Best Answer

The base runner can not advance on a foul ball, he must return to the base he was at before the foul ball was hit.

A base runner may advance on a caught foul ball, but must tag up and advance only after the ball is touched by a defensive player.

To answer your original question, yes, all base runners must return to the base they occupied prior to the foul, and must touch that base before play is continued.

User Avatar

Wiki User

2010-02-01 21:18:25
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When a foul ball is hit does a base runner occupying second base have to return and touch that base?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Can a base coach touch a runner who is occupying a base?

yes, he trying to tell him/her goodjob or telling them what to do

If a runner is hit with the ball by a miss throw by to the second base man is the runner out?

No. To force an out, the defensive player has to touch the runner with the ball or touch the runner with the glove while the ball is in the glove. A thrown ball touching a runner does not count.

Can a baserunner run past second base and then return to first base?

A runner can return to first base, however, they must touch second base on their way back. If they fail to touch second base (and run directly to first base without re-tagging second base) they can be called out on appeal. Appeals work as follows: the pitcher takes the mound with the ball, toes the rubber and then steps off and throws the ball to the base the runner did not tag. When the fielder steps on the base the umpire - if they were paying attention - will then call the runner who is now on first base out. ensue.

Does a base runner need to return and touch his base after the batter hits a foul ball that is not caught?

Yes he does.

If a runner on first touches second before the pitcher releases the ball must he return to first if the batter fouls off the pitch?

Yes. If the foul ball is caught in the air by a fielder the play is live and the runner may be thown out at first if he does not return in time. If the foul ball hits the ground before being caught, or goes into the stands, it is a dead ball. In either case the player must return to first. He may also tag up at first and advance to second on a foul ball that is caught by a fielder. In addition, if the runner has touched second base and rounded the bag, he must re-touch second before returning to first.

Does a batter get credit with a basehit if he misses first base?

He does if he can get back and touch it in time before a fielder does. If the runner makes no attempt to return to the base and a fielder touches it and appeals, the runner is out.

During play can a runner touch second base and then return to first base?

Yes they can and if they have passed 2nd for example on a deep hit fly that is caught they must touch 2nd again on their way back to 1st. If they fail to do so when they touch 1st base they are out no matter what the defense has done with the ball at that point.

If a runner on first runs to second when the ball is hit and the runner on second does not run what happens when the two runners end up on second?

== Answer== It depends, If the batter hits a fly ball that is caught with less than two outs the original man on second is safe. If the runner from first can return to first before a defensive player can touch it with the ball he is also safe. If a ground ball is hit with less than two outs both runners are forced to advance. As long as the guy from first gets there before the ball he is safe and the original runner is out.

The runner misses first base and advances to second when the ball goes out of play. Can the defensive team then touch first with the ball so the runner is called out?

No. Has to be appealed and ruled out by the umpire.

If a runner does not touch third base but touches home are they out or does the run count?

It depends. If the runner hit a home run, and missed third he would be sent back to second base. If the runner was on second base to start and missed third he would be out. However, even if the umpire sees a runner miss a base the runner is not penalized unless the opposing team appeals.

In MLB does the baseman need to touch the base to get the runner out?

If it is a force (i.e. there are people on all the bases behind the runner) play, then yes, the baseman needs to touch the base to get the runner out. If the runner is not required to move to that base, then the baseman must tag the runner to get him out. The baseman does not NEED to touch the base to record the out. The defense may tag the runner OR the bag.

If a runner doesnt touch home plate and enters the dug out is he out?

Yes if a runner doesn't touch home plate and enters the dugout an Umpire can call him out the second he leaves the dirt surrounding the area of the home plate and the two batter's boxes however Major League Umpires may not opt to declare a runner out even if he missed home plate unless the opposing team appeals the call or tags the runner.

People also asked