Best Answer

If the fielder catches the ball and, during the motion of reaching into the glove to grab the ball to throw, the ball drops to the ground the batter is called out. As long as the fielder has complete control of the ball before attempting to throw, the umpire will call the batter out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-07-18 22:58:35
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
See all Study Guides
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a player catches a fly ball and in attempting to throw it to hold a runner but drops the ball is this an error on the player and is the hitter awarded a hit?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

When is a free throw awarded?

A free throw is awarded when a defensive player makes a foul upon an offensive player when the offensive player is attempting to shoot. A foul is given if a defensive player: - takes hold of an offensive player - pushes an offensive player - hits an offensive player

When a defense player catches a pass?

When a defensive player catches a pass

When playing netball if a player catches the ball drops it and catches it again what is this called?

This is called replayed ball

What is it called when a defensive player catches the football?


When does a defensive player catches a pass on football?

An Interception.

If a player runs out of the end zone is it a safety?

Yes, but only if he has the ball. The only time it wouldn't be considered a safety is when a player intercepts a ball or catches a kick or a punt in the field of play, but the official determines that the player's momentum carried him into the end zone. In that case, a touchback would be awarded.

Which player more catches the cricket world cup?

Ricky Ponting take 28 catches in cricket world cup

What player catches the ball and passes it to another player in football?

It's called a fleaflicker.

What player in baseball catches long fly balls?

Out fielders

If in football a player catches the ball in his shirt is this allowed?


When a defensive player catches a ball in football?

Interception interception

In dodgeball if your opponent catches your thrown ball you are out true or false?

The answer is true. If you throw a ball and a player on the other team catches it, you are out. Tyler

Direct kick how does it happen?

A direct free kick is awarded when someone commits a penal foul: handling the ball, tripping or attempting to trip, striking or attempting to strike, kicking or attempting to kick, jumping at, charging, or pushing an opponent. The ball is placed at the spot of the foul, and a player on the offended team takes the kick. The ball is in play when it is kicked and moves. If a direct free kick is awarded within the kicking team's own goal area, the ball may be placed anywhere in the goal area for the kick (similar to positioning for a goal kick). If a direct free kick is awarded within the kicking team's own penalty area (including the goal area), the ball is not in play until it is kicked directly out of the area. If the direct free kick is awarded in the offending team's penalty area, a penalty kick is awarded instead.

What is it called when a defensive player catches an offensive pass in football?


Player shoots air ball and then catches it what is the call?

It's a travel.

What is it called when a defensive player catches a pass?

It's called an interception.

What is a player that usually catches passes in football?

a wide receiver or tightend

What happens to base runners when a defensive player catches a ball in foul territory and his momentum carries him to out of bounds?

If the fielder falls into the stands or the dugout after catching the foul, the ball is dead and runners are awarded base from the base they occupied at the time of the pitch.

When is a penalty shot awarded in soccer?

A penalty is awarded to your team in soccer when the opposing team player fouls your team player inside your goalie box

Which area of the field does a foul have to occur for a penalty kick to be awarded?

If a player fouls an opposing team player in their 'own penalty box' a penalty is awarded

Is the batter out if the ball bounces off another player and it is caught before hitting the ground?

Depends. If the ball bounces of a defensive player, and is caught, the batter is out. If it hits a runner, the ball is dead and the runner is out but the hitter is awarded first base.

What is the call when a defensive player touches a flyball and then another player catches the ball before it touches the ground?


Who took the most number of catches in world cup?

Australian player Ricky Ponting took the most catches in world cup. ash diu

In which sport Conn Smythe Trophy awarded?

The Conn Smythe Trophy is awarded in the National Hockey League, or NHL. It is awarded to the most valuable player in the playoffs.

Which player has the record of most catches in a single match of IPL?

Sachin Tendulkar