No, he can advance by stealing the base, or advance on a wild pitch, passed ball, catcher interference or a pitcher's balk.
In baseball, a runner can be tagged out while trying to advance to a base if the fielder with the ball touches the runner with the ball or glove before the runner reaches the base. The runner must also be tagged out if they are not on a base when a fielder touches the base with the ball in their possession.
When the ball is thrown to a base where the runner is trying to advance. The runner instead of continuing to the base stops and tries to return to the base from which they came. The fielder then throws the ball to that base causing the runner to change their direction again and so forth until the runner is tagged out or safely reaches a base.
yes, but runner must not advance to next base until ball is caught by defensive player.
None until the ball hits the ground.
When the batter hits a fly ball and there are less than 2 out the runners have to stay where they are until either the ball is caught or until they know for a fact that the ball won't be caught. If the ball is caught, they have to tag up, otherwise they can just keep on running.
Yes.
The base runner can not advance on a foul ball, he must return to the base he was at before the foul ball was hit. A base runner may advance on a caught foul ball, but must tag up and advance only after the ball is touched by a defensive player. To answer your original question, yes, all base runners must return to the base they occupied prior to the foul, and must touch that base before play is continued.
When the ball is in play, a base runner can always ATTEMPT to advance to the next base. He is allowed to advance to next base if the ball was badly thrown during an attempted steal of an earlier base. Note that, if the outfielder throws the ball to third base and the third baseman tags the runner before he gets to third base, the runner is out -- just like any other attempt to "steal" a base.
The fielder has to have the ball in his possession but if he drops it he doesn't have to tag up. Actually, the fielder doe NOT have to have possession of the ball for a base runner to tag up and advance. Once the runner is on the base ("tagging up") he may advance as soon as the fielder touches the ball, whether he has possession or not. In other words, the base runner may advance even if the fielder is bobbling the ball and then catches it, i. e. has possession.
because without one all the runners on base would be able to score on a high pop up on the infield the tag up rule is a compromise between that situation and not allowing the runners to advance at all after a ball is caught
In Little League baseball, a runner cannot advance to the next base when the pitcher is on the pitching mound and has possession of the ball. The runner must remain in place until the pitcher either throws the ball or steps off the mound. However, if the pitcher steps off the mound while holding the ball, the runner is allowed to attempt to advance. It's important to note that base coaches and players should be aware of the pitcher’s position to avoid any confusion regarding the rules.
Runner would advance a base but if appealed that runner could be out.