The Baseball rules differentiate between a foul ball and a foul tip.
A foul tip caught by the catcher is a strike. If it's the third strike the result is a strikeout, otherwise the at bat continues.
A foul ball caught in the air by any fielder (including the catcher) is a pop out (or fly out, which is scored the same).
Major League Baseball rules define a foul tip as follows:
A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand.
Many people were taught that a foul tip is anything that does not go over the batter's head, or that does not go at least six feet high, but those criteria are not in the rule book.
If he drops it yes
If the glove or mitt falls off in the process of catching the ball, it is not a legal catch. The fielder must have control of the ball in the glove and then remove it himself.
If the fielder falls into the stands or the dugout after catching the foul, the ball is dead and runners are awarded base from the base they occupied at the time of the pitch.
No it is not it is the end of the game
In softball, catches can be categorized into several types, including the pop fly catch, where a fielder catches a ball that is hit high into the air; the line drive catch, which involves catching a fast-moving ball hit directly toward the fielder; and the ground ball catch, where the fielder scoops up a ball that has bounced on the ground. Additionally, there are specialized catches like the sliding catch, where a fielder slides to grasp a low or difficult-to-reach ball. Each type of catch requires specific techniques and skills to be executed effectively.
It is scored as a triple Really, no he caught the ball so obviously he got him out First answer is correct, batter is awarded three bases.
No, the glove is considered an extension of the fielder's hand so if the glove comes off the fielder is deemed to have dropped the ball.
Yes, if an outfielder catches a ball and falls over the fence, it is considered a home run.
If the fielder catches the ball and, during the motion of reaching into the glove to grab the ball to throw, the ball drops to the ground the batter is called out. As long as the fielder has complete control of the ball before attempting to throw, the umpire will call the batter out.
three strikes and fielder or outfielder catches ball without dropping it.
If the fielder falls into the stands or the dugout after catching the foul, the ball is dead and runners are awarded base from the base they occupied at the time of the pitch.
No...as soon as the batted ball touches the runner, the ball is dead.