answersLogoWhite

0

Foul-tip Rule 2.00 see also; Strike (g) and 6.05(b) There is nothing "FOUL" about a foul-tip. It is a strike and the ball is alive. A foul-tip is the same as a swing and a miss. To be a foul-tip, by rule, the ball must go sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hand or glove AND BE CAUGHT. Confusion arises on this because people commonly call any ball that is tipped or nicked a foul-tip. It is not a foul-tip, by rule, unless the nicked or tipped ball is caught. If it is not caught, it is simply a foul-ball. A foul-ball is a dead ball. A foul-tip (a legally caught nick) is a live ball strike, just like a swing and a miss. Read the rule in the Official Baseball Rules

User Avatar

Wiki User

18y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

MaxineMaxine
I respect you enough to keep it real.
Chat with Maxine
RafaRafa
There's no fun in playing it safe. Why not try something a little unhinged?
Chat with Rafa
ReneRene
Change my mind. I dare you.
Chat with Rene
More answers

Yes. A foul tip is a ball hit by the batter that goes directly back to the catcher who catches the ball. Runners may try to advance (steal a base) at their own risk. A batted ball that is barely touched and goes foul is often erroneously called a "foul tip", but technically is just a foul ball.

User Avatar

Wiki User

17y ago
User Avatar

One answer:He can run, but he has to get back to the base. Any foul ball is a dead ball unless it is caught. Another answer:Since a foul tip, by definition, is caught by the catcher, it is a live ball, and runners may advance at their own risk.
User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
User Avatar

Of course, because a foul tip, by definition, is not a foul ball.

It's a live ball and it doesn't matter if it's strike 1 2 or 3 (unless strike 3 makes it the third out of the inning).

Remember this: "there is nothing foul about a foul tip"

www.westmichiganhighschoolbaseball.com

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

Yes.

In all rules, a foul tip immediately caught by the catcher is considered exactly like a strike. As such, a base runner is allowed to attempt to steal a base on a foul tip. Note, however, that if the catcher drops a foul tip, it is considered to be a foul ball, and no base runner may advance.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
User Avatar

A Foul Tip, which is different than a Foul, is a live ball, and runner's can advance.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

Only is the catcher catches it.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
User Avatar

No.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a runner advance a base on a foul tip strike 2?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp