The objective of chess is to checkmate the king, where the king is in check by a piece and it cannot block the check, move to another square, or capture the piece checking the king.
Yes, the king may capture the piece that is checking it.Yes, but only if that piece is on a square adjoining him, as a king has mobility of only one square per move.
In chess, the king captures by moving to a square occupied by an opponent's piece. The king can move one square in any direction, but cannot move to a square that is under attack by an opponent's piece. Additionally, the king cannot move into check, meaning it cannot move to a square where it would be captured on the opponent's next turn.
No, pawns in chess can only move diagonally forward to capture an opponent's piece. They cannot move diagonally backwards.
If the king is not currently in check and has nowhere to move without being in check, it is stalemate, which is a draw. However if any other piece of his can make a move (i.e a pawn), then it is not stalemate, and you are forced to move whatever piece can be moved.
The goal in chess, or the object of the game, is to checkmate your opponent's king. A king is in checkmate when he is attacked and no matter what move he attempts to make he is still being attacked (or in check). There are three ways to get out of check: move the king to a safe square, capture the checking piece, or block with another piece. If a player is in check and cannot get out of check, he is in checkmate and has lost the game.
Yes.
The king in chess is represented by a tall piece with a cross on top. It can move one square in any direction on the board, but cannot move to a square that is under attack by an opponent's piece.
In chess, a king cannot move backward in the sense of capturing an opponent's piece. The king can only move one square in any direction—horizontally, vertically, or diagonally. If an opponent's piece is in a square that the king can move to, the king can capture it, regardless of the direction of the move. However, a king cannot move into check, meaning it cannot capture a piece if doing so would place it in a position to be threatened by another piece.
No , if your king is in check you can not counter with placing your opponent's king in check - you must respond to the move on your next turn by dealing with your king in check by moving the king out of check , removing the attacking piece by capture or by blocking the checking piece or you will need to concede / resign from the game . Look to the related link below regarding the rules of chess .
No, a king cannot capture a queen if it is in check. In chess, when a king is in check, it must make a move to get out of check, either by moving to a safe square, capturing the attacking piece, or blocking the attack. Since the king is unable to move without resolving the check, it cannot capture the queen.
No, you cannot. It is illegal to take one of your own pieces on any move.