answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes, the batter is credited with an at-bat and scored as a fielders choice.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-09-29 08:33:03
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides

๐Ÿ““
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does a batter who hits into a fielders choice and has an rbi get credited with an at bat or is it scored like a sacrifice?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Runner on second and batter hits grounder to short and throws out runner at third is batter credited with a hit?

No hit it is a fielders choice


What is it scored as if a batter attempts a sac bunt with men on first and second and the fielder tries to get out the lead runner and everyone is safe with no error?

Its Fielders choice, and an infield hit. An error can be recorded if the play could have been executed but was not due to a bad throw or other circumstance. If no error occurs, it is a Fielder's Choice, however, if, in the Official Scorers judgement, the batter would have been retired with normal effort, the batter should be credited with a Sacrifice Hit. If, in the scorers judgement, the runner would have beat the throw to first with normal effort by the fielder, he should be credited with a hit, otherwise, no hit should be credited to the batter. Under normal circumstances, in the question as stated, it should be recorded as a Fielders Choice and Sacrifice (officially called a Sacrifice Hit) by the batter.


Can a fielder's choice result without an out taking place?

Yes. A fielder's choice is when a defensive player plays a ground ball and tries to throw out a runner other than the batter. A fielder's choice can be credited when no out is recorded on the play if the official score keeper determines that the batter would have been out if the play went directly to first. In this case it would be a Fielders Choice and the batter would not be credited with a hit.


Can a batter get a base hit and have a fielders choice on the same play?

No.


Can a batter reach base on a sacrifice bunt?

No. By definition it is not a sacrifice unless the batter is out. The correct answer is yes. The runner can reach base during a sacrifice on a throwing error or a fielders choice.


Is it a fielders choice with one out and runner on third and batter grounds out to first with runner on third scoring?

Anytime the batter is put out at 1st base on a batted ball it is not considered a fielders choice, it is simply a put out. Now in your scenario if the catcher would have thrown home and the runner coming from 3rd is out and the batter is safe at 1st, then in that case it would be a fielders choice


What does batter get credited for if he reaches first base on a fielders choice?

The at bat is recorded like an out so they would be 0 for 1, FC, even though they reached base safely.


Do errors and fielders choice factor into batting average?

Yes, if a hitter hits into a fielder's choice he gets credited for an at-bat and is NOT credited with a hit. Whether its an error or a fielder's choice the players batting average WILL decrease


Does a fielders choice count as an at bat?

Yes. If in the Official Scorer's opinion, the batter would have been out at first base had the fielder chosen to make that play then the play is scored as a fielder's choice. The batter reaches first base safely, but is not credited with a hit and is charged with an at-bat. He's officially 0 for 1 on that play.


Does a fielders choice that bats in a run count as a sacrifice?

This is not a sacrifice. It is counted as an RBI though unless there is a double play as result of the FC.


Do you get an RBI on a Fielder's choice?

Yes you would get an RBI on a fielders choice. If a runner scores on any batted ball the batter will get an RBI, whether an out is made or not.


Runner on first Batter lays down sacrifice bunt Pitcher fields ball and throws to second Runner safe at second Is this scored a fielder's choice or a sacrifice bunt for the batter?

Neither. It's a single. Sorry, this is incorrect. It could be scored, and probably would be, as a Sacrifice Hit (bunt), Fielder's Choice. The batter would not be charged with a time at bat, and would not be credited with a hit. It could be scored as a hit, if, in the official scorers opinion, the batter would have beat the throw to first had it been made. If the runner had been thrown out at second, the batter would not be credited with a sacrifice, but would be charged with a time at bat and reaching first on a Fielder's Choice.


How many ways can a batter be credited with an RBI?

A batter can be credited with an RBI for every run that scores because of his hit, sacrifice bunt, sacrifice fly, infield out, fielder's choice, walk, and when he is awarded first base because of a hit by pitch, interference, or obstruction. If there are fewer than two outs, a batter can also be credited with an RBI after having reached on an error, so long as the run scored on the play was not a result of the error.


If the ball hits a runner is it a hit or a fielders choice?

If a ball hits the runner, the runner is out and the play is scored a hit for the batter.


Does a fielders choice count as an at-bat?

If scored as a Fielders Choice it will go down as 0-1 (an AB with no hit) -- tigersy2k3


Does a batter get credited with an RBI if he hits into a fielder's choice and a run scores?

yes


Does a fielder's choice count as an out?

I AM A COLLEGE BASEBALL PLAYER ALL INFORMATION HERE IS 100% TRUE. A fielders choice does not count as a hit for the batter even though the batter reaches base safely. It counts as an out for the hitters batting average but RBI's, runs scored, stolen bases and any other effects of the batter reaching base safely count. In essence a fielders choice counts as an out because the fielder could have chose to get the batter out or another runner which means there was an out on the play. Also, you cannot assume a double play even if the ball hit was the easiest 4-6-3 which the fielders made an error on.


Is it a hit if the runner running to 3rd base gets tagged out but there is no force?

No. This would be a fielders choice and would not count as a hit for the batter.


Do errors and fielders choice factor into on base percentage?

For on-base percentage, it still counts as an at bat and the hitter is not credited with an 'on base' so whether its an error or a fielder's choice the player's on-base percentage will decrease


Do you get an rbi on fielders choice?

sometimes


If a batter reaches base via a fielders choice is it counted as a hit?

No it counts against a players average but if a run scores it counts as an rbi.


Is it a fielders choice if the out could not be made at first?

If the batter hits the ball, and the result is a force out, then the play is considered a "fielder's choice" no matter how unlikely it would have been for an out to have been made at first base. In the batter's statistics, it is counted as an at bat but not a hit.


Does the batter get an RBI if he bats into a fielders choice and a runner scores?

Yes. There are only a few times that a batter helps a teammate score but does not get an RBI. Example 1: Bases loaded, 0 outs, batter grounds into double play 2nd baseman to first baseman, runner at third scores. The batter is not credited with an RBI. Example 2: Runner on 3rd, 2 outs, batter hits a routine groundball to shortstop, but the shortstop makes an erro. The batter is not credited with an RBI because if the ball was played cleanly the run would not have scored.


Can you score a run on 3rd out fielders choice?

No.


Does fielders choice count as an at bat?

Yes.