answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

That would depend on whether the runner that made the base running error was forced out. If there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a ground ball into left field and the runner trips and falls between first and second and the left fielder throws to second and gets the runner out, it would be considered a force out and the batter would not get credited with a hit. But if there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a ground ball into left field and the runner rounds second base too far and the left fielder throws to second and the runner is tagged out, the batter would be credited with a base hit.

Answer:

The above is incorrect. In order for the batter to receive a Fielder's Choice and not be credited with the hit, the scorer must determine that the batter would not have safely reached 1st base. In simple terms: "the fielder COULD have thrown out the batter, but CHOSE not to". In the example above, the left fielder could not have thrown out the batter at first. The batter is awarded the hit and the defense records a 7-4 put out.

A force out does not determine a Fielder's choice. If there is a runner on 2nd with 1st empty: If the batter hits a sharp ground ball to second basemen who fields the ball cleanly and attempts to throw out the runner advancing from 2nd, the batter is given the fielder's choice whether the advancing runner is safe or out at 3rd.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

17y ago

This situation just occurred in a game between the Angels and the Orioles in May, 2007. Vladimir Guerrero hit a ball to the right side of the infield that struck baserunner Reggie Willits. Willits was ruled out and Guerrero was credited with a single.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

Yes, it is a fielder's choice. It would be a fielder's choice if it were a line drive to the outfield or a pop up. I happened to witness this unusual feat in a game in Philadelphia with the Astros. A Phillie hit a ball into right center and the runner from first was thrown out at second. It was scored a "fielder's choice." Unbelievably, the Phillies also had a triple play against them with the bases loaded on a ground ball to third, touched third, threw to second, and on to first. The Phillies catcher also threw the ball over the third baseman's head attempting to start the ball around the horn at the start of an inning. The Phillies were winning about 8-0 when the triple play happened and they eventually lost. This was in August 2004.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It is not a fielder's choice - in order for it to be a fielder's choice there had to be a choice whcih implies the outfielder had a reasonable play at first base.

From WIKI

Though there are several definitions of fielder's choice, the most common (and the only one commonly referred to as FC) involves a fielder fielding a fair ball and, though he has a clear opportunity to throw out the batter-runner at first base in the official scorer's judgment, chooses to try to put out another baserunner, thereby allowing the batter-runner to safely reach first base.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

Neither. It's a single.

Sorry, this is incorrect. It could be scored, and probably would be, as a Sacrifice Hit (bunt), Fielder's Choice. The batter would not be charged with a time at bat, and would not be credited with a hit. It could be scored as a hit, if, in the official scorers opinion, the batter would have beat the throw to first had it been made. If the runner had been thrown out at second, the batter would not be credited with a sacrifice, but would be charged with a time at bat and reaching first on a Fielder's Choice.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

NO !!! this would not be a fielder's choice its more likely to be scored a hit and a 8 to 6 put out ( it can be a 8 to 4 put out depending on whom is covering the base) ...

FIELDER'S CHOICE ... Is the act of a fielder who handles a fair grounder and, instead of throwing to first base to put out the batter-runner, throws to another base in an attempt to put out a preceding runner. The term is also used by scorers (a) to account for the advance of the batter-runner who takes one or more extra bases when the fielder who handles his safe hit attempts to put out a preceding runner; (b) to account for the advance of a runner (other than by stolen base or error) while a fielder is attempting to put out another runner; and (c) to account for the advance of a runner made solely because of the defensive team's indifference (undefended steal).

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

no, the fielder had no choice to throw out the hitter at first.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

If a ball hits the runner, the runner is out and the play is scored a hit for the batter.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

In major leagues this is considered a hit and will be counted toward your batting average.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

It is a fielders choice

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is it a fielders choice runner on first batter hits pop up to outfield falls untouched runner from first is forced at second?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Does a batter who hits into a fielders choice and has an rbi get credited with an at bat or is it scored like a sacrifice?

Yes, the batter is credited with an at-bat and scored as a fielders choice.


Is it a fielders choice with one out and runner on third and batter grounds out to first with runner on third scoring?

Anytime the batter is put out at 1st base on a batted ball it is not considered a fielders choice, it is simply a put out. Now in your scenario if the catcher would have thrown home and the runner coming from 3rd is out and the batter is safe at 1st, then in that case it would be a fielders choice


Runner on second and batter hits grounder to short and throws out runner at third is batter credited with a hit?

No hit it is a fielders choice


Does a fielder's choice count as an out?

I AM A COLLEGE BASEBALL PLAYER ALL INFORMATION HERE IS 100% TRUE. A fielders choice does not count as a hit for the batter even though the batter reaches base safely. It counts as an out for the hitters batting average but RBI's, runs scored, stolen bases and any other effects of the batter reaching base safely count. In essence a fielders choice counts as an out because the fielder could have chose to get the batter out or another runner which means there was an out on the play. Also, you cannot assume a double play even if the ball hit was the easiest 4-6-3 which the fielders made an error on.


Is it a hit if the runner running to 3rd base gets tagged out but there is no force?

No. This would be a fielders choice and would not count as a hit for the batter.


What is the scoring if you cannot assume an IF could get the batter but the runner makes a delayed attempt to advance on a bobbled ball and gets thrown out or caught in a rundown?

fielders choice


Can you score a run on 3rd out fielders choice?

No.


Can a fielders choice count as time at bat?

Yes


Is a batter given a hit if he hits a ball to shortstop and shortstop can not throw out hitter but throws out runner at 3rd in a rundown from 2nd base instead of throwing to 1st?

It isn't a hit. It is a fielders choice.


A batter gets a hit and later scores on a fielders choice is the run earned or unearned?

Earned. Unearned runs only apply to cases where an error allows a runner to score where they otherwise would not have.


Does batter get a rbi on fielders choice?

Yes, the batter will usually be given an RBI on a Fielder's Choice in the event of a run scoring the only way the home team's official scorer will not give him an RBI on a Fielder's Choice is in event of the runner in the scorer's viewer not originally being able to score on a player and was only able to do so as a result of the defensive team's miscue.


Is a bunt ever scored as a fielders choice and counted as a at bat?

Yes