answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes, once the foul ball is caught the runners can advance by tagging up

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-17 03:56:07
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides

๐Ÿ““
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can you advance on a caught foul ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Can a runner advance on a dropped pop up in foul territory?

No. On any foul ball that is not caught, the ball is dead and runners may not advance.


In softball can you run on a foul?

Yes you can tag up and advance on a caught foul ball.


If there is a foul tip into the catchers glove and is caught can the runner advance to the next base?

A Foul Tip, which is different than a Foul, is a live ball, and runner's can advance.


Do you have to tag up after a foul ball even if it not caught?

If a foul ball is not caught in the air, the ball is dead, so there would be no tag up opportunity. If it is caught in the air, the runners can tag up and advance at their own risk.


Can a runner advance from first or second on a caught foul ball?

Yes, a runner can advance if he tags up.


Can a runner advance on a foul ball?

If the ball is caught in foul territory, then the runner has the ability to run at their won risk. But if the player drops the ball in foul territory, then the runners have to stay at their respective bases.


When can a runner advance after a fly ball has been caught?

Any fly ball, fair or foul, is a live ball when it is caught therefore any runners may tag up and advance at their own risk.


Runner on base advance after a fly ball catch in foul territory?

yes, but runner must not advance to next base until ball is caught by defensive player.


Can you steal a base on a foul ball?

An uncaught foul ball is dead. If a foul ball is caught, runners can steal, but have the same tag up responsibilities as a fair caught ball.


Can Tipped baseball caught in air can runner advance?

Yes. It would be considered a foul tip not a foul ball. Foul tips are treated as if the hitter never even touched it. In this case a runner may advance at his/her own risk.


In major league baseball can a runner tag up and take the next base on a foul ball that is legally caught?

Yes. A runner may tagup and attempt to advance after any fly ball is caught, regardless of whether it is fair or foul.


When a foul ball is hit does a base runner occupying second base have to return and touch that base?

The base runner can not advance on a foul ball, he must return to the base he was at before the foul ball was hit. A base runner may advance on a caught foul ball, but must tag up and advance only after the ball is touched by a defensive player. To answer your original question, yes, all base runners must return to the base they occupied prior to the foul, and must touch that base before play is continued.


There is 1 out with a man on third 2 strikes on the batter The batter attempts a bunt that goes foul behind first base no one catches it the batter is out Can the runner from 3rd base advance?

NO. A runner cannot advance on a foul ball that is not "played" (i.e. if a foul fly ball is CAUGHT, the runner may tag up). A foul bunt on a 2 strike count is a dead ball out.


Can you tag up and run on a foul ball?

yes u can tag on a foul ball if it is caught in foul territory


Can a runner advance on a foul ball hit into stands?

No, a foul ball is a dead ball, so nobody advances.


In baseball and you're on base and a foul ball is caught can you tag up?

Yes, you may tag up and advance at your own risk.


When can a runner on base advance on a foul ball?

No.


Can you run on a foul ball?

If you are on base, and the batter hits a foul ball that is caught, and there is less than 2 outs, you may attempt to run to the next base after the ball is caught.


If a fly ball is caught out of bounds is it an out?

Yes as it is still caught on the fly, without touching the ground. Depends on your definition. If a fly ball is caught in "Foul Ground", then yes it is an out. Some leagues, for safety reasons, have an "out of bounds" area beyond foul territory. If a ball is caught there, there is no out and it is considered a foul ball.


Can runner advance on foul tip?

Yes. A foul tip is a ball hit by the batter that goes directly back to the catcher who catches the ball. Runners may try to advance (steal a base) at their own risk. A batted ball that is barely touched and goes foul is often erroneously called a "foul tip", but technically is just a foul ball.


Why can a runner run on a foul tip?

One answer:He can run, but he has to get back to the base. Any foul ball is a dead ball unless it is caught. Another answer:Since a foul tip, by definition, is caught by the catcher, it is a live ball, and runners may advance at their own risk.


If a ball is hit in fair play bounces foul but is caught in the air in foul territory is it fair or foul?

Your question is difficult to understand because of the way it is worded, so I'll try and cover the whole fair/foul question. Any caught fly ball is an out, regardless of whether the ball is in fair or foul territory when caught, unless it is caught in out-of-play territory, in which case it is just a foul ball. Any ground ball that is first touched while the ball is in fair territory is a playable fair ball, regardless of what happens after the touch, unless and until it goes into out-of-play territory. Any ground ball that is first touched while the ball is in foul territory is a foul ball, regardless of what happens after the touch; if it is never touched, it is a foul ball.


Can a runner on first base steal second on a foul tip?

Foul-tip Rule 2.00 see also; Strike (g) and 6.05(b) There is nothing "FOUL" about a foul-tip. It is a strike and the ball is alive. A foul-tip is the same as a swing and a miss. To be a foul-tip, by rule, the ball must go sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hand or glove AND BE CAUGHT. Confusion arises on this because people commonly call any ball that is tipped or nicked a foul-tip. It is not a foul-tip, by rule, unless the nicked or tipped ball is caught. If it is not caught, it is simply a foul-ball. A foul-ball is a dead ball. A foul-tip (a legally caught nick) is a live ball strike, just like a swing and a miss. Read the rule in the Official Baseball Rules


If the catcher catches a foul tip on a first or a second strike can the runner still advance or does he have to go back to his base if he is stealing?

He can advance, it's a live ball if caught sharply and directly.


Does a foul ball count as a ball if the batter already has 2 strikes?

A foul ball never counts as a ball. In Major League Baseball, a foul ball only counts as the third strike if it's a foul tip that was caught by the catcher.