answersLogoWhite

0

No , if your king is in check you can not counter with placing your opponent's king in check - you must respond to the move on your next turn by dealing with your king in check by moving the king out of check , removing the attacking piece by capture or by blocking the checking piece or you will need to concede / resign from the game . Look to the related link below regarding the rules of Chess .

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

RossRoss
Every question is just a happy little opportunity.
Chat with Ross
FranFran
I've made my fair share of mistakes, and if I can help you avoid a few, I'd sure like to try.
Chat with Fran
DevinDevin
I've poured enough drinks to know that people don't always want advice—they just want to talk.
Chat with Devin
More answers

No , the rules of chess do not allow for placing one's king in check ~ look to the related link below to the rules regarding check .

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
User Avatar

No. A King cannot move in a way that puts itself into check. By trying to put another king in check, it would also be putting itself into check. So it would be an illegal move.

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago
User Avatar

No , you may not move a king into check because it is not in keeping with the rules of chess ~ look to the related link below for rules regarding the king .

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
User Avatar

No , the move is an illegal one because the King cannot move into check .

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
User Avatar

In chess, when your king is in check, you need to immediately take it out of check. You can only put the other king in checkmate if it involves taking your king out of check.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
User Avatar

No , the King may not move into check because it is contrary to the rules of chess for a King to expose himself to check .

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
User Avatar

No, you cannot move your king into a position where it is in checkmate.

User Avatar

Wiki User

9y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can you move your own king into check?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp