home plate without the ball, it is a balk.